Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for a 2005 upwards audi a6

• 22-06-2012 12:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

Anyone selling one ? or got anything good/bad to say about them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Engine? Annual mileage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 kingtrojan

2.0 TDI would be the preferred choice...althought a 2.0 T-petrol would also be great...not too push on the 2.4 v6 petrols i'd be in the petrol station everyday.....i only do 10,000 - 15, 000 miles annually which is nothing

any sellers / recommendations are greatly appreciated

2.0 TDI would be the preferred choice...althought a 2.0 T-petrol would also be great...not too push on the 2.4 v6 petrols i'd be in the petrol station everyday.....i only do 10,000 - 15, 000 miles annually which is nothing

any sellers / recommendations are greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I have seen few of those new shaped Audi a6 at my friends garage, then I sow him cursing a lot at them. Then I sow him happy as pig in **** when he sow those audis going away from his sight.

A lovely looking car, I bet lots of comfort, but I would have atleast good few thousands in bank account just incase...

yeah there meant to be smooth on the road though like most audis i'd expect a few minor electrical issues although hopefully not :) please god

kingtrojan wrote: »
    yeah there meant to be smooth on the road though like most audis i'd expect a few minor electrical issues although hopefully not :) please god
    I might ask my friend what did he worked on those a6 if you want. He is Indy mechanic and at one stage the only thing thatwaskedping him fed - Audi a4s and a6s lol. He gained weight too! :D

yeah man that would be great...the more information i get the better...im driving an a4 at the moment car is great in terms of reliability however there has been one or two electrics (sensors) which needed replacing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Wexfordian

Well Barry Pender in Kilkenny has one, and if the post below about it going bust is true, you might get a good deal on it.

Just was on the phone with him:

Oil pumps are disaster.
    Crankshaft and everything that comes with it. Balance etc.
    Electrical problems.

He was was like: why the feck do you ask about a6? You want it for misses?! I told you stay the feck away from those things! You are not rich enough! :D

haha cheers man appreciate the help and feedback....i may have to take the risk :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Damie

I might ask my friend what did he worked on those a6 if you want. He is Indy mechanic and at one stage the only thing thatwaskedping him fed - Audi a4s and a6s lol. He gained weight too! :D

I had a 02 A4 tdi for a couple of years and never had one bit of trouble with it, put about 50k miles on it without trouble. I'm sure there are some A6 drivers with similar experience...just to put some balance on it;)

Damie wrote: »
    I had a 02 A4 tdi for a couple of years and never had one bit of trouble with it, put about 50k miles on it without trouble. I'm sure there are some A6 drivers with similar experience...just to put some balance on it;)

Oh I am not hater, but I have seen the amount of audis in his garage compared to other stuff. The bills were quite of the chart on audis too, and not but because my friend charged extra, but just because parts and work on those things were out of this world.
    I won't hide it, I had it on my mind when I was looking fedora my next car few weeks ago, but everytime I see that yard in my head I just scroll pass Audi a6 :D.
    I know there are audis that have less trouble, but some things are just quite bad design choices. Same as BMW swirl flaps on diesels. The other problem that parts for audis cost a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

I hear they are notorious for suspension problems too...control arms-ball joints (8 of these), shocks.

thanks for the info lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Some of the mechanics here with give a good indication of the troublesome ones to avoid. The 2.0 tdi can be a disaster but it may only be a certain versions of it.
    Apart from these engine issues which are haunting many of the vag range (some of them due to wrong oils), I dont think they could be a bad car. At the mileage the OP suggested, a 2.0 TFSI should be a reasonable purchase - it will certainly avoid alot of common & expensive diesel engine repairs plus the car should be cheap as chips to buy because even the low mile drivers dont want a petrol nowadays for some unknown reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Atilla

Drive A6 3.0 tdi , would advise to do onboard diagnostics prior to purchase any audi a 6 ,throttle valve control notorious for failing and very expensive to replace ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Aw lads, you're not cheering me up here either :p

I fancy a change from my current 06 2.0 TDI Passat with DSG and would love to move to an 05+ A6 next. Problem is my Passat has what's considered (in Irish terms) "Starship Miles" (212000 km) and despite a full VW service history and running perfectly, I know I'd get what.. 6k maybe for it (less as a trade in).

Shame too as there's an 2008 auto 2.0 TDI A6 in that nice dark grey up north for about £6500 that I've been watching but I've no idea what the cost to change would be from my own.. assuming they'd even take it being a southern model with KM dials. Plus money to add to it would be limited :(

Any thoughts? How about a petrol version instead? I amn't doing the same sort of mileage anymore but still would do the occasional long run twice a month - would that just cripple me in fuel bills?

I've looked at older 03+ E220 E-classes as well but have been previously warned by guys here that the suspension is made of chocolate :D

I was originally banking on getting a diesel a6 2005 upwards myself, however i'm a college student and working in software out in citywest and im living in blanchardstown and to be honest i've woken up and realized i do not need a diesel as im not getting full value out of one.

Therefore my two options currently are

Pay 9000 for Audi A6 2005 TDI
    Or
    Pay 7000 for Audi A6 2006 TFSI (Petrol)

I've arranged to view and hopefully purchase this friday only obstacle being selling my own car which is an audi a4 2002 1.9 tdi 130bhp, theres too much timewasting and stupid low bids coming out of this recession for people selling cars

More on the point get the 2.0 tfsi version if your like me and not doing long long mileage weekly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

kingtrojan wrote: »
    More on the point get the 2.0 tfsi version if your like me and not doing long long mileage weekly

In real terms then (general question cause I suck at maths :)) how many km would you expect to a full tank on the petrol version? I currently get between 1000 and 1100 on my 2.0 TDI Passat.