Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guitar with Aer Lingus

• 27-06-2012 7:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi everyone,

Sorry to ask this yet again, but I couldn't see any recent threads relating to this; I am flying with Aer Lingus on Saturday and wanted to bring my guitar with me. I only have a soft case, so really do not want to check it in...is there any chance at all of bringing it in the cabin do you think? Has anyone had any recent experiences with Aer Lingus?
    I called customer service twice and was told different things (once no and once yes if it fits in the overhead bins) so really not sure what to do about it.

Also, if I do check it in, I saw someone had mentioned somewhere that they might let you check it in at the gate, as they do this for buggies/prams etc and then pick it up immediately when the plane lands. Has anyone done this, or know anything about this??

Thanks in advance for the help!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Avoid the hassle by getting a good hard case and checking it in.

Be prepared never to see it again or to be treated like a football by baggage handlers. Don't bother putting fragile stickers on it, the more you put the hard it gets treated.

Done plenty of flights with high grade cases and they certainly come out looking worse for wear. I've seen acoustic guitars come off the plane looking well almost crushed.

Op you don't say where you are going, if there is a connection flight large items I find tend not to make the connection. If your going states side do not look the case, security will just bust it open.

With that said, if you can carry it on 100% allowed then go for it but it only takes one AL staff to say no and that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

Is it an expensive guitar? If so, do yourself a huge favour and leave it at home. A friend of mine had a complete nightmare with AL when his Martin got destroyed, it was like it fell out and someone drove over it in the tractor they use to pull the baggage trolleys. He bought himself the toughest most expensive case he could get and plastered it with FRAGILE' stickers, the previous poster is right- it will get treated harder. When he complained, he just met a brick wall. He got very upset about the whole thing as it was a present from his father (RIP) but they didn't give a damn. He did consider going the legal route but every solicitor he spoke to said he was wasting his time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

Avoid the hassle by getting a good hard case and checking it in.

Be prepared never to see it again or to be treated like a football by baggage handlers. Don't bother putting fragile stickers on it, the more you put the hard it gets treated.

Done plenty of flights with high grade cases and they certainly come out looking worse for wear. I've seen acoustic guitars come off the plane looking well almost crushed.

Op you don't say where you are going, if there is a connection flight large items I find tend not to make the connection. If your going states side do not look the case, security will just bust it open.

With that said, if you can carry it on 100% allowed then go for it but it only takes one AL staff to say no and that's it.
    gerarda wrote: »
    Is it an expensive guitar? If so, do yourself a huge favour and leave it at home. A friend of mine had a complete nightmare with AL when his Martin got destroyed, it was like it fell out and someone drove over it in the tractor they use to pull the baggage trolleys. He bought himself the toughest most expensive case he could get and plastered it with FRAGILE' stickers, the previous poster is right- it will get treated harder. When he complained, he just met a brick wall. He got very upset about the whole thing as it was a present from his father (RIP) but they didn't give a damn. He did consider going the legal route but every solicitor he spoke to said he was wasting his time.

Interesting posts lads. I was half considering taking a bass on an Aer Lingus flight myself, but I doubt if I will do so now. I knew that the item went through the usual rough and tumble in these situations, but I did not realise it was as bad as you say.

Is Aer Lingus particularly bad, or are all airlines more or less the same ?

Thanks for the warning. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Strings.ie

My Mrs needed to take her harp to UK last year via Aer Lingus. She booked an extra seat for it - Mr. Harp :D

This looks to be the way to go but there doesn't seem to be any set system and each airline and their staff give different advice.

Here is a petition to get some EU legislation for musicians carrying instruments.
    Please take a moment to sign it.

http://www.change.org/petitions/fair-treatment-for-musicians-traveling-on-planes-with-their-instruments?utm_campaign=mailto_link&utm_medium=email&utm_source=share_petition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

Rigsby wrote: »
    Interesting posts lads. I was half considering taking a bass on an Aer Lingus flight myself, but I doubt if I will do so now. I knew that the item went through the usual rough and tumble in these situations, but I did not realise it was as bad as you say.

That's the only story I know of, when he went to the complaints desk he just got standard bulls**t answers from a patronizing girl with a fake smile quoting different terms and conditions. He tried to explain that it was of great sentimental value but she just replied with the same robotic per-rehearsed crap. I never saw anyone so annoyed and heartbroken in all my life.

Strings.ie wrote: »

Here is a petition to get some EU legislation for musicians carrying instruments.

http://www.change.org/petitions/fair-treatment-for-musicians-traveling-on-planes-with-their-instruments?utm_campaign=mailto_link&utm_medium=email&utm_source=share_petition

That seems like a worthwhile petition. It might be a good idea to see if the mods could highlight it more, in order to get more signatures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

If only online petitions were worth the paper they're written on...

I dont know of any other way to highlight the problem. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

This song was the first thing I though of when I read this thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

Strings.ie wrote: »
    My Mrs needed to take her harp to UK last year via Aer Lingus. She booked an extra seat for it - Mr. Harp :D

This looks to be the way to go but there doesn't seem to be any set system and each airline and their staff give different advice.

One issue I'd have with that petition is they class guitars as one of the instruments that should be allowed as carry-on. As a fellow passenger Id be p***ed off if I could only bring on a small bag while the guy next to me gets to bring a big fecking guitar case. Likewise with regard to bringing the instrument on in addition to your carry-on - I think it should ve one or the other in the interest of passenger fairness. Otherwise I'll have to go out and buy a guitar case to smuggle all my clothes on board without paying check in fees

ceegee wrote: »
    One issue I'd have with that petition is they class guitars as one of the instruments that should be allowed as carry-on. As a fellow passenger Id be p***ed off if I could only bring on a small bag while the guy next to me gets to bring a big fecking guitar case. Likewise with regard to bringing the instrument on in addition to your carry-on - I think it should ve one or the other in the interest of passenger fairness. Otherwise I'll have to go out and buy a guitar case to smuggle all my clothes on board without paying check in fees

That's a fair point. Perhaps a standard fair price (what's "fair" you may well ask ) could be arranged, to let you bring your guitar as well as hand luggage. I certainly would not mind paying a bit extra in order to guarantee an intact instrument when I arrive at my destination. I'm sure most people would not mind paying for the same reason. Getting screwed is what people dont want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Strings.ie

Legislation would be wonderful, Ryan air don't give a f*** about musicians because from the airline's point of view it is a pain in the ass having to accommodate some bulky item in the cabin. However, some recognition to the value of musicians/arts would make a law well worthwhile IMO. Perhaps a universal system of buying an additional seat or even a section of the cargo hold for delicates along with protection and responsibility on the part of the baggage handlers. If you had some come back and compensation it would force them feckers to do a proper job.
    I had the pleasure of waiting to get off a Ryan Air plane and seeing the baggage handler chuck my Guitar several feet from the cargo hold to baggage truck only to miss :eek: What kind of moron would think that was an acceptable way to treat a musical instrument or indeed any baggage? Of course Ryan Air said its nothing to do with them and anyway, you sign away any rights as soon as you hand over your stuff. Mighty big crack in my Guitar thanks to that twat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

I've done the opposite to the thread starter and brought back three guitars (all separate journeys with Aer Lingus) from the USA with no problems experienced. All three were well padded with clothes in a hard case.

Assuming the thread starter is going on a J1 or something similar I'd recommend doing what I did: Wait a couple of weeks until you've sorted job and accommodation and then simply buy a cheapish guitar over there. Guitar Center used to offer a three-month, no-questions-asked money back guarantee so I simply went in just before the three months were up and exchanged the bulky guitar for a more transportable wah pedal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭reniwren

Flown many times with both Ryan air and Aer Lingus, buy a flight case simple as, unless the price of a ticket is cheaper then get a seat, when has there ever been room in the overhead bins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

SOME airlines will let you treat it like they do a pram or a wheel chair.

Everyone KNOWs its going in the hold, but you take it right to the door of the plane, then a crew member takes it and sets it aside inside a storage area.

you get it back as you leave the plane, WAAAAY before luggage collection.

we did this several times with prams & buggies in the pre 9/11 days, so it might be different now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 kate13

Thanks for all the replies, I'm moving from Zürich to Dublin (so can't leave it behind), and while I wouldn't worry so much about the baggage handlers in Zürich, they might not be so gentle in Dublin I think..
    The guitar itself was not hugely expensive - I think it was around E400 a few years ago - but it's still quite a lot if I have to get a new one, and I do really like this guitar.
    I've also left it quite late to get a hard case, as it just didn't really occur to me before - it's been years since I last flew with a guitar and at that time there was no problem bringing it into the cabin.
    I suppose my only hope is that they do let me treat it as a pram - do they still do this last minute loading of prams??
    I'll update to let you know how it goes anyways,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Rigsby wrote: »

Ive gone state side with a bass in a high quality case. About 10 flights in total during two trips. I went with AL, virgin, delta and some Mexican airline.

Cases came out scratch to bits. My bass made it each time but I would not trust a padded case. If you enquire your told it has to be checked in or buy a seat or put it over head or load with prams, but like I said the person who tells you that ain't the person at the checkin or gate.

I've brought two new bases from USA back with AL. Had locks out both cases busted open even after asking at checkin can I lock them after the initial security check in. After picking up cases in Dublin one had what looks like a screw driver straight though it, missed the bass.

Complained, nothing happened. I'd not be relying on the complaints procedure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 kate13

So I brought it with me in the cabin and no problems at all - I expected I'd at least have to plead my case, but despite having the guitar, a backpack and handbag, no one even mentioned it!
    I guess it just depends on the staff on the day, so I was quite lucky :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭kessler182

I'm actually quite worried about this myself. I'm moving to the states in October and I had planned to bring my stage piano with me. On the Aer Lingus website it states:

"Larger musical equipment (including but not limited to double bass, harps and drums) is unsuitable for carriage in the cabin and must be checked in. If the passenger wishes to carry the instrument in the hold, then a special handling fee applies and it is charged at the same rate as golf equipment and skis".

I had assumed that, having paid this fee, I would get to carry it as far as the gate and they would put it in the hold last and take it off first. Obviously from reading the above that isnt the case? Really quite worried about it as I cant afford to buy a seat or a custom hard case. Any tips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Hashy Houdini

some more tips on this site...

http://www.guitarsalon.com/articles.php?articleid=23

sometimes detuning your guitar slightly is a good idea if it's going in the hold. Went to the states for a tour before and one of the lads opened his hardcase -two strings on his les paul had broken during the flight probably due to the temperature change/pressure.

Airlines have been taking the p*ss out of musicians with their charges for years
    takes a good chunk out of any money you might make from gigging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭personguy

was just looking into this. i'm moving from dublin and trying to sell all of my stuff, but i really really don't want to give up this guitar i have. it's a great find and been a wonderful friend, and i'd like to transport it if possible.

i only have the regular semi-hard case. i could look into getting a proper road case, but it seems there are equal amounts of horror stories even with those going below with the rest of the luggage.

i decided to look into the "extra seat" option, which might be worth the cost, for peace of mind alone, but here is what i found on the aer lingus website:
    The maximum dimensions that Aer Lingus Regional can accommodate an instrument to travel on a seat are: width x depth x height = 41 cms x 58 cms x 94 cms (16 ins x 23 ins x 37 ins.) In order for the instrument to fit safely and securely on the aircraft it is the passengers responsibility to ensure that the instrument is within these dimensions prior to purchasing a seat.

measuring two standard dreadnought acoustics right here, it turns out that's a couple centimetres shy in each direction/dimension. .. is this on purpose, just so they don't have to say Okay even if you buy an extra ticket/seat for it?!

the real question is: has anyone out there actually had experience doing exactly this? i read the comment about someone successfully doing this with their harp. i don't know the dimensions of the harp in question. but has anyone successfully bought a ticket for an extra seat for their acoustic guitar (on aer lingus) and been allowed to travel as expected?

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭fret_wimp2

Instruments are bought and sold online all the time and have to be shipped overseas, all the time.
    Why not courier the guitar over to your destination and avoid the issues of carrying it onto an airline completely.

You then have more comeback against the courier, should anything happen to the instment.

Either courier it over to a friend in your new country now, or have a family member or friend courier it over when your settled over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭personguy

sound advice. hadn't even thought of a courier. may have to do that anyway for some books and clothes, but hadn't considered the guitar in the same way. thanks for the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 alphasun

Thanks for the useful advice/horror stories. I bought a Taylor GS Mini recently partly because it's supposed to fit in overhead bins, but it seems Aer Lingus only allow one item of hand baggage anyway.
    I have a rectangular metal flight case I bought for an expensive digital controller (Ztar) which I used to lug to and fro from the UK, so I suppose a similar one for the acoustic might be a solution, but despite being aluminium they're pretty heavy.