Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pigeon gear and set ups

• 18-06-2012 4:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭

Lads I have all the gear including bouncers, a magnet , flapper, nets in all colours, 12 shell pigeon decoys, 2 crows and mags oh and hide poles.
    My questions.... anything else I should get? and where would u put the maget flapper and bouncer? ill be doing alot of pigeons this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

Lads I have all the gear including bouncers, a magnet , flapper, nets in all colours, 12 shell pigeon decoys, 2 crows and mags oh and hide poles.
    My questions.... anything else I should get? and where would u put the maget flapper and bouncer? ill be doing alot of pigeons this year.

a gun, a field of barley,and patience oh and a small foldable seat is always handy.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

You'll need a jeep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

charlie10 wrote: »
    a gun, a field of barley,and patience oh and a small foldable seat is always handy.:D

Have all them lads... :o

Pigeons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

A shotgun?

A hat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Cover yourself from head to toe in camo. Black bags,3 litres of water and freezer bag or small chest also,I find if I have high numbers I will strip them down in the field instead of at home . Less mess to deal with .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

If ya want to make things interesting pick up an owl decoy , for the crows , it gud fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭booom

lots and lots of shells- you'll never have too many on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Watch the flight path they are using then try and set up your hide under a large tree around that flight line. Look out from your hide and picture a v with were your standing being the tip , now set your ground decoys in that v shape starting about 15 yards from your hide to as far you would feel confident you could hit a pigeon, to the back of each side of your v put your bouncers and in the center of them put your spinner and then 15 yards from that towards you put your flapper , remember to face your ground decoys into the wind.One or two tree decoys come in handy aswell as it will draw cagey pigeons into the tree over your head.Something lads forget is to cammo the gun ,they stand there in full camo in a hide and every time they put the gun up it is like waving a mirror to make a sos signal.A gun sock is only around a tenner.
    So now in effect you have created a feeding area with a landing patch in the middle were you will be taking most of your shots.
    I often leave a single pigeon that lands in to mooch around feeding this movment will draw a flock in.The whole idea is to make it as relistic as possible.

thanks, my gun is camo so its grand.

I'll bet you don't have camo cartridges!

haha no, but eley realtree pigeon are camo.

:p

Okay I'll give up now.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭AL 555

Get yourself one of these, i have everything you have but this is one of the best and cheapest things you can buy http://www.sportsden.ie/clothing/jack-pyke-lightweight-mesh-camo-balaclava.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

well myself lad i would not leave one real pigeon in the killing area as it can draw a big flock in thats all very well and good but i dont think any one has a gatling shot gun lol lol in my own opinion i love shooting the ones and twos that come in number will rise up bit by bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Can see why you like shooting the ones and twos but i normally shoot large fields of rape with a few lads in different areas so we try to get a flock in and get them moving between us, you get great craic in bursts like that when they are hitting hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 dclarke1977

baby wipes nothin worse than wiping with straw on a hot days pigeon shootin

well myself lad i would not leave one real pigeon in the killing area as it can draw a big flock in thats all very well and good but i dont think any one has a gatling shot gun lol lol in my own opinion i love shooting the ones and twos that come in number will rise up bit by bit

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

What ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 dclarke1977

baby wipes better than toilet roll, nothin worse than gettin caught short when the pigeons are hitting hard