Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car park door prang

• 22-06-2012 2:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭

Right so my office faces the car park, at lunch time i caught red handed (while my gob was full of food) someone pranging my car with their door, cheeky **** looked up to see if anyone was around and smiled to themselves, they were opening their passenger door to get their coat and swung open the door, put on their coat and then walked around and got into their car and drove off. It actually looked like it was done purposely..

I fully intend on getting at least a bottle of touch up paint off them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,637 ✭✭✭TheBody

Do you know who did it or did you get the reg number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭durano

JJJJNR wrote: »

Badass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Right so my office faces the car park, at lunch time i caught red handed (while my gob was full of food) someone pranging my car with their door, cheeky **** looked up to see if anyone was around and smiled to themselves, they were opening their passenger door to get their coat and swung open the door, put on their coat and then walked around and got into their car and drove off. It actually looked like it was done purposely..

Screw that. Call the cops and report it. Have you got the reg? I would follow this up to the same level as if they crashed into my car. A small mark can be almost as costly to fix properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

She works in a different dept to me in my company, her car is in bits.

I actually don't know what else I could get other than a bottle of touch up paint, should I get it repaired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

It actually looked like it was done purposely..

Go on, you can tell us why, we're all friends here :D

Hate ppl like that though who are just reckless and careless.

Think I forgot to hold the door open for them one day last week... LOL :rolleyes:

She works in a different dept to me in my company, her car is in bits.

I actually don't know what else I could get other than a bottle of touch up paint, should I get it repaired.

What is the extent of the damage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭durano

Could claim off her insurance if it's bad enough,or see what her attitude is like and if it sucks then claim.

Its a small dent, and the paint has been scratched off where the door hit it.

You need dent removal and a touch up. If go after her for it even if it is probably a hundred or so. Might teach her not to do something so stupid again.

I'm also considering bringing in my kango hammer tomorrow.. for her car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

During the celtic tiger it was always so much easier to flag down a passing cement truck, bribe the driver and give the other car a cement enema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Isotonik

Forget throwing her across two parking spaces - even in this crappy weather I would always park at the far end of the car park well away from everyone else as I trust nobody. People just don't give a s*it anymore and would sooner leg it than fess up. Makes me livid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Guilt trip them OP!! If there's cctv go to facilities/management etc and ask them to check the tapes - don't tell them you know who it was. If there's no cctv still complain and ask them to send a mail around to see if anyone saw it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Bit of a pickle alright,

Step 1.
    Ask facilities at work for advice.

Step 2.
    Ask Gardai for advice

Either way, you witnessed it happen, I would be planning to get it professionally repaired and have the other party either pay for it or claim from their insurance! Forget about touch up paint.

I would probably avoid initially making a direct approach to the person mainly because I wouldn't like it to escalate into a situation where the HR witches get involved. Keep that in reserve.

Important point,
    don't let anyone play it down by implying its nothing to cause trouble over "how bad is the damage" or "is it just a scratch", just stick to the fact that they damaged your car and caused a bad dent/scrape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Send out an email to All in the office mentioning that you know what they done, and will find them ;).

Hal1 wrote: »
    Send out an email to All in the office mentioning that you know what they done, and will find them ;).

That sounds familiar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Exactly :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭pcardin

Isotonik wrote: »
    People just don't give a s*it anymore and would sooner leg it than fess up.

And no wonder. People in Ireland made that happen themselves by claiming unreal money off the insurance by throwing in everytime the "famous" whiplash and neck injuries where appropiate and where not. One part sees the accident as some sort of cas earning situation and other part knows that even a scratch will cost life saving so it's understandable in some way that they trying to leg it. :mad:

OP's situation seems different though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Personally, i'd:

Get a repair quote for the damage

Get her insurance details off her car

Approach her, courteously explain the situation and ask her whether she'd rather pay for the damage or have it go through her insurance.

