Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rape, STI's and Doctor confidentiality.

• 21-06-2012 5:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys and gals,

I am in need of some advice, as i find my self in a very unplesant situation.
    A couple weeks ago i unfortunately found myself in a situation where i was forced into unconsented sex, it was awful and i fought my way off and escaped, it was sureal and i felt as if i was in a movie, now i am getting over it and a new worry,stress and concern had arisen.
    I read recently about the rates of HIV in Ireland and this is my next concern, I want to go to the doctor but have a few questions.
    I will be going to our family doctor, can i be tested for hiv in a normal GP?
    Can i be guarenteed 100% confidentiality?
    Will the doctor ask why i want to get tested? And if i tell him/her about what happened do they then have the obligation to go to the guards? As i have not taken legal action nor do i intend to for various personal reasons, can i trust that the doctor will accept and respect my decision?
    Finally if i can have the test done at the GP, will i have to pay? and how much? I should mention i have a medical card.
    Thanks in advannce, i appreciate any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

Hi OP,

What an awful thing to happen. You must have had a rough few weeks.

I'm not sure about the questions you asked but maybe you could ring the Rape Crisis phoneline. They should be able to answer any questions. You don't have to give your name or any details. And they will be able to give you support if you would like.

Take care of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

I don't think we're allowed to give our opinions on Doctor-Patient confidentiality in case it get's Boards in trouble, but I know someone who was in a similar situation and I think you have nothing to worry about regarding the Doctor telling the Guards.

However, you really should go to counselling right now. Even before you've gotten the test results back, you should go there straight away to get the support that you WILL need, because of what happened. I'm no expert on the subject, but I think it takes a while for the situation to actually sink in. So while you still have your wits about you, I urge you to PLEASE seek help right away. Telling your friends and family can be quite stressful too, so just tell them when you're ready and think positively if you can.

Even coming back here, just to let us shoulder the burden, should make you feel better. Your anonimity secures your identity, so you have no need to worry yourself in that regard.

There are support groups out there too, and plenty of them. So go out there and get the help you deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Yes your own gp can do a full sti/hiv screening and it should be covered with your medical card.
    If the dr asks why you tell them that you think you've been exposed and want to be tested.
    You don't have to go into the details.
    Even if you do, the dr won't go to the garda about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭mrduffy

this is just opinion and no pressure op but if you do not report this you may have another woman like you in this situation rape should not be just forgotten about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 JoJoJoJoJo

You could try the James hospital STD clinic, they do testing, its free I think, and its very anonymous. They also offer you counselling if you ask for HIV testing.

I have to agree with others; if he raped you, what's to stop him from raping someone else? I understand that you have your reasons, but his actions should not be forgiven or forgotten or swept under the rug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Raven_Melody

I have to agree with others; if he raped you, what's to stop him from raping someone else? I understand that you have your reasons, but his actions should not be forgiven or forgotten or swept under the rug.

The OPs ONLY responsIbility right now is to herself.

I'm sure she feels enough unwarranted guilt already, without you placing the responsibility of any further actions of this man on her also.

OP, please seek counselling as soon as possible. And pay no attention to comments like the above. Look after yourself first and foremost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

That's not really the OP's concern.

OP, I have been in your position and it's not easy but I think the best thing to do is to call the Rape Crisis Centre, get yourself tested and make sure everything physically is ok. Then you can think about what you want to do and don't listen to arguments like the above you will never be responsible for the actions of another!!

Personally I did make a complaint several months later but nothing ever came of it although the perpetrator did admit what he did to me (I met with him two years later) and I sort of got some closure but I don't believe this is right for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

OP, I am very sorry that you have had such a terrible experience, and I wish you all the best in getting over it.

I am pretty sure that your GP should look after the medical dimension without compromising your privacy. But there might be a better option: http://www.rcni.ie/rape-crisis-centres.aspx.

hi OP, how old are you? if you are under age or a 'child' in the eyes of the law things are different.

if however you are an adult i would advise you to go to the rape crisis centre, they have great counsellors and will be able to advise you on everything.

its a terrible thing to go through and you do need to talk to someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Your GP may not be able to do the full range of STI tests but most big hospitals have a special clinic. For instance in Waterford Regional Hospital it's known as Clinic 10 and you just ring them directly for an appointment. Your GP will give you the information you need if they cannot help you themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭lynsalot

Hi OP

I completely agree your main responsibility is to yourself. Please do seek some form of help for what happened

The number for the RCC is 1 800 778 888 open 24 hours a day and should be able to give you all the information on testing you need for your local area.

Your GP can test for STDs and the cost should be around €120. All tests are sent to James Hospital (from clinics in Dublin) early in the morning so an earlier appointment is best with your GP.

James' will do the tests for free if u attend the GUM clinic. Their website about opening hours etc is here http://www.guideclinic.ie/sti-clinic/coming-to-see-us

You should also confide in someone for your own sake to help you through the process. HIV testing normally takes a few months. A test now and another in 3 months to ensure you're clear. It's daunting but necessary to ensure you're safety. Please bear in mind though that the chances of contracting HIV are smaller than becoming pregnant. The Rape Crisis Centre will talk you through all of this and put ur mind at ease.