Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is it with Criminals and BMWs?

• 19-06-2012 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭

I was watching Crimewatch tonight and EVERY (4 out of 4) crime featured, used a BMW as an escape car.

So what's the craic? Are they:

A brilliant car, - the best getaway car
    or

the car of choice for all pr!cks / criminals
    or

your suggestion?

I mean there's a scoobydoo or other cars that are as fast / faster than a BMW, so why do criminals choose Bimmers?

My own thought - maybe they are easier to steal???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Because criminals have no imagination either:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

My dentist drives one, the money he has had from me for what can only be described as grevious bodily harm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

They don't stand out a much as a scooby so less conspicuous, they're powerful but not loud and have become very common ( more so than scoobys, focus rs, evo etc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Any time someone pulls up in a shiny bimmer at work I know they are gonna rob me with their bill. I'm usually right. Horses for courses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

deandean wrote: »
    I mean there's a scoobydoo or other cars that are as fast / faster than a BMW, so why do criminals choose Bimmers?

Because they look less conspicuous. A BMW 535d SE would be about as perfect a getaway car as you could get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

They usually arent the preference, Audi S4 and RS4's are due to AWD and large Avant (Estate) body types.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Matt Simis wrote: »
    They usually arent the preference, Audi S4 and RS4's are due to AWD and large Avant (Estate) body types.

Sure they could hide in a sea of RS4 TDI's with a real RS4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 STI V5

yep seems to be the car of choice for all the shams who think there gangsta!!! All the muppets in my area drive sh#te 3 series or kitted out A4s !! shame really decent enough cars but wouldnt drive one if i was being given them for free !! id hate to be associated with such knob-heads !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Sure they could hide in a sea of RS4 TDI's with a real RS4

They might also be seriously disappointed with the performance of their chosen escape car. Although there is something to be said for nice smoke screen to blind the Guards when you put your foot down! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

My dentist drives one, the money he has had from me for what can only be described as grevious bodily harm...

I object.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

I object.....

Lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I object.....

See you Friday for the root canal.

xoxoxoxo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

...saw that too....what I can't figure out is htf they got SIX people into a 3-series........in a 'getaway' ? I'd, really, really like to see the CCTV of that..... :D

On a related note, and the muppets couldn't get the bike they had as a getaway for the cash, to start.............ah yes, they must have had the 3-series driver on it.........the indicator switch probably threw him, completely......:rolleyes:

...hence the fire.........

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdnCF40zxGc

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 STI V5

defo wouldnt be my my idea of a getaway car !!! bmw m3 in the right hands u have a good chance !! bmw 318 + 6 lowlife muppets = gardai on there pushbikes banging on the window telling them to pull over while the idiot behind the wheel struggles to find another gear !!! funny thought ! they always seem to pick cars that wouldnt pull the skin of a rice pudding let alone out run the gardai with 6 halfaheads inside ! haha . probably due to the fact that they only take cars that could be stolen by a 10 year old with a lollipop stick !!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 76 ✭✭jd6920s

BMW have become so popular now , they've become a more "normal" car to have .The amount of 5 series on the roads today is huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

galwaytt wrote: »
    what I can't figure out is htf they got SIX people into a 3-series........in a 'getaway' ?

Wasn't there somebody who got EIGHT people in a Passat (same size as 3-series) and drove it like it was a 'getaway'?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Some people pay good money for that :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

I reckon I look pretty gangsta going around in my 320d ;)

161916_178504205518826_7760819_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

unkel wrote: »
    Wasn't there somebody who got EIGHT people in a Passat (same size as 3-series) and drove it like it was a 'getaway'?

They crashed, 7 were killed plus the driver of a second car.
    The driver of the Passat survived.
    The case is coming up soon. It will be very interesting to see what he gets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Remember that case in Donegal, how your man is still alive I do not know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

BMW just don't stand out,if a BMW went down my road and i later found out it was involved in a bank robbery and had to think back,i'd find it hard to pick out any individual one from the sea of 5 series i see everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Any local scummer or well known scummer around me drives a BMW,always reminds me of the goodfella's film where De Niro goes nuts at the guy for splashing the cash,its simple these lads have money and like to show off,sure even the Garda know this,one lad (not Tallaght) had his house raided because he was known to Garda and was seen driving a BMW even though hes on the dole:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Mostly Passats down here in my neck of the woods, usually with RS4 replica wheels, Aldi chrome on the doors & window frames and tinted glass. Only the odd senior scanger has a BMW of some sorts and it does tend to be a E60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

thieves know what cars to pick out for a robbery, anyone who thinks they are picking out 318's doesn't have a clue, alot of 535i and 535d's are being stolen as get away cars... they have serious power and dont stand out much, they are sleepers, your average joe soap just sees another bmw...