Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clonmel AC Boston Scientific Half Marathon

• 16-06-2012 1:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,881 ✭✭✭✭

I am in no way connected with the organisers just posting this as info really.
    Online entries are through Active Europe as far as i know.
    Route is the same as last year

halfmara.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Whats the route like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,881 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Took this of the Clonmel AC meet and train page..Seems a few yards short but it is the route mostly.
    Starts on the main Cahir Road and finishes in the Sports centre

http://connect.garmin.com/course/1443696#.T9pRzb6ZVCg.facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Sosa wrote: »
    Whats the route like ?
    It's a good course. Weren't many top runners last yr in it which was a surprise as it was day after 10 miler in the park. Last mile is very quick. It's a challenging half but if in good shape it's a pb one. Gradual climb over first 4 miles but it's nice then until 10 . Tough 11th mile but even on empty the last mile is 20 seconds made up. I will def do it as its local and it's for a club. Great spread after it which helps.for 25 euro it's one of the cheapest halfs around. Thumbs up for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Martin_ie2012

hi friend told me about this, think im going to give it a go as I am training for DCM this year so it will fit in nicely with the build up.

2 questions though, is there a cut off time or what is it as I have never run this distance before but based on my current pace should do it in about 2hr20.
    Also did this sell out last year as I am going to leave it closer to the time to register and see how the fitness builds.
    Should be good though as its where im from so looking forward to it.
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭NoGutsNoGlory

lets hope they get the course right.. in 2010 it was 14.5 odd miles!!!

Hence why the tshirt said we will go the extra mile. I was at the event both years. It improved on the first year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Therapysucks

Nice race last year. I got a PB for my slow self (1:43 on the nose). Start is a bit dull, gradual drag on open main road, but once it turns off the rest of the route is a belter. Well organised, and good tucker at the end. Wouldn't wipe the car with the t-shirt, but for €25 was well happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭edhead

Can anyone help me out with this please?

I entered the race under this catergory "Catergory: Master Men 0/40"...

I had the choice of senior's or master, wasnt sure what one to enter under so plumped for master!

What exactly does this mean?

edhead wrote: »
    Can anyone help me out with this please?

I entered the race under this catergory "Catergory: Master Men 0/40"...

I had the choice of senior's or master, wasnt sure what one to enter under so plumped for master!

What exactly does this mean?
    Ring Niall as his number on website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Anyone else planning on giving this a go? Due to do a 15m LSR that week so think I'll give it a shot - racing it should be equivalent. Getting tired of running the same routes around home so this and the Dublin 10m the following week should mix it up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    Anyone else planning on giving this a go? Due to do a 15m LSR that week so think I'll give it a shot - racing it should be equivalent. Getting tired of running the same routes around home so this and the Dublin 10m the following week should mix it up a bit.

Hi Dilbert, I’m in the same boat as you, I think you are doing Hal Higdon 2 if I remember correctly from the novice Dublin thread? I am also doing HH2 so I am swapping week 8 with week 9 (which has a half marathon scheduled) so I will do the 15 mile LSR the week after the Clonmel half.

It sounds like a nice event and I am on holidays for the first 3 weekends in September, so this half suits me time wise

As I said in the DM Mentored Novices thread, will probably see you there. 313 places left, €25 entry for another 3 days (then up to €30).

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Just signed up, might as well give it a go since its only down the road so to speak. Hoping to knock maybe a min or two of my PB in Wexford :)

Just signed up too - only little over an hour left before the price goes up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 novice runner

Only seen this now.....i musta missed the cheaper rate then, oh well :o

30 still seems reasonable enough for a decent half marathon, especially when u compare it to some of the more commercial ones....anyway club races are always better run :)

Maybe I’m being blind, but I can’t see anything about pacers in the FAQ on the website… anyone know if there are pacers at this event? Hoping there will be a 1 hour 45 or 1 hour 50.

ncmc wrote: »
    Maybe I’m being blind, but I can’t see anything about pacers in the FAQ on the website… anyone know if there are pacers at this event? Hoping there will be a 1 hour 45 or 1 hour 50.

Don't think so. I'll be wearing my Garmin pacing to around that time, so that's how I'm planning to get around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

on the Conmel AC homepage it says there'll be pacers for 90,105,120 & 135mins.

Will be hoping to fall in with the 105 mins pacers myself & see how the body is doing after the Waterford Viking Marathon.

Better again. Btw they seem to have about 4 different pages for that race, each with different content. Any wonder that people, myself included, would have difficulty finding information.

