Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friend buying 2008 BMW 320d

• 14-06-2012 12:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-D-E9/6013333647319620/advert?channel=CARS

Hey lads a friend is thinking about buying the above car.

He has never spent anwhere near this sort of money for a car like this so I thought I'd ask the good folk of motors what the general opinion is on these diesel 3 series coupes.

Are there any common issues to look out for in this model?
    What should he be looking at as potential money-pit components?
    Is this particular car over priced? Does it look ok to you guys?
    What are engines and gearboxes like in these machines?

Basically are they a decent car?

Any advice welcome, especially from the BMW fans and definitely from any 320d owners.

Thanks for your Time.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I'd avoid any 3-Series with those 19 inch wheels. It was a big issue over in the UK with those wheels cracking on the inside and costing a fortune to fix/replace. Not sure if BMW gave any goodwill either.

Your friend could always change them so maybe it isn't a worry. I can't say I know much else about them other than it looking kind of expensive to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

That's way overpriced for a 08 320D.
    You can buy one about 2 grand cheaper from a BMW garage with a 2 year warranty and even for less if you went the private route.

Here's one with full leather interior etc but smaller wheels for over 2 grand cheaper but with a 2 year BMW warranty.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320d-Edi/201217207963848/advert?channel=CARS

He could also go the 520D route :) both are around the same price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

They're both manual, which would be a deal-breaker for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Might as well go for 520d then.

Does it has to be post 08? Is he one of those "tax junkies" op? Get 07 one with a bit higher tax, but a way cheaper. Saved money can go on paying tax for next few years amd holiday.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Blazer wrote: »
    That's way overpriced for a 08 320D.
    You can buy one about 2 grand cheaper from a BMW garage with a 2 year warranty and even for less if you went the private route.

Here's one with full leather interior etc but smaller wheels for over 2 grand cheaper but with a 2 year BMW warranty.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320d-Edi/201217207963848/advert?channel=CARS

He could also go the 520D route :) both are around the same price.

In fairness the OP posted an E92 MSport with xenon, bluetooth, heated leather etc and you posted an E90 SE. Hardily comparable cars imho.

Anyway OP, things i would look out for :

Service History - make sure it had regular oil changes.
    Turbo breather filter isint as much a problem on these but if it hasnt been changed by 60k, then i would change it to be on the safe side. Swirl flaps are not an issue i believe on these either.

check general condition as you normally would, make sure all extras such as the heated seat work, check air con that its freezing.
    the 19" 225M wheels are prone to cracking, not every set does, and saying that i'd avoid any car with them is a bit silly imo, especially if the rest of the car fits the bill perfect. double check each wheel one by one, be honest with the dealer and tell him you want to see it on a ramp and check the inside for welds, minor cracks.

then obviously do your homework for finance, crash damage etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

kceire wrote: »
    In fairness the OP posted an E92 MSport with xenon, bluetooth, heated leather etc and you posted an E90 SE. Hardily comparable cars imho.

Oh I know..but I was just throwing examples out there..He should be able to get a similar car from BMW with a 2 yr warranty for that price ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

There was one there in Dunshaughlin for 20k op the car dealership after the Campus garage 08 aswell dunno if its still there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

the 19" 225M wheels are prone to cracking, not every set does, and saying that i'd avoid any car with them is a bit silly imo, especially if the rest of the car fits the bill perfect. double check each wheel one by one, be honest with the dealer and tell him you want to see it on a ramp and check the inside for welds, minor cracks.
    Wheels can be changed, but a car with ones that destroy the ride and are prone to cracking needs to be cheaper to reflect this.

Blazer wrote: »
    Oh I know..but I was just throwing examples out there..He should be able to get a similar car from BMW with a 2 yr warranty for that price ..

lowest price E92 MSport on www.bmw.ie is : http://www.bmw.ie/ie/en/usedvehicles/2010/overview.html
    Anan1 wrote: »
    Wheels can be changed, but a car with ones that destroy the ride and are prone to cracking needs to be cheaper to reflect this.

yeah thats fair enough, but maybe a deal can be agreed with the dealer?
    the 225M wheels are the best available for the E92, outside of the 313 Performance wheels, but putting non-RFT on them helps alot too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Lads, imo it is pointless recommending a E90/E60 saloon car to someone who is looking at buying a coupe. Might as well recommend them an estate or SUV also.

