Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New school

Options
  • 21-06-2012 7:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11

Hi all,
    I'm new to boards so feel free to move to correct forum.

For reasons, to many to go into, we have to move house.
    This move coincides with my 17 year old daughter starting 6th year.

Moving house means she has to start 6th year in new school
    What do ye think, are we putting her in bad position for her leaving cert.... She is happy to move if it doesn't cause major upset to subjects/ parts of course already covered.

Really worried, she's a good student but we don't want to risk messing up her exams results.

What do ye think?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

How far away are you moving? Does she really need to start a new school? Can she not use public transport to get there?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I think that she will be fine once it is a good school with like minded people.
    If you could afford to somewhere like the institute of ed might be more suitable as they do the whole syllabus in 6th year.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Tawneyowl

January wrote: »
    How far away are you moving? Does she really need to start a new school? Can she not use public transport to get there?

Public transport not an option, she would have to travel into city, about an hour and out for another. Some bullying going on also so moving school would sort that.

Moonbeam wrote: »
    I think that she will be fine once it is a good school with like minded people.