Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World at War Questions

• 19-06-2012 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭

Hi, I'm hoping some of ye nice people here could answer a few questions I have regarding this game. My young lad picked this up cheap at the weekend and I've noticed when online there's loads of hacked lobbies such as players flying, players not dying, really fast uncontrollable gameplay etc.I'm more of a retro gamer so sorry for the maybe stupid questions :o.
    Is there any risk to someone hacking his profile, corrupting his game save etc by playing online?

If he plays in these hacked games, and and is hacked, does it only affect him when he plays WaW or does it have any futher implications?

He gets load of messages and friend requests but he never replies to any of these but I'd appreciate any infomation that you think we should know as I just want to keep him and his profile safe.Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Unlikely that his profile could get hacked unless he gives his password out. Tends to happen when some one promises that they can hack so you'll get stuff in game(like 10th prestige or gold guns) but say they'll need the account password to do it.
    As for playing in hacked lobbies, while I'd find it annoying, I can't see any way that it might mess with his account.I could be wrong but haven't come across any of it myself.
    If he's young enough I'd avoid him having a mic in the lobbies cause you wouldn't know who he's talkin to. An awful lot of **** heads out there and if he's playing in hacked lobbies chances are he's meeting them there so I maintain your vigilance as regards the friend requests.
    Other than that I think its generally safe enough for kids to be playing online just as long as they use a bit of cop on and are aware that there might be lads out there that could steal your account if you're not too careful. Pays not to be too trusting.....if you give me the account details and your credit card I can make sure no one hacks the account ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Dark Savior

Pm sent......... oh oh wait:D .Thanks for the reply Meatwad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭_Gawd_

Tell him to stay out of the hacked lobbies and if he finds himself in one, to leave immediately. Speaking from personal experience, no good can come of it. Playing COD4, I stumbled into a hacked lobby and it messed with my stats to the point where the game would no longer allow me to enter online matches anymore....

I've never again been able to play COD4 to this day...

Stay away from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭FullRetard

also if your on the xbox you can set his account up so that he can only recieve messages frfom friends and friend request off randomers..so spam looking for passwords etc