Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mahon Enterprises - Legit?

• 22-06-2012 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭

Has anyone ever heard of/had any dealings with this crowd?

They called me today about setting up an interview, however I can't find much info about them online and their website is ridiculously vague:
    http://www.mahonenterprises.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

What is your area of expertise?
    Sounds like they could be offering a door-to-door commission only position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

My experience is mostly sales/retail and financial services.... Was afraid it was probably a commision-only type gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 ohagan2

yea i got a call for an interview tere 2day... did u go to it in the end? what was it for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭retroactive

A friend of mine was offered an interview with them. He did some googling and asked them some questions over the phone in the end he turned down the interview at which point they became very irate and then hung up.

Having a prior experience with the Capel street address in my early years (If this company is them in a new 'getup'), I can stay definitely stay away from them. In addition to never earning a cent, the culture in there seems to be almost cultistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 gavnugent

I also got a call about an interview with them, any luck with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

Didn't go to the interview in the end, their set-up looks dodgy as hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Archeotech

I went to the interview and then they invited me to a more thorough "2nd interview" where I was to spent the day observing one of their operatives. Sounded pretty dodgey but decided to give it a go and see what happened if only out of shear curiosity.

When I met at the office for the second interview I was told by Darren, the manager, "Now we're not actually looking for sales staff, we're looking for managers!" before disappearing into another room. Essentially what they are looking for is people (when I say people I mean mugs) to go around selling Airtricity door to door. You've no salary, they don't even pay for your travel expenses. For every sale you get, supposedly the afore mentioned mug will receive a 25% cut of the sale (about €32 for a residential and €45 for a business), 25% goes to Darren, the manager (whom I later learned from google is actually the CEO of Mahon) Now I'm sure some people might think it sounds ok but from what I heard many people found it hard just to get 3 or 4 sales in a week plus you got sent to some dodgey areas.

But it gets better! lol You spend 3-4 weeks as a "distributor" going door to door, then you may get promoted to "trainer manager" where you bring other potential mugs around for the day. In theory on average you are supposed to earn about €350 -€400 a week for these levels. You do this for 9 to 12 months and then you'll hopefully be promoted to ass manager (where you kiss the managers ass for a few weeks). Now your in the promised land!! XD Ass manager earns about €1200 - €2000 a week! After that you can become a manager and set up your own office somewhere and earn about €72,000 a year! There was a lot of talk of offices being opened in other countries around the world including the legendary office being set up in New York!

I was also told that their head office is in the UK despite their CEO/founder working in the small Dublin branch. Also during the day the person I was following had some dodgey looking airtricity badge on her and was collecting bank/credit card details off some people signing up to airtricity. She had no business card, no official email address, and just used her own pay as you go phone. She also never mentioned she was from Mahon. I actually wonder if they even represent airtricity! O.O;

At the end of the day I was supposed to fill out some questionnaire and have a chat with Darren but I told them my doubts and asked if it was possible to apply directly for a manger position at which point I was told I couldn't meet Darren again nor go for the 3rd interview until I had squashed these doubts and agreed to the airtricity pyramid scheme structure! lol

So will I take the job? errrr no

Hope this helps answer people's questions though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jerriehew

Thank god i found this before the interview on Monday.
    I got a call from Mahon enterprise HR manager Clare, and invite me to attend an interview on Monday.
    I visit http://www.mahonenterprises.com but can't really find what products/service they are doing/selling.
    Luckily i see the post here and decide to turn down the Monday interivew ^^
    thanks guys
    cheers ~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 jcollins

Have an interview Monday,thank god I found this not going now. Preying on people desperate for work by the looks of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 oh daphne

wow....so glad i've seen all this. I just got offered a 2nd interview with them today. It all sounded a bit flashy n frankly like bull**** and all the above comments confirmed my thoughts!! phew....saved me wsting a day!!! thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 gmonkey

I got a call off these people asking me to come into interview tomorrow. I went on to their website and found it vague to say the least. When I googled them I came across this post and i'm so glad I did as now I won't have to waste my time going for this interview. Thanks guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 pepe2012

