Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VOIP: Ireland to UK

Options
  • 20-06-2012 3:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭

We're going to be moving home to Ireland this summer and since my girlfriend is Irish I'm looking at ways for her to make calls home (anytime) to her family in the UK.

My mother uses Vodafone's international calls package on her home phone and I found that very good, but we'd be with Eircom (no other choice at the minute) and they don't seem to offer anything similar, without the usage being limited.

VOIP has been offered as a solution but I've no experience of it apart from Skype, and I don't want to have to be by a computer when using it. We'll be on Eircom's 24mb package so any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 13,999 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

I know this is a bit of overload, but were good references when I was making a decision ...

http://backsla.sh/betamax

http://www.resellerjapan.com/voip/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=65&Itemid=38

I presently use VoipWise, although there are cheaper ones there. It has never let me down.

I pay about €12 for use on mobile calls and others that are not in the 'free' package, and while some of that remains I have free landline calls for 90 from date of payment.

Most European countries, Aus, Canada, USA are included in the free calls package.

There are also call packages with hardware ..... from the likes of Blueface which might suit you better.

I use a DECT phone for calls ... no PC required ..... the phone plugs into an ATA which in turn is plugged into the router.