Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice Needed Please

• 19-06-2012 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭

I have asked Limerick man earlier, but since things have changed.

I sold my golf tdi 2 days ago, not knowing that anything to serious was wrong with it(even did the belt and clutch in the last month). While in getting the timing belt kit changed, the garage did a check, a few things like changing some darkened bulbs, an interior light not coming on, a front shock leaking, bushing needed to be changed, and uneven wear on the back tyres. Nothing seemed major as i asked. They just said if I had an NCT coming up that it would have to be looked at. (it went through the NCT in Dec no problem)

But today the buyer rang up saying the turbo is weakening and needs to be changed. He was looking towards something for it as it will cost alot. I just said I will ask the garage.

He then rang back 2 hours later saying it was terrible how many thing are wrong with the car. He knew about the bushings before he bought. But he said it was leaking oild, the sump was all marked were it got a bang and could be cracked. Wheels were warped and the piped for the intercooler were held on with cable ties and a few other bits i cant remember.

There are 118,00 miles done on the car and its a 2005.
    I had no idea any of this was on the car and Ive had it for two and a half years.
    He has sent me a text since as well, and he is looking for money to pay towards the problems.
    Its only the second time I sold a car, and Im a bit taken back.

I would like a bit of advice on what to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

If you say you didn't know the faults where there, then he has no come back whatsoever on a private sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Tell him he should have satisfied himself as to the condition of the car before he bought it. If he wanted a warranty he should have bought from a garage. How polite you are about it is down to personal preference ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

If you say you didn't know the faults where there, then he has no come back whatsoever on a private sale.

Apart from what the garage said on friday, I didnt know anything was wrong. It drives fine, it had plenty of power and I didnt notice any problems there. I would have had it serviced 6/7 times, and nothing was wrong and I would always ask how it was.

Tell him he should have satisfied himself as to the condition of the car before he bought it. If he wanted a warranty he should have bought from a garage. How polite you are about it is down to personal preference ;)

Im a polite guy so I'll try. Thanks.

Annoying thing is I only got200/300 more than i would have from a dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

U didn't sell him a car not fit for the road and it's his fault for not getting the car checked out before buying it. It has a good bit of mileage for the year, so it would make sense a few things would be worn and need replacing. that's up to him to look after not you as is a private sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

In a private sale, even if he did suspect or know that the faults were there, the buyer would still not have recourse to him. Sale of Goods Act etc will Not apply and common law rule of buyer beware (caveat emptor) will apply to mean sold as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Not to mention the fact that the OP only has the new purchaser's word that all these serious problems exist. He could be chancing his arm for some easy cash.

OP, you acted in good faith and the sale was made. The buyer could have found all this out, assuming it's true, beforehand by having the car checked properly. The mistake is his. Explain that to him nicely while telling him that's the end of the matter.

Yeah its tough luck,
    the risk you take when you go private,
    got slightly stung myself on a bike recently but wouldn't dream of ringing the seller as I wouldn't entertain him ring me if it was the other way around.
    Buyer beware

I woke up this morning to a text saying I may give something towards the car or he will be landing back up to me with it this evening.
    The car is still driving fine, it's not as if it suddenly broke down when he got. He seems genuine enough.
    Thanks for the advice lads. It has eased my worries.

Quick update

I just rang him and I told him I was sorry for selling him the car. I told him I didn't know anything was wrong with it and that I wasn't giving him anything towards it. He said I had to give him something and that I couldn't sell a car that wasnt road worthy. He said he was bringing the car back to me tonight then he hung up. He sent a text then saying the same.

Great start to the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Quick update

I just rang him and I told him I was sorry for selling him the car. I told him I didn't know anything was wrong with it and that I wasn't giving him anything towards it. He said I had to give him something and that I couldn't sell a car that wasnt road worthy. He said he was bringing the car back to me tonight then he hung up. He sent a text then saying the same.

Great start to the day!
    If he turns up call the guards and dont speak to him until they arrive and what ever you do dont back down. Have all the information there to prove you are in the right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Op you are not obliged to give this guy any money at all.. private sale- buyer beware.
    He is either chancing his arm or he is fool..either way give him nothing, not even your time!

barney 20v wrote: »
    Op you are not obliged to give this guy any money at all.. private sale- buyer beware.
    He is either chancing his arm or he is fool..either way give him nothing, not even your time!

Since I have said my piece, would I be better off ignoring him if he calls or texts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭bfocusd

Its not your fault, surely the car wouldn't crumble in the space of 6 months after passing the nct.

I think he might be looking for a quick quid making up that it's broke, some people have serious brass necks. If he does arrive at your door, I'd personally take the car back and be done with his BS, then sell it on to a garage, as you said it's 300 in the difference, plus they will inspect it properly before buying.

Maybe the lad bought on impulse and now the dusts settled he's trying to blame you cause he needs his cash, seen it happen before, buyer AND SELLERS beware! You dunno what nut is buying from you!

Either way, your not at fault and he doesn't have a leg to stand on as the private sale is bought 'as is'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Send him a polite text staing that you have sought advice and you are not liable for any faults. Advise him to contact citizens advice to confirm this.
    Ask him to refrain from contacting you further and that you will be answering no further texts, calls or queries in relation to the sale. Wish him all the best in the future. Include your own number so you have a copy of the text.

Chances are he won't be in contact again and if he does an things get sticky you have a copy of the text you sent showing how reasonable you were.
    I'd say he's chancing his arm. Probably realises that you have less experience and thinks he can bully you into a bit of easy cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

Since I have said my piece, would I be better off ignoring him if he calls or texts?
    ignore him unless him becomes threatening ... he has no legal comeback at all .
    You should look this......
    Private Sales

You do not have the same consumer rights if you are buying a car from a private seller. Generally, private sales do not come with a warranty so you should ask a mechanic to check the car before you buy it. You should always get the seller’s address or telephone number so that you can contact them if you have problems later on. Always know what to look out for when buying privately.
    If a problem arises with a privately sold car there may be little you can do beyond taking a civil case through the courts. Because of this you should be very careful when buying from a private seller and you really need to be aware of what you’re buying. Remember, a private seller may not have all the answers, so it is important to have the car checked by a mechanic.

Taken from the National consumer agency website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

barney 20v wrote: »
    ignore him unless him becomes threatening ... he has no legal comeback at all .
    You should look this......
    Private Sales

You do not have the same consumer rights if you are buying a car from a private seller. Generally, private sales do not come with a warranty so you should ask a mechanic to check the car before you buy it. You should always get the seller’s address or telephone number so that you can contact them if you have problems later on. Always know what to look out for when buying privately.
    If a problem arises with a privately sold car there may be little you can do beyond taking a civil case through the courts. Because of this you should be very careful when buying from a private seller and you really need to be aware of what you’re buying. Remember, a private seller may not have all the answers, so it is important to have the car checked by a mechanic.

Taken from the National consumer agency website.

OP,
    there it is in black and white, nothing he can do.

Once a again thanks a million lads for putting my mind at ease.

Just being to the VW garage that did a health check on the car on Friday, and they didn't see any oil or notice the turbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Maybe he or a friend have the same type car and they needed a turbo for it, Tell him take a hike it is the risk we all take buying private. Make sure you have someone with you this evening and if he starts to act the maggot have the No of the local Gardai station handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

It might even be worth a call to your local station and explain what happened to a guard. At least that way the if he dose come back and try bully you they will be tipped off and can act quickly!

Or just have 7 or 8 mates around at your house this evening playing hurling when he showes up! ;):D

Yea I have told the guards the story, just so they know about it.
    I never met him at my house, I met him a couple of miles away, I guess he could find it eventually. I'm not to worried about that, it's just the hassle of it all. It's put me right off from doing private deals ever again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mhigh86

Ya met all sorts when selling Privately, once had a guy ring up, wanted 1,000 off the price cus he was travling 2hours to buy me car, i was also selln my sister's old car few months ago, for 1,100, young girl rings up and says her friend bought the same type car for 450 and can i sell at that price with out even looking at d car. lol..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

It's put me right off from doing private deals ever again

Dont. I bought all my cars private except one and sold all private. Never had any bother except the one i did buy off a dealer, Nothing major just a sales guy trying to fob me off on a deal we made prior to sale..

I always use a seperate sim for selling cars to prevent unwanted calls like yours after sale. There are loads of chancers, both buyers and sellers out there but loads of gunuine people too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Well op are you still alive today??

:) I am