Was meant to go for a second interview tomorrow but with no excitment really and I had doubts, I'm glad this confirms what I thought so I'm not going to waste my time :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 babyblu12

hi i just done the 2nd round interview and was given the final interview and was told we havent told may ppl this today as they didnt have the drive u have but congrats u got the job but after reading this im so annoyed they told me this tat and the outher!!! i didnt sign anything thank god but i feel like a spa i didnt do reshearch first as i havent signed anything r started id b ok too not take it i hope ;0( if anyone has any feed back id appricate it!! how can ppl build a team based on lies!!! not one good post at tall off them i feel like a mug!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭underthetides

Did an interview and then the second interview/trial day with these guys a few months ago and it was honestly one of the worst days of my life. Everything everyone else has said about poor pay, no expenses and exhausting schedules/hours is true. One of the girls I did the trial with was new in this country from Romania and newly married and had a degree in marketing, ie: probably really stuck for money as well as really interested in a genuine marketing career. And yet she turned this job offer down. I think that shows just how unimpressive these guys are to work for!!!!!

What I will say though was that Darren was very understanding when I told him I wasn't going to take his offer, and gave me great encouragement in pursuing another job. I have to say he seemed very pleasant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

I applied for one of their positions last Friday as I was spamming applications. I was out the Saturday and they had tried to call me 9 times, and then sent me an email. They didn't even leave a voice mail.

That combined with the fact that they provided a link for a non existent website set off alarm bells for me. Needless to say I didn't call them back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 lou15e

Thanks Guys
    You just saved me a wasted journey to Dublin

I got a call from Clare to about an interview and I asked her what the job
    entailed .. I couldnt get an answer of her .

So I googled mahon enterprised and hear I am

THanks again
    Lou15e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 woofy

I worked with these guys for a little while.cash strapped and desperate for money with rent and bills due.
    got through the interviews and was delighted with myself. it was rough the first while when i didn't make any sales but at least i had a job and something to do so it gave me that little bit of pride in myself. i got going and made some money. would have been better off the on the dole. A friend told me he was looking for a summer job and had applied. i encouraged him and gave him some advice what to expect in the interview. he passed with flying colours. first day on the job he walked out.....WHY!?!?!?
    because the guy he was shadowing essentially broke into an apartment complex terrified a couple of old ladies and then tried to sign them up...........
    yeah i had enough of their bull****. the next day i walked out. its a pity because they genuinely have some very talented and dedicated staff. but most are completely brainwashed. trainer managers earn 400-500 weekly?
    bullhonkey! i earned more than my trainer did. and i made less than a hundred some weeks. that said mahon was my introduction into d2d sales and since then i've joined a legitimate company out in Dundrum. and i make good money doing a good job for a group of people who sell with integrity and who pay a basic and even cover travel expenses.
    if anyone out there is considering taking up sales.

STEER CLEAR OF MAHON!!!!!!
    sales is the kind of job where you get out what you get in. but generally its full of bright intelligent people you can have a laugh with.
    hope some of this helps anyone trying to figure out mahon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Laoise2012

I have an interview with them 2moro??
    Should i go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 DubShark

Thanks everyone for posting, you just saved my son the wasted trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Highcontrast1

hahaha thanks for the thread...saved me time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 SHIVEYP

Lads I went for a first interview at Mahon today and the lady was soooooooo unbelievably vague about what the hell the job was about- she asked me back for a second interview tomorrow which again was full of hazy-cloud-vagueness telling me I would spend the full day"watching and observing what the company is about" -making no effort to actually cut the crap and just lay it out straight of what exactly the job would entail- so naturally its the year 2012 where we people are fortunate enough to have the ever informative google on our side to help us out so of course it brought me here to all you GLORIOUSLY WONDERFUL people telling me what I already suspected- that Mahon is a deliberately misleading farcical establishment that tries to lure unsuspecting jobless people into their grasp under the false pretenses that they offer legit jobs- I'm so happy I found this out before my second interview tomorrow- PS she tried to sell me the whole "exiting New York office opening in January" sceal aswell- *rolls eyes* - I hope others come to this page too before going for interviews so they can be prevented from losing time they will never get back! cheers people! Hugs and kisses and all that jazz MWAH X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 rylen

has anybody had any dealings with door to door distributors after delevring catalouges for 4 weeks still no pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

