Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mower for next year

• 27-06-2012 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭

with the weather we have been having over the last few years, i've been thinking of getting my own mower for next year. the wet weather has me with more and more stalky grass which is also a bit hard to top espically when wet. have closed off fields over the last few years going to have to do the same this year. rather then paying someone to cut a light crop i can save a few bob doing it myself.

thinking of getting an 8 or 9 foot yoke with a swarter. will my 2wd 7610 be alright with a trailed machine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

yellow50HX wrote: »
    with the weather we have been having over the last few years, i've been thinking of getting my own mower for next year. the wet weather has me with more and more stalky grass which is also a bit hard to top espically when wet. have closed off fields over the last few years going to have to do the same this year. rather then paying someone to cut a light crop i can save a few bob doing it myself.

thinking of getting an 8 or 9 foot yoke with a swarter. will my 2wd 7610 be alright with a trailed machine?

have you flat ground, back when we did a pit our contractor used cut all ours with 4wd 7610, our place is hilly. id say you would be ok on flat gound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

I know a contractor who has a trailed mower behind a 2wd 390. He reckons its the bizz as it has a tight turning circle compared with the 4wd. Plus theres no big pull with the mower, the HP is used more on the pto than on pulling the mower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

yeah the ground is fairly flat, got a few steep places but dont usally cut them for silage ground anyway. used to be a few contractors back in the day with 2wd's driving the mowers but i think most of them didnt have a swarter? reckon a jd1350 would do fine, but it migt get a bit akward with say a 1360 and the swarter. would they get much pushing???

think the swarter would be worth it if i did got down the mower route espically with light crops/feilds closed off cos of strong grass. can you get a 8ft with one or is only the bigger mowers?

most lads down here have the JD's but i have seen a few tarrups but no where near the number of JD's. looks like they are the way to go eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

can you get a 8ft with one or is only the bigger mowers?

neighbour has a 8th jf with swather. great job

forgot about the jf's, always had a good name with the trailer harvesters

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

forgot about the jf's, always had a good name with the trailer harvesters

2wd will be grand. the only thing you will have to learn to do is use the side break because when you will come to a corner doing the headlands she will probably go straight on especially if theres the slighest slope upwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭tim04750

Should be grand,used to mow with a fiat 880 2wd under a jd 1360, she would knock 5 acres an hour in decent size fields with not too much short ground, no swarther dont think she would have managed that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Ideally I want to have a swarter so that if it's a heavy crop or cut hay I can leave it singles but if it's light I can group it and the baler will be going slower which is better. But seems hard to get an 8ft with one. Have looked a a few over the last few days plenty of 10 ft. Might need to re think the whole plan as I can't afford to change the tractor as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Not sure if a swarther is a worthwhile thing to have for a farmer. A baler going 1/3 slower with 2x the crop isn't a great advantage, although the larger rows will lead to a better "shoulders" in the bale.

A 7610 will manage a 1360 or equiv no bother. I ran a Kuhn FC300 with a 80hp Zetor 6340. It struggled, but it managed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Fermec

The Swarter is only another thing to Wrong, & you will need more HP To Drive it,. We bought a 8ft Kuhn about six Years ago, Delighted with it, No Trouble. We drive it with a 7610 2wd. The Year after We Bought a 2nd Hand Rake in Good Condition, We can Mow a Paddock & Rake it in For Bales. It Also Acts as a Hay-Bob ;).. But if you dont want to go down that Road,You Could Still Mow Yourself & Geta Contracor to Rake it in for you. Id be Very Slow in Buying a 2nd Mower Cos most of Them Are Contractors Machines & Have alot done. I Know a Guy over the Road that Bought a 2nd Hand JD 10 ft Mower . A year Later the Bed Went in it, It cost 9 Grand to Replace:eek:. We bought the 8ft Kuhn for Less than 6 Grand New!. But they are Probably a bit More Now. But then Again That Guy is Milking 120 Cows, Were only Milking 60.:D

Fermec wrote: »
    . I Know a Guy over the Road that Bought a 2nd Hand JD 10 ft Mower . A year Later the Bed Went in it, It cost 9 Grand to Replace:eek:.

There are not that bad, a new one is about €2500 IIRC, and fitting is a doddle.

I agree though, you generally don't sell a "good" mower!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Fermec

Well He Got "Farm-Power" to Fit it, ;)

good point on the swarther, if i had more power i could probaly be able to drive it on a 10ft. i suppose you could get a good rake for the same cost as i'd be leaving the grass wilt for a day or so before baling. so would to rake in the grass in front of the baler.

i know a lot of the contractor around here do trade in teh mowers with big acrage on them but there are always few gems around too. i'll make my final decision after this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭coolio kidddd

the jd 1350/1360 or kuhn 8 and 10 ft trailed mowers are very reliable probably the best out there. but to be honest i doubt your 7610 would run either due to the fact that its fluid drive pto meaning there only 80 or 85 pto horse power (not sure of exact number) and an other problem you may have is the tractor shutting off when starting the mower this is due to no soft start in the pto in the fords. i woudnt put our 7610 on a kuhn fc250 that we have for our own work we use a 110-90 for it. (110hp on pto and soft start in it) hope this was helpful to you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

the jd 1350/1360 or kuhn 8 and 10 ft trailed mowers are very reliable probably the best out there. but to be honest i doubt your 7610 would run either due to the fact that its fluid drive pto meaning there only 80 or 85 pto horse power (not sure of exact number) and an other problem you may have is the tractor shutting off when starting the mower this is due to no soft start in the pto in the fords. i woudnt put our 7610 on a kuhn fc250 that we have for our own work we use a 110-90 for it. (110hp on pto and soft start in it) hope this was helpful to you.

Those fords have a clutch pack in the pto. The plates in the clutch are pushed together by oil, they are not actually driven by oil. OP will need an over run coupling on the pto shaft to prevent damaging the pto brake pad on the 7610 pto when stopping the mower. Hope this clarifies things. Best way to stop it is to drop the engine revs before stopping the pto.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Those fords have a clutch pack in the pto. The plates in the clutch are pushed together by oil, they are not actually driven by oil. OP will need an over run coupling on the pto shaft to prevent damaging the pto brake pad on the 7610 pto when stopping the mower. Hope this clarifies things. Best way to stop it is to drop the engine revs before stopping the pto.

Exactly.

The JD 1360/65 has an overrun on the driveline anyway so no need for a fancy shaft.