Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Awkward Situation?

• 21-06-2012 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I think I may have gotten myself into a slightly awkward situation; shall refer to the people involved as Girl A and Girl B.

Girl A and I were seeing each other a few years back but this ended as we were both going through some stuff, however we have became good friends and have helped each other through some tough times. Girl B is Girl A's best friend.

Every now and then, Girl A would joke about how Girl B and I should hook up, because she knows that I'm a good guy and I'd treat her right. She seemed perfectly OK with it and even yesterday afternoon told me on the phone how Girl B and I should meet. We've met a few times, but until recently Girl B had a boyfriend that didn't treat her too well.

Last night Girl A, Girl B and I were out watching this movie screening and then we had a few drinks afterwards, as they had found out that today is my birthday. During the night, Girl A's boyfriend came out. When the night drew to a close, we were all walking in the same direction when Girl A and her boyfriend went back to his house and I walked Girl B back to hers.

When we got there, we started kissing. I'm not going to lie, it was really nice and this is someone I've wanted to kiss for a while; she's a genuinely lovely person, caring, intelligent and extremely pretty. Eventually I said bye and walked home, during which we were texting.

Girl B asked me not to tell Girl B about it just yet and I promised I wouldn't, so it's put me in the rather awkward position where I can't tell Girl A that we kissed but I also can't tell Girl B that Girl A said it would be fine. Girl B is going away on holidays tomorrow for a week and we made plans for when she gets back.

I guess the thing that is worrying me is how of that was fueled by drink; she wasn't drunk, but possibly slightly tipsy.

Think I'm just over thinking it because she is such a great person and so pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I'd say take it handy and don't overthink it mate. Girl B has her reasons for not wanting to speak to Girl A about it and it's a good idea to respect her wishes. If anything comes of this with Girl B, then grand, and Girl A should be fine with it (if not, then trying to push you two together was bizzare.) Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

You are over-thinking it.

It seems that she would prefer to be the one to tell her best friend. I don't know why that is, but women have always been a mystery to me.

You have to wait until she gets back from holidays to find out if this might go anywhere.

But awkward situation between you, Girl A, and Girl B? Not at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Lorna123

You have to keep your mouth shut OP and respect what Girl B asked you to do if you don't want to annoy her. Just keep Girl A guessing with lines like "wouldn't you love to know" or "I will let Girl B tell you herself". Do not tell girl A, keep your word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

You're her best friend's ex. She probably is scared that she's fecked up majorly and wants to approach the situation herself so as not to strain her friendship. She's going away for a week and is probably panicking that if you did tell her, she might have a nasty message or more while away, or to greet her when she gets back. Just clear your mind and don't say anything to Girl A, and if she calls your bluff and can tell something happened, still don't divulge anything. It's the one thing Girl B has really requested and I wouldn't be in a hurry to break her trust so soon. Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

Keep schtum til she returns. Whatever you do, do NOT say stuff like 'I will let girl B tell you herself'....thats not keeping your word honourably really as you clearly hint that something did happen. If you are pressed for an answer as to what happened, say something like you had a nice chat (not lying and not hinting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Think people are misunderstanding my opening post - I am not going to tell Girl A anything. I promised Girl B I won't and I keep my promises, no matter what. Guess the issue is that I'm worried it was just some once-off thing, but we'll see when she gets back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Lorna123

Doesn't sound like a once off thing to me, because this woman knows you from old, you are no stranger and if she didn't want anything to happen between you I think she had plenty of time to think about it up to this. No, I say you are well in there OP, nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Doesn't really matter much anymore. Girl B texted me telling me she was trying to work things out with her boyfriend, who she broke up with because he was never any good to her. Obviously there's not much I can say on the matter, so just said that it was a pity but I hope it worked out for her and that I'd respect her wishes. Unfortunately she said it wouldn't be a good if we were friends.

It really is a pity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Herrick

Doesn't really matter much anymore. Girl B texted me telling me she was trying to work things out with her boyfriend, who she broke up with because he was never any good to her. Obviously there's not much I can say on the matter, so just said that it was a pity but I hope it worked out for her and that I'd respect her wishes. Unfortunately she said it wouldn't be a good if we were friends.

It really is a pity.

Her loss. If she's willing and stupid enough to go running back to a fella that treats her like ****e, thats her problem.

Chin up, plenty more out there :) Oh, it's also possible that if her bf starts acting the knob again, she'll be back. Tell her to jog on if she does.