My Sons been offered the start with Mahon sales and marketing, he's been offered a basic €300p/w plus commision, wasnt told anything about door to door, he also had same offer with a firm called Simple sales and marketing and happened to notice in the site pictures that some people pictured on the simple site are also in pictures on the Mahon site, is this a real job or a company who will screw him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 fancy33

Archeotech wrote: »
    I went to the interview and then they invited me to a more thorough "2nd interview" where I was to spent the day observing one of their operatives. Sounded pretty dodgey but decided to give it a go and see what happened if only out of shear curiosity.

When I met at the office for the second interview I was told by Darren, the manager, "Now we're not actually looking for sales staff, we're looking for managers!" before disappearing into another room. Essentially what they are looking for is people (when I say people I mean mugs) to go around selling Airtricity door to door. You've no salary, they don't even pay for your travel expenses. For every sale you get, supposedly the afore mentioned mug will receive a 25% cut of the sale (about €32 for a residential and €45 for a business), 25% goes to Darren, the manager (whom I later learned from google is actually the CEO of Mahon) Now I'm sure some people might think it sounds ok but from what I heard many people found it hard just to get 3 or 4 sales in a week plus you got sent to some dodgey areas.

But it gets better! lol You spend 3-4 weeks as a "distributor" going door to door, then you may get promoted to "trainer manager" where you bring other potential mugs around for the day. In theory on average you are supposed to earn about €350 -€400 a week for these levels. You do this for 9 to 12 months and then you'll hopefully be promoted to ass manager (where you kiss the managers ass for a few weeks). Now your in the promised land!! XD Ass manager earns about €1200 - €2000 a week! After that you can become a manager and set up your own office somewhere and earn about €72,000 a year! There was a lot of talk of offices being opened in other countries around the world including the legendary office being set up in New York!

I was also told that their head office is in the UK despite their CEO/founder working in the small Dublin branch. Also during the day the person I was following had some dodgey looking airtricity badge on her and was collecting bank/credit card details off some people signing up to airtricity. She had no business card, no official email address, and just used her own pay as you go phone. She also never mentioned she was from Mahon. I actually wonder if they even represent airtricity! O.O;

At the end of the day I was supposed to fill out some questionnaire and have a chat with Darren but I told them my doubts and asked if it was possible to apply directly for a manger position at which point I was told I couldn't meet Darren again nor go for the 3rd interview until I had squashed these doubts and agreed to the airtricity pyramid scheme structure! lol

So will I take the job? errrr no

Hope this helps answer people's questions though. :)

Hi

Thanks for Your post...Just was invited today for an interview, but after Your comment I'm so not going, You saved me from waisting my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 espillaner

The role I applied for was: sales and marketing - no experience required. The 'no experience required' lured me in as I am a student, and saw this job as targeting students.

I must admit, this forum opened my eyes about these guys. I had an interview with them today, and was researching about them yesterday. I found this website and saw everyone's previous experience with them. The having studied their website it was incredibly vague, gave no evidence of who they work with or what they have achieved.

I decided I would go to the interview and see what it's like. On the way there I noticed a group of about 10 or 12 guys in Airtricity jackets, with about 15 people in suits following and chatting with them. I remembered seeing on this forum that Airtricity was one of Mahon's clients.

The interview was grand, and the lad was nice (Didn't catch his name though). During the interview I said that I noticed on their website that they claim to work with a number of clients, and was implying the interviewer possibly name one or two - but to no avail.

They invited me back for a 2nd interview - or should I say 'shadowing' day from 9am - 6pm, where I work with their team and see what they do. I recalled seeing the Airtricity guys walking around town from the direction of the Mahon Enterprises Office. So I put two-and-two together and realised what I was going to do the next day.

So I rang them up and told them I'm not interested.

I am 99% sure the job is commission-based, which is unnattractive for me, and I dislike hassling people in order to make a sale for Airtricity.

I hope this helps people who also have an interaction or interview with these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 litheos

Thank god for this thread. Saving me a very early morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Deirdre5

This sounds exactly like Sabre Marketing in Galway. They lure students in desperate for summer work without telling them exactly what it entails. I got an interview with Paul a few days ago, googled Sabre Marketing, very very vague. I had no idea what the company was about, thought the interview went terribly, was called back for 'four hours' the very next day, a Saturday! Still wasn't told what they do or what I would be doing on this Saturday. Turns out it was an 'observation' thing with Airtricty, door to door, commission based. I'm desperate for a job, but not that desperate. The whole thing lasted 6 and a half hours and I was exhausted. I turned turn the chance for a 'second interview'. Steer clear.

Says a lot about those companies that use these Sharks, Airtricity must have no morals when it comes to making money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 freddiemercury

Stay away my nephew was conned by these guys
    he is 18 and worked for couple weeks with them
    i should say worked for free with them
    he made no money it end up costing my sister money sending him to work paying bus fairs and what not
    when he left they owed him comision that he never got
    really bad company
    when he left a girl called claire was very agressive over the phone
    telling him they had put a lot of time and money into his training
    and would not give him reference
    cowboys in my opinion steer clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Hey guys I've an interview lined up with these guys tomorrow. I was sceptical to begin with but I definitely know their dodgy now:( Any ideas what the cosmetic sales involves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 aido43

My daughter had the same experience, had to sign some piece of paper to say she was not getting paid for the day. She spent from 12pm - 8.30pm going door to door selling airtricity, with no break at all.
    Beware dont sign up.N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 mego17

I started with mahon today and after reading everything Im having second thoughts. I was told nothing about the job id be doing. Im in from ten and only got home now! im so drained from this bull**** job! I was enjoying it after reading everything it is like the trainiee mangers are bullying them into signing up to airtricity i wouldnt even use airtricity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 joemonday33

I am an employee of mahon enterprises and im loving every minute of it, im so lucky to have got a chance like this. Im currently working here eight weeks and im making alot more money now than when i was on the dole. The company recognises and rewards hard work so who ever is reading this shouldnt knock it until they try it. So happy to be off the dole :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Captain Plan It

If you have a look at the website, under "What we do?" it says "Outsourced Sales" and "Direct Marketing". Direct marketing is door to door sales to individuals or cold calling to businesses. Usually these types of position are commission only. I went for one in Dublin a good while back. The guy I was with was setting up his own team and was recruiting new sales people, I shadowed him for the day around a few estates selling Airtricity to people. Once I realized this was all they did, I lost interest and left. They always advertise as "No Experience Necessary" which lures people in, jobs.ie seems to have been taken over by these type of positions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 yeayeayea

I am an employee of mahon enterprises and im loving every minute of it, im so lucky to have got a chance like this. Im currently working here eight weeks and im making alot more money now than when i was on the dole. The company recognises and rewards hard work so who ever is reading this shouldnt knock it until they try it. So happy to be off the dole :-)

Claire is that you?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Barcafan11

Have an interview here tomorrow so I went on to their website to do some research, so when I am asked ' do you have any questions ' I wouldn't be sitting there like a plum. For all the information I got I may as well have been looking at a blank screen. After reading all of these posts, I think I will stay at home and enjoy the weather instead. Thanks everyone for the info. I can now spend that time looking for a real job.

yeah dont go near them they just tell ya wat you wanna hear sounds like a dream job to any one but kids in china would get paid alot better. they brainwash people well they try to. good luck in finding a decent job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Barcafan11

mego17 wrote: »
    yeah dont go near them they just tell ya wat you wanna hear sounds like a dream job to any one but kids in china would get paid alot better. they brainwash people well they try to. good luck in finding a decent job :)

They're holding auditions for extras for the new Vikings tv programme tomorrow. Might go in to that instead. At least ill get paid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

How can they pay less than the minimum wage?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 579 ✭✭✭panama

Well at least we know you don't need to be able to use correct punctuation to work there. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 130 ✭✭SentinelStance