Only 264 registered for this so far - another 236 places left.

Following some good advice on the DCM Mentored Novices thread, I won't be joining the 1:45 pacers. I'm aiming for 1:50 so I'll either go with the 2:00 for maybe the first 4m and push on or more likely I'll set out at 1:50 pace from the outset. At this point I'm planning to be wearing my club vest (black & blue with USAC on the back) so if you feel like joining my own Garmin-led pacing group*, please feel free to come on over and say hello!

* T&Cs apply:
    • I'm not an experienced runner, never mind a pacer, so if my Garmin gets it wrong, I won't be at pace. Please don't blame me. It's the satellites, you see.:rolleyes:
    • If I can't keep up the pace for the full race, I'll have to let you blaze off on your own.:eek:

Only 264 registered for this so far - another 236 places left.

Following some good advice on the DCM Mentored Novices thread, I won't be joining the 1:45 pacers. I'm aiming for 1:50 so I'll either go with the 2:00 for maybe the first 4m and push on or more likely I'll set out at 1:50 pace from the outset. At this point I'm planning to be wearing my club vest (black & blue with USAC on the back) so if you feel like joining my own Garmin-led pacing group*, please feel free to come on over and say hello!

* T&Cs apply:
    • I'm not an experienced runner, never mind a pacer, so if my Garmin gets it wrong, I won't be at pace. Please don't blame me. It's the satellites, you see.:rolleyes:
    • If I can't keep up the pace for the full race, I'll have to let you blaze off on your own.:eek:

I’m still undecided Gilbert, I worry that if I set out with the 2hr pacers, I’ve a huge amount of time to make up to do it in 1hr50, but then I’m worried if I start off with the 1hr 45 group, I’ll totally bomb in the second half. I have a Garmin too, but I do find my pace can be quite erratic, especially when I’m trying to run at speed.

Might just wait til Sunday and see how I feel, I’m a bit nervous to be honest! I’ve only ever done a 10K race and 10 miles in the Cork Marathon relay, this feels like a big leap.

I’ll keep an eye out for you on Sunday for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 erasure

Hey,

Anyone know what kind of water stations there are, bottles or cups, frequency etc??

erasure wrote: »
    Hey,

Anyone know what kind of water stations there are, bottles or cups, frequency etc??

From their Race Day info page :-
    Are there water stations?
    There are 4 water stations on the Course at 3 Miles, 6 Miles, 9 Miles and at 11.5 Miles approx providing plenty of water to athletes. There will b esmall bottles of water at every Water Station.

Lets hope the day will be dry(but not too warm) & that the course is accurately measured & well marshelled :D (unlike other events over the last weekend)

I’m still undecided Gilbert, I worry that if I set out with the 2hr pacers, I’ve a huge amount of time to make up to do it in 1hr50, but then I’m worried if I start off with the 1hr 45 group, I’ll totally bomb in the second half. I have a Garmin too, but I do find my pace can be quite erratic, especially when I’m trying to run at speed.

Might just wait til Sunday and see how I feel, I’m a bit nervous to be honest! I’ve only ever done a 10K race and 10 miles in the Cork Marathon relay, this feels like a big leap.

I’ll keep an eye out for you on Sunday for sure!

I ain't gonna try & tell u how to run the half marathon but only give my experiences.
    I ran my first 5k in May of last year,progressed to a Half marathon in September.What a learning curve!!!
    Was chatting with a runner from Kildare beforehand & started the race with him.I ran the first 5 miles faster than any 5 mile race I had ever ran up-to that point :eek:.To say the second half of the half marathon was torture was an understatement but a tough lesson learned(ended up with a time of 1:51:xx).
    Did my second Half Marathon in December but due to an injury & other circumstances had very little training done for it.Decided beforehand that I was determined to enjoy this one,so headed out with the 1:50 pacers but knew after a few miles I wasn't in the shape to keep the pace up so slackened off a bit but to my surprise found the second half a lot easier & finished in 1:57:xx but enjoyed the race & the banter after.

If it was me in your position now I would try & head out ahead of the 2hr pacers & behind the 1:45 & judge yourself how you are feeling on the day.
    If your with the 1:45 group & drop back they will leave you for dust & its very hard to try & catch up,where as if your ahead of the 2hr group & they catch up with you they will try & encourage you to join them & bring you home on time.
    If possible try & keep something in the tank for the second half.