If she chooses to pay then get the money within 7 days, otherwise it goes through insurance.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Personally, i'd:

Get a repair quote for the damage

Get her insurance details off her car

Approach her, courteously explain the situation and ask her whether she'd rather pay for the damage or have it go through her insurance.

If she chooses to pay then get the money within 7 days, otherwise it goes through insurance.

I agree. Best approach.

Well the person apologised and suggested I get back to them with whatever action I want to take and to be honest I don't feel like getting my whole car resprayed, I'll be happy with a bottle to touch up paint, the hard man in me just doesn't exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Bonus_Pack

They were probably out on the make hoping you'd hit them so the'd get a haul of compensation. Morally wrong, yes, but you're still in the wrong becasue you hit into them, regardless of her actions.
    You could be sued over this if she her car was stationary and yours hit hers. I think you should video her doing things like going up stairs and lifting stuff. It would be handy to have in court when she claims PI.

If it's only a minor ding, the Guards won't want to know about it. They have better things to be doing than investigating dented cars.

Off Topic: I know your entitled to go after her and all but personally, I can't stick folks who go mental about some minor ding and it's as if the sky is falling down. Just a bloody car FFS. I remember once when a van rear ended me and cracked my bumper (09 Mondeo). I got the most expensive body shop I know to quote for a repair and I claimed full cost of new bumper and full works paint job. Didn't get it fixed and made a nice bit of money out of it. Personally I'd rathar money in me pocket and have a nice weekend away or a holiday that worry and blow the compo on the finer points of car bodyork.
    The bumper was such that it would still pass an NCT because my brother kind of "stitched" the cracked edges together with cable ties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Bonus_Pack wrote: »
    Off Topic: I know your entitled to go after her and all but personally, I can't stick folks who go mental about some minor ding and it's as if the sky is falling down. Just a bloody car FFS. I remember once when a van rear ended me and cracked my bumper (09 Mondeo). I got the most expensive body shop I know to quote for a repair and I claimed full cost of new bumper and full works paint job. Didn't get it fixed and made a nice bit of money out of it. Personally I'd rathar money in me pocket and have a nice weekend away or a holiday that worry and blow the compo on the finer points of car bodyork.
    The bumper was such that it would still pass an NCT because my brother kind of "stitched" the cracked edges together with cable ties.

So you basically claimed money for something you had no intention of repairing? Charming. Sure that won't affect anyone else at all in terms of higher insurance costs:rolleyes:.
    Insurance claims should only be paid on production of receipts for work actually done, not quotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

But sure its a "victimless" crime......:mad::mad::mad:

The notion that someone would pay for repairs out of their own pocket and then claim with expenses is ridiculous. What if I could not afford to do the work initially? Then, I’d never be able to claim for the money.
    It’s a simple fact that if damage or loss is sufferd, and it’s someone else’s fault, you are entitled to compensation, regardless of whether your going to fix it or not.
    The same could be said for PI claims, if a person claims whiplash do you say they have to spend all the money on chiropractors or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

The notion that someone would pay for repairs out of their own pocket and then claim with expenses is ridiculous. What if I could not afford to do the work initially? Then, I’d never be able to claim for the money.
    It’s a simple fact that if damage or loss is sufferd, and it’s someone else’s fault, you are entitled to compensation, regardless of whether your going to fix it or not.
    The same could be said for PI claims, if a person claims whiplash do you say they have to spend all the money on chiropractors or whatever.

So if you were in a car accident, god forbid, and got injuries like whiplash etc. You would refuse the ambulance and hospital, and spend what it would have cost on a nice little holiday, or just keep it in your back pocket??:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Yakuza wrote: »

So you basically claimed money for something you had no intention of repairing? Charming. Sure that won't affect anyone else at all in terms of higher insurance costs:rolleyes:.
    Insurance claims should only be paid on production of receipts for work actually done, not quotes.

