Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What do you like about C&H/boards/internet?

• 16-06-2012 1:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭

Ok so 10000 posts and all that craic so decided to make a thread. Possibly dedicate it to some people and all that craic. But not a “OMG I HAVE 10000 POSTS YAAAAY – no point thread” coz that’s against the charter.

‘Coz this has a point, I hope.

Ok so basically when I joined (back in the JC DAYZ), there was me and jumpguy (luv yhoo bbz <3) and partyatmygaff (mad bastard, so he was!) and the JC forum was great craic. And that allowed me to find the GAA forum where I was a little 15 year old conversing with auld lads (SHOUT OUT to Daysha, deisedude, premierstone, grenache, panda, cruiser, smashey, sparkeydee and my first encounter with deise_bbz <3) and that was great craic too.

And then I came HERE, like omg lads, like if I gave a shout out to everybody, there’d be too many names.. but ye all know who ye are.. from the oldies like my Fad bbz (LOVE YOU FADDY), D4RK ONION and phlegms (MISS YOU ELLIS!) to the kinda newbs like _meehan_, Cakes and Jamjamjamjam.. ye are preety class.

But ya, the forum has some preety amazing highs like the Jizzlers 2k9/10/11 and Slow Show’s arrival coz that was a preety great moment like.. to the not so great stuff where we all had to stick together in a way like the night the porn was posted that ruined the innocent eyes of so many.

But ya, why do I have this thread here? Ahm, wanted to do something for my 10000th post. And wanted to aknowledge in a way, where I started and shizz and how great forum it is here. Like it’s like a little family. People come and go (coz ya cant stay a teenage forever!) but it’s a nice community :)

When things don’t go so great irl, it’s nice to come here and aaaaaaaaaaaargh or just put my head into something else for awhile. When I signed up with soccymonster I didn’t know what I was getting myself in for. But just thought I’d let ye know how cool ye are, coz im sound like that :P (and im sad like that too haha!)

Also shoutout to Emma and deise/clem. Aaaahh, I tell ye this so much but ye are my rocks. I feel like I know ye more than I know myself sometimes. Never thought a few years back that we’d be like as super tight still as we are today! *sheds tear* Love you guys. DEISEMONSTER SHOW FOREVER.

Ok so like.. I’m guessing this thread can be used to.. tell your story maybe? What do you like about C&H so much? Or boards forums? Or who do you like? (lawwwl) or even your favourite times here or most memorable!
    I just needed to do something for my 10000th post instead of something bland :P Mods don’t kill me haha

THIS POST IS SO LONG AH. Shoutout to Noel, brummytom, Bobalicious and eVeNtInE and Mountainlad btw!

Also, recoginition to Pyggy. Miss you lots bud <3 You’ll always deserve best beard. xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

shoutout to tyrrell and jackobyte! yer cool, i guess..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

SHOUT OUT TO.. atomickoala, colm!, sarahbeep!, aoibheann, lawliet, Davidius, Screaminmidget, wnolan1992, M&S*, Namlub, Aoifey!, Squishy, Niall09, Pigwedgeon, Agnostic Mantis, Duffy, jefferywithonef, cheesefiend, Togepi, Cawcheen, Fergus_, Jay P, bythewoods, A_Neurotic, synconsiced, Knifey, ohthebaby, insect, norweiganwood and Queen Of Leon, conor108, marko, timbuk, namlub, sarcasticfairy, craguls (AH save the best for last!) more..

*breathes*

ARE YOU HAPPY NAOW?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

What a fun idea for a thread. :D

I'll write a really fun reply later full of fun-filled anecdotes whenever I'm not incredibly sleep-deprived and sleepy. It'll be great, it'll go on about all the fun times I've had and how fun everything is and how generally funny and not boring I and everyone else is.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I've a poem about this place lying around somewhere... :D

( ( ( BOOM ) ) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭AtomicKoala

Personally, I like the use of vivid language and colourful, descriptive story telling. I like the informative tone of certain posts, and the more casual posts elsewhere, which still inherently get the point across. I particularly like how one can post in arrrrrghhh or yaaaaaahh and can fell that their problem or success gets the attention they believe it deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

SHOUT OUT TO.. atomickoala, colm!, sarahbeep!, aoibheann, lawliet, Davidius, Screaminmidget, wnolan1992, M&S*, Namlub, Aoifey!, Squishy, Niall09, Pigwedgeon, Agnostic Mantis, Duffy, jefferywithonef, cheesefiend, Togepi, Cawcheen, Fergus_, Jay P, bythewoods, A_Neurotic, synconsiced, Knifey, ohthebaby, insect, norweiganwood and Queen Of Leon (AH save the best for last!) more..