Either way best of luck & you never know,may bump in to some of ye there :)

I have received an email (as I'm sure anyone that is preregistered will) from the organisers saying it will be 250ml bottled water at the water stops,so won't be too taxing on the hands to carry for a bit & a bottle of powerade waiting at the finish for everyone :)

Signed up.

Not sure about times. Best is 1.36 something, but that was over a tough enough course, but I was flying fit at the time and doing lsr's for Cork Marathon. Think anything around a 1.40 will be grand.

Could be quite warm on Sunday, I'm getting varying forecasts depending on which site I look at, anything from 17-23 degrees. Not looking forward to running if it's anything close to 23 degrees, I normally aim to do my runs at cooler times of the day, ah well, i'll just slow down a bit if needs be. Wear your sunscreen people!

I seem to have deleted my email with all the race details/registration details on it. Would someone who received it be able to PM it to me? Just want to make sure I have the most up to date details. Thanks!

Private message sent:)

Thanks Doc!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Number collected and as set as I'm ever going to be, abit worried about the temp and think this will impact my aim of beating my PB set at Wexford Half in April...oh well.

Not local so picking mine up go the morning. Enjoy the run anyway!

Best of luck to everyone taking part today,looks like it's gonna be a nice day for running.

Just back, enjoyable run and luckily weather wasn't has hot as it was forecast on Friday..

Found the hills hard going esp heading back towards the finish but still happy to knock around 1min off my PB, next half marathon I'm getting into the 1hour 3x times :)

Found it well organized with plenty of parking right near the finish which was great for a quick get away as needed to head home quick,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭ChampionChip

Texts sent out and results on www.championchipireland.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Well organised, Well marshalled, plenty of water stations and a nice course. Enjoyable event. Well done to those involved. I reckon the hurling match might have had an effect on the local support. Very few people along the course

Well done to all involved,everything seemed to be well organised.I know it was a club event but it was still good to see Angela Mc Cann involved in the registration this morning,one of the clubs marquee names but still doing her bit fo the club.
    A big thank you to Tommy & Áine the 1hr 45min pacers,had a good ol chat with them along the wat & were very encouraging to all.Tommy said he had paced a 3hr Dublin marathon a few years ago so we knew we were in good hands.:cool:

Disapointed with my own time of 1:53:xx,was going well with the pacers up until approx 8.5 miles,the sole of my left foot cramped up,nothing to do but ease off the pace a little.Decided to walk at the 9mile water stop to see if it would ease out a bit but once i got going again the front of lower left cramped up as well:mad:
    Really no choice in the matter but to slow down & just manage to make sure I finished.Bit of a lift when I came over the finish line to be given a voucher for a spot prize:cool:.The cup of tea & sandwich/cake were well appreciated afterwards as well.

Over all,A big thumbs up to the Clonmel Athletic Club,an event I would definitely do again if the opportunity arises.:)

As for myself,since reaching the 1000mile mark for the year & completeing the Waterford Marathon back at the end of June,I have found my mojo for running has not really been there,ran this race today to see how I was doing & try to decide if I'm gonna have a cut off of the Dublin Marathon as well.with the buzz around & feeling good running in a good group I was thinking to myself that I should train hard over the next few weeks & if going well do Dublin,the injury during the race has put of a spanner in my thinking now but when I arrived my little man congratulated me on winning another medal & was very proud of his dad:)
    We'll see how the leg feels over the next few days & if the body stays together will try Dublin.:eek:

Was a bit disappointed with my run, did first half in 48 and then kinda blew up, dropped to 1.42.30. Found the day kinda humid, wasn't bowling along, and forgot running socks so was in these thick "Jeep" ones! Still, better than getting sick at the Kilomarathon last weekend, and feel I'm finally training for the DCM.

Well marshalled event. Well organised too, no long queue for registration etc. But special praise due for whoever ordered the tech teeshirts. I now have a collection of teeshirts and running tops from various events that seem like they were picked out by the colour blind, purples and oranges and yellows etc. Many in the back of the press, only used for painting and gardening. But the dark green one today actually looks really neat, fair play. It will be used. In fact, heard a few others comment on how nice they were too.

I enjoyed the race today - beat my target by almost 2 mins, my pb by almost 9 mins and felt pretty good at the end of it. Next time at this distance I'd hope to keep up with the 1.45 pacers but my Garmin did the trick this time.

Caught up with NCMC in the latter miles, having been a couple of hundred metres behind for most of the race. Nice to meet you NCMC - hope I didn't give you a headache with my wittering to the end!

