Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St. James Hospital Liberties Fun Run - 19/07/2012

• 20-06-2012 9:27pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Now in it's fourth year and growing in popularity every year, predictions would be that it's going to get good numbers this year.

Sure what else would you do with your Thursday evening? :)

Website

Route map

Facebook

Last years thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,444 ✭✭✭fletch

Now in it's fourth year and growing in popularity every year, predictions would be that it's going to get good numbers this year.

Sure what else would you do with your Thursday evening? :)

Website

Route map

Facebook

Last years thread
    Its on July 19th. Might want to update the thread title

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Doh...it auto-corrected with last years thread title. Damn you auto-correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

So for all us old school mile people (;)), 6.5k is about 4 miles give or take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Enjoyed this last year, and may do it this year...

lets see if I can catch RQ in that finishing straight this time, since she is going for all that cycling and swimming nonsense these days and taken her eye off the ball :D

Enjoyed this last year, and may do it this year...

lets see if I can catch RQ in that finishing straight this time, since she is going for all that cycling and swimming nonsense these days and taken her eye off the ball :D

You assume you'll even get close this year.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭ASBO

Hi Everyone,

Would this race suit 2 absolute novices.

We have just started jogging recently. We go at a very average pace but have built up to a 25 minute run, 3 minute walk, 20 minute run..by google maps I believe we're just shy of 6km.

Last attempt at one of these 'fun runs' turned out to be highly competitive with no walkers and we were way off the pace! Just dont want to undo any confidence built.

ASBO

PS - Is registration on the night?

ASBO wrote: »
    Hi Everyone,

Would this race suit 2 absolute novices.

We have just started jogging recently. We go at a very average pace but have built up to a 25 minute run, 3 minute walk, 20 minute run..by google maps I believe we're just shy of 6km.

Last attempt at one of these 'fun runs' turned out to be highly competitive with no walkers and we were way off the pace! Just dont want to undo any confidence built.

ASBO

PS - Is registration on the night?

Absolutely, it'd be perfect for you. A lot of the field are joggers or walkers. There will be competitive runners too but you'll have plenty of company out there if you're jogging or walking. You'll get offered a pint or two along the way too!

Yeah you can register on the night or via active europe. If you're in the area you can pop into the hospital as well as they usually do registration there at lunchtime (from 12 - 2) I think and save yourself the extra admin costs. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭ASBO

Thanks RQ,

Sure we'll give it go.

Cheers for the info.

ASBO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭dub8

you definetly wouldnt be out of place in this run , will be loads of joggers and walkers , have a look at last years results and will put your mind at ease for the standard that will be there ! Online registration closes friday i think , but you can register on the night!

Good luck and enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭maupat

Just wondering if anyone (who has ran the race before) can tell me how they found the hilly parts of the course?

Btw, I've registered for the race already! :)

maupat wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone (who has ran the race before) can tell me how they found the hilly parts of the course?

Btw, I've registered for the race already! :)

The first hill as you go up bow lane isn't as nasty as you'd expect it to be. Toughest part of the race(for me) is probably as you come up Nicholas St and turn into Cornmarket - your legs really feel the Nicholas street climb. There is another teeny tiny hill as you get back to the IMMA but the end of the race adrenaline should get you through that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭bike2wkr

Is it possible to register between now and Thursday down in Kilmainham or is it only Thursday?
    I see online reg is closed.

bike2wkr wrote: »
    Is it possible to register between now and Thursday down in Kilmainham or is it only Thursday?
    I see online reg is closed.

I think online reg has been extended to this evening, you should be able to register in the hospital though if you're passing. You could give the foundation office on 01 428 4086 to double check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

This is my favourite course for a race.

And its a great time of year to be running in the evening.

And the massage afterwards is cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Looking forward to this. Last time I did this was more than 20years ago and it was just called the Liberties Run...anyone remember that? May have been a slightly different course though.

Trying to start a running club in work and have about ten people running this, mostly beginners so should be good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭ChampionChip

Results now online at www.championchipireland.com. I will insert the late entry names once I get the data from the organisers, they were swamped by late ones and have not got them all typed yet.

882? :eek: Awesome figures. Feel slightly less guilty about not turning up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 noelmcuk

Just did this tonight. Does anyone know where and when results are posted?

noelmcuk wrote: »
    Just did this tonight. Does anyone know where and when results are posted?

http://www.championchipireland.com/results/index.php

Available here. Late entries not listed by name yet but if you were a late entry you can find you name with your number.

great race this eve ! fantastic turnout , hills werent too bad , and great organisation ! plus nice popcorn and chocolate at the end ! happy with my time , just under 26mins a couple mins faster than last year! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭pansophelia

DId this tonight, great run. Really good organisation and atmosphere, it was great running around the LIberties, lots of support! Loved the physio led warm up at the beginning. Managed a sprint finish - rounded off a really tough race personally, but happy enough with my time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Did this race tonight for my first time. Very well organised and very enjoyable. Managed to finish in 27:24 which was well inside my target of sub 28.