*breathes*

ARE YOU HAPPY NAOW?!

You spelled my name wrong.

Banned for 1 week.

Lolz just kidding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

SHOUT OUT TO.. atomickoala, colm!, sarahbeep!, aoibheann, lawliet, Davidius, Screaminmidget, wnolan1992, M&S*, Namlub, Aoifey!, Squishy, Niall09, Pigwedgeon, Agnostic Mantis, Duffy, jefferywithonef, cheesefiend, Togepi, Cawcheen, Fergus_, Jay P, bythewoods, A_Neurotic, synconsiced, Knifey, ohthebaby, insect, norweiganwood and Queen Of Leon (AH save the best for last!) more..

*breathes*

ARE YOU HAPPY NAOW?!

Highly confused, but a little flattered that my name is in that list. Like, how?? :pac: I feel like I've been posting in C&H for about five minutes compared to the rest of ye. :o

(Like, she doesn't even go here!!) :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

I like how Soccy always rememers me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭marko93

Glad too see I'm loved within the C&H community. FÚCK YOU SOCCY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

marko93 wrote: »
    Glad too see I'm loved within the C&H community. FÚCK YOU SOCCY
    ndk977.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭jefreywithonef

jefferywithonef

ARE YOU HAPPY NAOW?!

jefferywithonef and I are livid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I make the internet a more awesome place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Captain Graphite

Anytime I look at C&H now I see some new names I've never seen before and don't see any of the "ZOMG EVRY1'Z A CLIQUE!!1!" drama llama shíte that majorly spoiled the forum before. Which is nice. And while it is sad to see former regulars move on and whatnot, I think there's a friendlier atmosphere here now than there was a year or so ago.

Also I really like how some people who've been there since the very start of C&H (Deisemonster, Slow Show, Monzowithonef, Insect Filelord, Pigwidgeonos2 etc.) are still posting regularly. :) Goes to show not everyone gets bogged down with the aforementioned cliquey shíte and that some people still see C&H for what it was always meant to be and continue to enjoy posting here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭JamJamJamJam

None of the people who know I post here understand why. Only if they used C&H they'd understand.

I want to meet you all!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

SHOUT OUT TO.. atomickoala, colm!, sarahbeep!, aoibheann, lawliet, Davidius, Screaminmidget, wnolan1992, M&S*, Namlub, Aoifey!, Squishy, Niall09, Pigwedgeon, Agnostic Mantis, Duffy, jefferywithonef, cheesefiend, Togepi, Cawcheen, Fergus_, Jay P, bythewoods, A_Neurotic, synconsiced, Knifey, ohthebaby, insect, norweiganwood and Queen Of Leon, conor108, marko, timbuk, namlub, sarcasticfairy, craguls (AH save the best for last!) more..

*breathes*

ARE YOU HAPPY NAOW?!

Excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

*breathes*

ARE YOU HAPPY NAOW?!

No:( My new life goal is to get my name onto this list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

*breathes*

ARE YOU HAPPY NAOW?!

ZOMG! Soccy knows my username!!!!

*does happy dance*

What do I like about boards? ... I honestly don't know. I have no idea what has made this the only site I regularly (some may say too regularly) contribute (some may say my contributions aren't worth contributing) to. I have no idea what made me spend my (not really hard earned) money subscribing.

What I do know, is that boards is teh craic! Compared to all other forum sites I've seen, the level of trolling and bitching is so much lower. There've been bad times... (this last year over on the UL forum comes to mind), but also some epic times (this year's Eurovision thread where there was far too much alcohol and borderline sexual harassment...)

Only wish I'd found this place about two years sooner, back when escapism was badly needed! :pac:

Here's to another 10,000 posts Soccy!
    *raises imaginary glass*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

Eathrin wrote: »
    No:( My new life goal is to get my name onto this list.

35novx.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭SChique00

Simples - I'm mad for the bantz :D And I made some great friends in the TY Forum - cannae wait for 5th Yr OT 2012/13 boizzz ;)
    I just love to talk, and so glad I stumbled across Boards when I did, because it perfectly facilitates my compulsion to gab away to cool randomers for hours and hours :3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Captain Graphite

Namlub wrote: »
    Excellent.

Oh those crazy Namlub twins.... Whatever will they get up to next? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

You left my name off that list soccy, I'm a veteran of the forum at this stage soccy, a veteran! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Also, recoginition to Pyggy. Miss you lots bud <3 You’ll always deserve best beard. xxx

I think this sentence petty much sums up why the place is awesome, the complete sense of community. Unlike other places on Boards, I don't think the posters here are replaceable.

Edit: Also, very well said Soccy, ya mad hewer!