As commented already, the race was well organised, the marshalling and water stations being a high point. Good atmosphere at the end.

Queued up for only a few mins afterwards and got a massage from one of the Physios in attendance - she said pretty much everything my own Physio said at my last visit.

Wasn't thrilled with the mens changing room at the end tbh - when I was getting changed a bunch of young lads came in to watch the hurling - but I should have been prepared and gone across the road for a shower.

Queue for the refreshments was long but moved pretty quickly. Parking was plentiful, if muddy. And the course was bang on. Good job Clonmel AC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 erasure

Great day, compliments to all, small bottles at the water stations were just the ticket. Pb achieved so delighted with that.

Anyone know if there are race pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 barking1503

Not being a fast runner was delighted To see two 2.15 pacers at the start line. Thanks girls-great encouragement and banter all the way along. Found massive improvement all round on last yr. New finish better-stewarding top class and giving times along the route with encouragement!loved small touches like the funny inspirational signs esp Mrs Doyle with "go on go on go on" at bottom of hill. Hilly course but enjoyed overall, great atmosphere and food at end. Lovely t shirt only crib not enough sizes available-only small sizes ran out of med and lrg quickly it seems.well done Clonmel!will be back-oh and final point its great value.

I’m a bit slow getting my race report up, hate posting from a smart phone. I really enjoyed the race yesterday (well, I enjoyed it about 2 hours later when I had got home, showered and had a bit of a rest!) Thought the race was great, well organised and not too crowded once you got past the narrow start. I was a bit nervous pre race as my husband was working so I was on my own, and I couldn’t find the place so felt a bit frazzled! I was disappointed in the weather, I hate that warm, muggy weather, find it very difficult to run in. I found the first two miles tough, a steady incline, one of those ‘not really a hill’ hills that you don’t notice in a car but you sure as hell notice when running! My plan was to try and keep the 1hr45 pacers in sight, but I soon realised that wasn’t going to happen so I just plugged on at my own pace. Enjoyed miles 3-9 when we got off the main road and on to the back roads. Plenty of water stations, but not much local support unfortunately, I suppose the match being on affected that. Took gels at 6 and 10 miles. Started to find the going tough at about 9.5 miles, legs felt heavy, was feeling like I was in a cold sweat. A guy came up beside me and said, “I’ve been behind you from the beginning, you don’t want to let me beat you now!” Turns out that guy was our very own Dilbert75! Total random meeting! Dilbert was fantastic, he was like my very own pacer, he kept me going during the last 3 miles and kept my pace up, I genuinely would have slowed down if it weren’t for him, at one point it was like a war movie “you go on without me, I’m just slowing you down!” But I kept up (sorry if I slowed you down Dilbert) and we crossed the line together in 1hr48! Beyond delighted, was really hoping to do it in 1hr50 so to beat that by over a minute was fantastic.

Overall, thought the race was brilliant, I didn’t stay for the food, but damn, if I’d known there was chocolate cake I might have stayed! They must have read the bad reviews of the t-shirts from last year, the t-shirt is fantastic, I look forward to wearing it with pride during my runs this week! Lovely medal too, all in all, thumbs up to the organisers, I will definitely take part next year.

You're very kind NCMC but there's no credit due to me - you ran every step of that race yourself. It was just a matter of having someone to yap to for a wee while - it distracts the mind from thinking negative thoughts about not being able to keep going! Well done - but you really should have gone for cake and tea afterwards. The best part of any race!

Thanks Dilbert, it definitely helped having someone there the last couple of miles. Well i've learned my lesson about the food afterwards, I thought it might be a few soggy sarnies at best, but chocolate cake!!! :( Definitely won't make that mistake again ;)

erasure wrote: »
    Great day, compliments to all, small bottles at the water stations were just the ticket. Pb achieved so delighted with that.

Anyone know if there are race pics?

http://tipperaryphotos.com/Boston-Scientific-Half-Marathon-2012

Not sure,those weren't mine,just a local guy.
    Try the Clonmel ac ladies meet and train facebook site,they usually have a few though probably club members......

btw I meant to comment on the motivational signs that was scattered around the route - the likes of "it's only a hill - get over it" and "I love running because I love dessert". I thought they were a great idea and I got a great kick out of them on the way round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭student2010

Great race on Sunday, very well organised from start to finish, not the easiest half I've ever done, a few tough hilly sections, weather played a part from my perspective, clammy and humid. Looking forward to 2013, well done to all at Clonmel a.c.