It had the same effect as if he had spent the money on the repair. Also the claim itself was in no way fraudulent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Well the person apologised and suggested I get back to them with whatever action I want to take and to be honest I don't feel like getting my whole car resprayed, I'll be happy with a bottle to touch up paint, the hard man in me just doesn't exist.

That is completely the wrong way to approach this, you have left it open ended that there will be no action, if there is a dent it is bodywork damage and it needs to be fixed.

Also why would the whole car need a respray ?

Oh well

if there is a dent it is bodywork damage and it needs to be fixed.

Why does it "need" to be fixed? Unles it affects safety or poses corrosion problems it doesn't "need" to be fixed. My last car was riddled with dents because local youths pounded it with stones one night. They broke the rear window. I replaced the window because it needed fixing, but not the dents. They were harmless cosmetic blemishes. Not worth the hassle.

If your car got a big enough shunt to crack the rear bumper who knows what got jiggled around inside the car, can you post a pic so we can know what Mondeo not to buy ?

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    If your car got a big enough shunt to crack the rear bumper who knows what got jiggled around inside the car, can you post a pic so we can know what Mondeo not to buy ?
    ...and how to report him to his insurance company for fraud :pac:

Why does it "need" to be fixed? Unles it affects safety or poses corrosion problems it doesn't "need" to be fixed. My last car was riddled with dents because local youths pounded it with stones one night. They broke the rear window. I replaced the window because it needed fixing, but not the dents. They were harmless cosmetic blemishes. Not worth the hassle.

It needs to be fixed as

It was caused by another person and was no fault of OP
    It lowers the cars value
    As you said if it was hit by a door it more than likely damaged the painwork and could lead to corrosion issues later.

Mainly though it needs to be fixed because you should never let anyone get one over on you and think you are a soft touch, especially at your workplace

Fair point, it also bent up the boot floor panel, but it straightened out fine with a bottle jack and a block of wood. Passes NCT no probs, so after that I don't really care. Not bothered about resale value as I plan on keeping it long term. I paid £4,800 for my last car, drove it for 13 years and 260,000 miles. Best value purchase i ever made, and I intend to repeat it this time.

Thats fair enough then, but you can see why the OP shouldn't let some careless fecker prang his car he obviously cares for "he was dribbing out the window from his office chair at it" :p after all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Double Post.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

thats fair enough, but not everybody treats their car as a piece of metal that goes from A to B. Some people actually enjoy having the car, keeping it clean and mint and driving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

It needs to be fixed as

It was caused by another person and was no fault of OP
    It lowers the cars value
    As you said if it was hit by a door it more than likely damaged the painwork and could lead to corrosion issues later.

Mainly though it needs to be fixed because you should never let anyone get one over on you and think you are a soft touch, especially at your workplace
    Aren't those all (with the exception of the corrosion one) reasons why it needs to be paid for, as opposed to reasons why it needs to be fixed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Be subtle...ask her out for a meal..after the main course, excuse yourself to go to the loo and nip out the back way....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

I agree you shouldn't be out of pocket, but don't most companies have arrangements to pay repairers directly?

Ahh, the good old sense of entitlement. You're entitled to have your car repaired, not swan off on a holiday.
    It had the same effect as if he had spent the money on the repair. Also the claim itself was in no way fraudulent.

I never said it was fraudulent, damage was done but the point of insurance is to indemnify the person who suffers damage; not to leave the damage unrepaired and treat the money as a windfall.

It may be legal, but I don't think it's moral.

There are probably two schools of thought on this, and ne'er the twain shall meet, so I won't post on this topic again. Sorry for the derail, OP.

...but personally, I can't stick folks who go mental about some minor ding and it's as if the sky is falling down. Just a bloody car FFS.
    straightened out fine with a bottle jack and a block of wood. Passes NCT no probs, so after that I don't really care. Not bothered about resale value as I plan on keeping it long term. I paid £4,800 for my last car

Whywecanthavenice2.png