Just to add to the thread, these guys are now trading as StreamConsumerSolutions. Had an interview today and went in for the craic. I did the Airtricity thing myself a couple of years ago and apart from not liking Darren Mahon at all, had awful trouble getting paid by them.
    Who do I see in the Castle street office? Darren Mahon. Needless to say I simply walked out. Avoid these slave driving crotchstains.

how the hell can he get away with using dif names and robbing people and lying so much seriously its sick! tax reasons????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 130 ✭✭SentinelStance

Nothing illegal in having multiple companies. They just all do then same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 statevasile

Hello everybody,
    I am from Romania I have 45 years old , I speak 4 languages,I have experience like Restaurant manager worlwide ,cruiseline shipp, I was worked like Trainer Manager .
    I just come in Ireland from 10 days ago but I learned a lot of things about this country in a short time.
    I am looking for a job and a better life and a good salary.

I went to the interview and then they invited me to a more thorough "2nd interview" where I was to spent the day observing one of their operatives.
    Sounded pretty dodgey but decided to give it a go and see what happened if only out of shear curiosity.
    When they told me I shoud pay my bus ticket to observe I was a bit confused ,but after 1 day spent in observation I see to the end the reality of this job.
    Working without money it is a fact , in my country working in sales buisness you have a basic salary plus comision , phone and plus car at disposition.
    I am very disapointed for what I see ,time is money but I have not time and money to spend for what??? just for bla bla bla I am sorry must be so stupied to accept a job like this without basic pay plus expenses at least the expenses and the lunch.
    90 procent from people they dont want new products.
    Story for kids ,honestly is time for nothing, the concept is wrong they are not profesional in this business.
    I ask myself and I ask them a lot of question in finaly they told me I am the one welcome on board , because I am so smart and nice guy I let him the impresion I will be start soon friday but I will do my way .
    Please belive me I was so happy I got a job like a salesman agent and after trainer manager but without a basic pay to pay may bills here and the rent :( very strange ,tyerd , my legs is ****tup could you belive I was very smart finding this place where everybody could share impresion and what is happend because they belive we are many stupied dogs .

When I met at the office for the second interview I was told by Darren, the manager, "Now we're not actually looking for sales staff, we're looking for managers!" before disappearing into another room.
    Essentially what they are looking for is people (when I say people I mean mugs) to go around selling Airtricity door to door. You've no salary, they don't even pay for your travel expenses. For every sale you get, supposedly the afore mentioned mug will receive a 25% cut of the sale (about €32 for a residential and €45 for a business), 25% goes to Darren, the manager (whom I later learned from google is actually the CEO of Mahon) Now I'm sure some people might think it sounds ok but from what I heard many people found it hard just to get 3 or 4 sales in a week plus you got sent to some dodgey areas.

I am to bored about bull**** , for me Ireland is not the promise land I see people very poor , I fell lucky and also i am proud I have in my country everthing I need , Here is just a green country with green brains .I am polite and I say thank you for this oportunity after I was sended 200 aplication on 2 calls .Better i will do clown for kids in my country , here they dont want to pay they want everthing moca .
    After Ireland experince I understand better where is may place to live , at home here you are isolated on Alcatraz :).

Welcome to Ireland, at least you have somewhere to go back to, we have to stay and watch the ship go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 statevasile

thank you but please belive me I was travelled around the world but no place like home. It is a experince life and this is the fact ,I dont like it to cold to much rain ,brrrr I am already sad ,my face is not happy to live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 TheManlyMan

To be honest, I worked there for over a year, making sales isn't an issue, I make anywhere between 18-25 sales per week, now that should be €540-€700, but in reality I was only giving about 180-200 euro per week.

Being told most of my "sales were canceled" but when I kept track of the customers I ran it through the computer and seen they all were still with them.

I realized I was wasting my time in the dump and left.
    You're under paid, over worked, bullied and will isolate yourself from friends and family. Especially when it's Monday to Saturday 9am-11pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 TheTott

Had the second interview this morning for TDR Connect. While waiting in the waiting room I actually googled TDR Connect Boards.ie and was led to this thread.

I knew then what I was in for <snip>. I asked him before we got started was it essentially door to door sales and totally commission based to which he replied it was.

I just told him there wasnt a ****ing hope I was doing this and left. Feel sorry for the others who were there.