Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Interesting situation + Where to buy jump leads?

• 18-06-2012 01:05AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭

basically I only got home now, I was driving around from 9 PM. I was in an empty parking lot with friend, then when I tried to start up car turns out my battery was flat dead (after listening music for few hours while motor not running). Basically 1 AM no one around really, was kind of lost, I was ready to call insurance break down, but out of sudden Garda patrolling car comes up, they stop and ask if everything is okay, I said my battery went flat. He said: do you have jump leads? I said no, it was 1 female and 1 male garda members, the guy started pushing car to try and start it, that didn't work, so they called in on radio to someone asking for jump leads, then they said to wait, they went off, and came back in 10 minutes with jump leads, car started up and I was able to go home. To be honest I was never so glad to see police, before I was ****ting seeing them on road while driving (don't know just makes me paranoid, I come from Ukraine and police there can **** up to any reason or make it up really), now I am not really afraid of them anymore :D

What would you do in such case?

Is there any good shop around dublin which sells jump leads? and what's their average price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Did they tell you not to start anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭arleitiss

stoneill wrote: »
    Did they tell you not to start anything?

What do you mean nopt to start anyhing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭kirving

You can proably get a cheap set for about €10, but they might not be suitable for constant use (like the AA would use) because the clamps might be rubbish, not very long, or not have a good case.

That said, they'll get the car started should you need them.

I think a box of chocolates or something to the Garda station woudn't go amiss, if you know what station they were from.

You can proably get a cheap set for about €10, but they might not be suitable for constant use (like the AA would use) because the clamps might be rubbish, not very long, or not have a good case.

That said, they'll get the car started should you need them.

I think a box of chocolates or something to the Garda station woudn't go amiss, if you know what station they were from.

no, they drove off very fast. tbh this was the first time I was so waiting for garda to arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Have to say that was very descent of them, even if they gave you a jump that would be nice, but to go and get leads and come back. Have to say i'm surprised.

Senna wrote: »
    Have to say that was very descent of them, even if they gave you a jump that would be nice, but to go and get leads and come back. Have to say i'm surprised.
    Yeah, I was surprised as well, after car started up I said thanks like 50 times, they said if they don't get jump leads, I should call break down assistance from my insurers, but they still drove away and came back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

"To protect and to serve" eh :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

I always carry Jump leads, got cheapish ones on Amazon for €15. I've seen them in the pound shop for €2, I would touch them though!

Can someone on this forum that's working in the business confirm if its true that if I give some one a jump, that it can damage my ECU?

My old car had a false engine managment light on, after the diagnostic was done, the fault reported was tested and nothing was wrong. My mechanic then confirmed that it was the ECU that was gone gammy and thought that it might have been caused my me give a jump start to one of the girls at work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Was driving to Dublin with a mate some years ago and got a puncture. No wheel brace.
    There was a filling station down the road but they were no help. I said to the guy "lets go up to the Garda Station, they'll probably help". He thought I was crazy. :confused:
    Went up and explained the problem to the gaurd on reception. He went and got car keys from almost every cop who was working at that time. After relieving almost every car in their staff car park of their wheel braces (to ensure we had one that fit) he drove us back to the car and made sure we got everything sorted. My friend was shocked by it all.

Admittedly I wasn't expecting that much help but I mean it is surely not a surprise that the guys would help somebody out when stuck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

OP fair play to the members of the AGS that you came across !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Fair play to them; thats above and beyond what you expect from the Gardai! Just goes to show that despite the bad name some of them give the force, the majority are decent people (thats my experience anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Coincidentally I saw a traffic corps wagon jump starting a Saab last Friday as well!

by the way, my friend said I should get new battery, though I don't think so because it was my fault for draining it, I was listening radio, air flow fully on, headlights on, and inside lights on for about 40 mins. Or should I still get new battery? and how much would it cost?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I got a decent set in LIDL/Aldi (Can't remember) a few years ago, good quality for €20. Don't carry them in the car though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

There ye go, gardai can be nice people, dont be shocked !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

There are over 10,000 Garda. Of course some will be sound and some won't. Sounds like you met a couple of the friendliest op.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Mr Keek wrote: »
    I always carry Jump leads, got cheapish ones on Amazon for €15. I've seen them in the pound shop for €2, I would touch them though!

Can someone on this forum that's working in the business confirm if its true that if I give some one a jump, that it can damage my ECU?

My old car had a false engine managment light on, after the diagnostic was done, the fault reported was tested and nothing was wrong. My mechanic then confirmed that it was the ECU that was gone gammy and thought that it might have been caused my me give a jump start to one of the girls at work?

And you would be right not to.
    Did buy them one day, there's two strands of copper wire in them, not even attached to the clamps, they could not even start her MX5 which is really not the hardest thing to do.
    €2 jump leads, stay away, it's not the money, but being stranded when you shouldn't be that grates.