I was speaking to someone after the race though who's Garmin regged only 6.2km...I imagine this is an anomaly of the watch reception rather than the course but just to confirm could someone else who ran this race say what their garmin registered?
    Just wanna make sure it was an accurate time I ran, cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭vinny1313

Hi, mine registered it at 6.29km. I'm not claiming they're spot on everytime, but they're not 200m out over a course that length, perhaps 10 or 20m at most, and a difference that small can be partly down to running a different line.

Anyhow, I thought it was an enjoyable run, well organised, a nice course with a surprising amount of support. I knew it was an oddball distance. I did 26.27, so I'm happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

Wouldn't have any worries with the distance. My Garmin showed up a little short but the last 2 years were bang on, and there was definitely no changes to the course. I'd say maybe a dropped signal around Guinness'

Have mine set in miles and it came in at 3.99, i saw a lot of people cut corners on the paths etc so that could account for any descrepency! Garmins are never spot on , my last 5 mile race came in at 5.18 ( irish runner 5 mile )!:)

Last year my watch lost it's signal during this race. Not saying thats what happened though.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭maupat

Ran this race for the first time last night. Found it challenging as I'm a newbie runner and more used to flat courses. For me the course was challenging but enjoyable. A little disappointed with my time this year but can improve on this next year.

The workout at the beginning was more thorough than at other races imho. Very happy relaxed atmosphere and the choc bars and massage afterwards were most welcome :)

Overall would def do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭brennarr

I came 20th so happy enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Racman

Sounds like you and your colleagues are ready to run with the BHAA. It is for people just like you. Check out their races.

www.bhaa.ie

Only €15 annual membership and €10 for each race. There are team prizes at races (first three teams in each of four categories) so it wouldn't be long before you start taking home prizes.

Give it a try. You won't regret it.

maupat wrote: »
    Ran this race for the first time last night. Found it challenging as I'm a newbie runner and more used to flat courses. For me the course was challenging but enjoyable. A little disappointed with my time this year but can improve on this next year.

The workout at the beginning was more thorough than at other races imho. Very happy relaxed atmosphere and the choc bars and massage afterwards were most welcome :)

Overall would def do it again.

There were chocolate bars?!? Can't believe I missed them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Did this run too and really enjoyed it. Well done to organisers and great to see so many entries to raise much needed funds for the hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,667 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Yes, very enjoyable run, and a very well stewarded course. There must be a connection with the Gardaí as I've never seen so many Guards on traffic duty! Seemed to be a few Gardaí running as well (at least there was one guy running just behind me for much of the race who called out to them all by name). Didn't have my usual endomondo/runkeeper to pace me so I went off too fast as usual but managed to sustain it and came in 4 mins faster than expected so happy about that. Maybe some of that is due to a short course as suggested above, but there were a couple of spots where you could shave off quite a distance - saw someone cutting across a green space at one point, Pimlico I think, saving around 80-100 meters I'd say. And once one person did it, everyone behind him took the same line!

Lovely evening. I see Arthur's pub on Thomas St were offering a free pint to all finishers.

murphd77 wrote: »
    Yes, very enjoyable run, and a very well stewarded course. There must be a connection with the Gardaí as I've never seen so many Guards on traffic duty! Seemed to be a few Gardaí running as well (at least there was one guy running just behind me for much of the race who called out to them all by name). Didn't have my usual endomondo/runkeeper to pace me so I went off too fast as usual but managed to sustain it and came in 4 mins faster than expected so happy about that. Maybe some of that is due to a short course as suggested above, but there were a couple of spots where you could shave off quite a distance - saw someone cutting across a green space at one point, Pimlico I think, saving around 80-100 meters I'd say. And once one person did it, everyone behind him took the same line!

Lovely evening. I see Arthur's pub on Thomas St were offering a free pint to all finishers.[

Think I saw that guy! Blue t shirt? Found it a bit annoying really. Regarding the length of the course, Ive lost signal on my app a few times running up around there, and I think the winning times were pretty similar to last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,667 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Think I saw that guy! Blue t shirt? Found it a bit annoying really. Regarding the length of the course, Ive lost signal on my app a few times running up around there, and I think the winning times were pretty similar to last year.

Yes, blue shirt guy! Very cheeky of him. Some local kids spotted it and gave him some stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭ChampionChip

It has come to light that about 6 or so persons were allocated the wrong times. Its fixed now and the right version on www.championchipireland.com It happened when the late entries were input and then sent to me the next few days for upload. Some of the forms were missing and thus were left out meantime I had a row in my sheet with no name but a time. It caused the sheet of names and the sheet of times to get out of sync but once we knew the issue it was easy to correct.