Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apprentice need help/advice!!

Options
  • 17-06-2012 12:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

Hi i am a 25 year old apprentice cabinet maker. I have completed all my Phases of fas but are short nearly 30 weeks "work experience" to complete the required 208 weeks to qualify. I lost my job in february in a joinery restoring sash windows, due to lack of work. I have asked fas adviser could i work for no money with an employer but she said they couldn't allow that. :mad: She also said it has to be a qualified cabinet maker training me. I have sent cv's and gone to joinerys and kitchen companies but majority have very little work. I then sent a form to main fas headquarters detailing the experience i have but they rejected that due to lack of weeks!!:confused: Fas adviser is extremely difficult to get and not helpful.

Are there any other ways to qualify, short courses etc.!?

Any other apprentices in same situation?

very fed up but trying to stay positive.

thanks pacman25.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭makita

There was an apprentice with my old boss and was left go with about 3 months before his time was up so fas sent him on different courses to make up the rest of his time I can't remember what courses he done but I would definitely ask the fas adviser could you go down this route

• Registered Users Posts: 2 pacman25

thanks i'll contact my adviser and see what she says.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz