Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

North east cycle challenge

• 17-06-2012 7:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭

"coastal challenge"

Anyone else do this today?

One of the more "unleisurely" leisure cycles I've been on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

exactly where was this:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

run by carrickmacross cc, out to the coast and back (don't ask me where we passed through, i was trying too hard to cling onto a wheel to notice where we were going!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

I did found it fun even though the pace wasn't exactly lesiurely

Fair play to Carrickmacross CC very well organised. Was free and had a decent food stop overall very good.

PeadarCo wrote: »
    I did found it fun even though the pace wasn't exactly lesiurely

Fair play to Carrickmacross CC very well organised. Was free and had a decent food stop overall very good.

yep, a very well run sportive. marshalling was excellent too, had two motorbike/honda 50 (!) outriders the whole way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭shaneward2004

We do get a bit speedy alright but its a pretty fast and flattish route :) there were also less faster groups on the road im sure. It was also a free event and marshalls the whole way and good food. hopefully it didnt put you off too much.

not at all, was a great spin!

and like i said very well organised, was very surprised to show up and find out it was free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

G rock wrote: »
    not at all, was a great spin!

and like i said very well organised, was very surprised to show up and find out it was free!

The speed made it fun

I would agree that it was a shock that it was free. The organisation level and food stops beats many cycles I've actually paid money to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭lizzylad84

any info on the route?

lizzylad84 wrote: »
    any info on the route?

This was the route for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Hadn't heard about this at all, was it advertised anywhere?
    Pity it wasn't mentioned here before, might have gone up for the spin.

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »
    Hadn't heard about this at all, was it advertised anywhere?
    Pity it wasn't mentioned here before, might have gone up for the spin.

Was on the CI calendar and facebook. Was for cycling week 2012 thats why it was free.