Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clamped II

• 21-06-2012 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

Hi, I have been clamped in Ballinteer by a private company, I have no intention of paying but do not want to damage the clamp due to further potential consequences. Having seen the other thread where the chap had someone help him remove wheel etc in order to remove it, I would be grateful for similar help and would be willing to pay 60euro to someone if they could remove it for me in this manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭lostboy

InterestingMichaelJackson.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

There are no further potential consequences if you are not caught. Save yourself 60 and cut it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Don't think it matters what damage is done to the clamp if the clamping company somehow manage never to see said clamp again

Maybe when you got to your car, there was no clamp there?! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭él statutorio

Don't think it matters what damage is done to the clamp if the clamping company somehow manage never to see said clamp again

Maybe the clamp fairy took it and left the fine in your pocket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stange how that happens :D

Op my old car was clamped twice (neither time while i was driving it I might add) both times the clamp was removed not there when they came back;) (and kept by the clamp faries)
    Both times my mate said he would deal with any consequences.
    I never even recieved a letter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Whereabouts in Ballinteer is clamping - Superquinn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭furmi

This reminds me of a story that I am familar with. A local guy bought an old Nissan for €500 of his friend and sold it on. The boot never opened while he had it as the lock was broken. A few weeks later the Gardai came to his door to ask who he initally bought the car from as when the new owner opened it there was something like 14 clamps in the boot and a con saw. Plonker cut them off and left them all in the boot.

This is a true story !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

Clamp Fairy.. Should be made a stickey,
    If your in distress post up and a local clamp fairy will remove the clamp for a few beers :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Boards-Bots, ROLL OUT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Monkeybudgie

Whereabouts in Ballinteer is clamping - Superquinn?

Ballintyre, I live there so was sort of worried that if I cut it off then they might be able to pursue me as they will inevitably see my car in the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,104 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Do you deserve help? Are you a victim of over zealous clampers or were you just parked like an asshole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Can clampers charge what they like to release a car, once they have a sign up with that value?

I noticed near the new bus station in Galway there's a sign that says 'Clamping in Operation. Release Fee €1800'

€1,800 seems a bit steep. It's at the entrance to an abandoned building-site now owned by NAMA. Just wondering what the legalities are with regard to the amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Do you deserve help? Are you a victim of over zealous clampers or were you just parked like an asshole?

Who cares, it's beating the clampers that matters :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

dilallio wrote: »
    Can clampers charge what they like to release a car, once they have a sign up with that value?

I noticed near the new bus station in Galway there's a sign that says 'Clamping in Operation. Release Fee €1800'

€1,800 seems a bit steep. It's at the entrance to an abandoned building-site now owned by NAMA. Just wondering what the legalities are with regard to the amount.

Probably just a deterrent anyone can put up a sign. Is ther a logo or phone number on it?

Well I'm parked on some double yellow lines, they are not legal lines though as it is a private estate. However I'm not hindering anyone really. I prob shouldn't have parked there but either way I'm not paying the thieving extortionist clampers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,104 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Who cares, it's beating the clampers that matters :D

Not always. Sometimes people deserve to be clamped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Well I'm parked on some double yellow lines, they are not legal lines though as it is a private estate. However I'm not hindering anyone really. I prob shouldn't have parked there but either way I'm not paying the thieving extortionist clampers.

But you did, and now there are consequences.

Was there any parking spaces around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If it's a private estate with a management company then you (as an owner ) have employed the clampers to police the area. But I supposed it's ok as long as they are clamping someone else.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

I reckon a local mechanic might help you out for that money! Worth a shot

Woaw wait. You live there?

You have all the time in the day or night to just go out take care of it yourself. Either remove it as the lads did and hand it back. Or cut it and hide the evidence or have someone else drop it to garda station as found on the road etc.

I'm aware that I was in the wrong technically, however I'm still not willing to pay the clampers. They are like vultures. I will up the offer for removal to the price of the declamping, E100

Yawns wrote: »
    Woaw wait. You live there?

You have all the time in the day or night to just go out take care of it yourself. Either remove it as the lads did and hand it back. Or cut it and hide the evidence or have someone else drop it to garda station as found on the road etc.

I'd love to take care of it myself but couldn't get past taking off the wheel I don't think. I wouldn't be happy cutting it as I'm sure they will see my car in the future and perhaps follow it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,730 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Get a bolt cutters, a large one. Wait til dark. Cut and dispose.
    You never know, a stranger wearing a big coat might walk into that complex, remove the clamp and walk away. You might walk in later minding your own business and there might be no clamp there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

i smell a trap

barone wrote: »
    i smell a trap

Lol, a trap that catches someone helping me remove a clamp from my car without damaging it? nothing illegal about it as far as I can tell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

Lol, a trap that catches someone helping me remove a clamp from my car without damaging it? nothing illegal about it as far as I can tell

but you have offerd to pay them,and joined up just to put up the thread..

maybe they would be breaking the law by being paid to do it,and your from the clamping company trying to get revenge for the last thread..

i could be completely wrong of course :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Call a tow truck to tow it to an area of your choice.

You can do what you like to it there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Don't damage the clamp. That's not part of the game, you really need to give it back to cover your ass

Can't see many willing to help you out. One thing with them clamping someone in a parked spot who went to get change from the bank cos they had not got enough to use the atm. Different story with someone on double yellows. No excuse.

If I were in your shoes I'd remove it myself. Even if you cut it, just act surprised if you hear anything about it and claim that you thought they must have removed it themselves as when you got to the car you found it gone.

barone wrote: »
    but you have offerd to pay them,and joined up just to put up the thread..

maybe they would be breaking the law by being paid to do it,and your from the clamping company trying to get revenge for the last thread..

i could be completely wrong of course :)

I actually previously had an account but hadn't used it since the password hacking thingy, so just reaccessed it today. Anyway, whatever, I am not attempting to scam anyone, dunno what I can do to prove it... Just realised the charge goes up 100 euro every 24 hrs, what a joke

Yawns wrote: »
    Can't see many willing to help you out. One thing with them clamping someone in a parked spot who went to get change from the bank cos they had not got enough to use the atm. Different story with someone on double yellows. No excuse.

If I were in your shoes I'd remove it myself. Even if you cut it, just act surprised if you hear anything about it and claim that you thought they must have removed it themselves as when you got to the car you found it gone.

I'm not looking for sympathy, and am willing to pay. I admit I shouldn't have parked there but am loathe to bow to the extortion employed by the clampers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

As previously suggested, you'd have a mechanic do it for that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Put the 60euro into the All The Way Round pot and myself and bummerboy will remove it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Good man gary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Put the 60euro into the All The Way Round pot and myself and bummerboy will remove it

Think the offer was upped to €100... ;)
    I'm aware that I was in the wrong technically, however I'm still not willing to pay the clampers. They are like vultures. I will up the offer for removal to the price of the declamping, E100

If its going to ATWR fair play to you

As mentioned, its not beyond belief that this could be a bit of a trap. We know the clampers saw the first thread too!
    Id give this one a miss seeing as its not a known poster on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

mickdw wrote: »
    As mentioned, its not beyond belief that this could be a bit of a trap. We know the clampers saw the first thread too!

Realistically, what can they do....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Baseball bat.. Bruised ribs.. "He had those bruised ribs before he came here" ;)

Ah i wouldn't do that to the clamper as well, tis bad enough taking his clamp off

Nothing legally but as we know, they are utter scum. You can only imagine the kind of contacts they have.

Just as well the car I drive is registered to a completely unrelated address....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Lads, this has been covered. And see what the other thread turned into, and what this one is already turning into. I'm going to close it.