Imo that car is expensive for the year, it is a nice colour combo but this may or may not appeal to everyone. Similar spec 2009 model being sold privately for around the same money:

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201208207032637

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

Seems like a lot of money for a 4 year old car with nearly 100k KM on the clock. Some nice spec like xenon, iPod connection and heated seats but not much to write home about. I'd at least be hoping for inbuilt Nav for that kind of money.

Put the 11 grand toward tax, fuel and a few years worth of holidays

100k km is hardy big mileage for a 4 year old diesel car. That is only 25k km per year or just over 15k miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Op, does your mates mileage warrant a diesel? secondly that is one gorgeous car... fantastic color combo IMO. Op let me be quite clear here, the biggest cost by a mile is going to be the depreciation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

Has you friend checked out servicing cost's? (assuming he will get a main dealer to service it) A lad I know working in a main BMW dealer is a service advisor and regularly get's customer's giving out yards to him when they get the bill after a routine service, they enjoy the prestige of buying the badge but give little thought to running cost's. (He drives a corolla). Best of luck.

Main dealer labour prices for most brands are off the scale. This is why you find a decent indy preferably a BMW indy in this case. Most consumable parts on my previous Volvo S40 were more expensive than on my current 3 Series.

i wouldnt use a main dealer for anything other than the oil and oil filter change for a car of that value (just to get the stamp in the book). there are excellent independent bmw specialists around charging far less... and for most jobs you don't even need a specialist, i.e. the normal wear and tear items, i had the rear discs, pads and sensors replaced on my E46 for €60!

bazz26 wrote: »
    100k km is hardy big mileage for a 4 year old diesel car. That is only 25k km per year or just over 15k miles.

True enough, It's not too bad when you divide it out. But still, this is a lot of dough for a 4 year old motor. Especially when you can save 10k by stepping back a year

GavMan wrote: »
    True enough, It's not too bad when you divide it out. But still, this is a lot of dough for a 4 year old motor. Especially when you can save 10k by stepping back a year

The reason for the 10k difference is the difference in tax between a 08 v 07 and petrol v diesel. Anyhow there are cheaper 08 examples out there than the one the OP's friend is looking at.

bazz26 wrote: »
    The reason for the 10k difference is the difference in tax between a 08 v 07 and petrol v diesel. Anyhow there are cheaper 08 examples out there than the one the OP's friend is looking at.

I'm aware of the reasons. It's a complete distortion. Would take the guts of 10 years to claw back the outlay of tax savings

Can you tell me where your getting these prices from?
    Here is the cheapist 320d MSport E92 coupe for sale in the 2007 brtacket at 21k - http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-D-E9/201216207798485/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭declan_8

Something similiar to the original post only 3K cheaper :D and less miles

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/D-E92-M-/201221208356758/advert?channel=CARS
    Can you tell me where your getting these prices from?
    Here is the cheapist 320d MSport E92 coupe for sale in the 2007 brtacket at 21k - http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-D-E9/201216207798485/advert?channel=CARS

declan_8 wrote: »

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/D-E92-M-/201221208356758/advert?channel=CARS/

Missing the Dakota leather heated seats and factory bluetooth though but the first one is still overpriced even at that.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

it's a nice car but overpriced, a year ago the best trade in you would get on that car would have been 20/21. Now it is probably 17/18. So you would hope to be getting one for 20/21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I'm aware of the reasons. It's a complete distortion. Would take the guts of 10 years to claw back the outlay of tax savings

Especially as the chances are that when the next budget comes around the tax bands will be massively hiked up again for the low emissions bands!

declan_8 wrote: »

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/D-E92-M-/201221208356758/advert?channel=CARS

yes thats an 08, i was specifically asking the poster where he seen 2007 versions for 10k cheaper.

here are 2 for 8k cheaper...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-D-M-/201224208630874/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-D-E9/201213207500613/advert?channel=CARS

not sure if the bottom one is still available... they both have highish miles though and the top one isnt leather...

Idbatterim wrote: »
    here are 2 for 8k cheaper...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-D-M-/201224208630874/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/320-D-E9/201213207500613/advert?channel=CARS

not sure if the bottom one is still available... they both have highish miles though and the top one isnt leather...

Both nice cars, and would be good prices if they checked out.
    I specifically didnt post private sales as the OP wanted dealer cars and 2 year warranties.

I can throw a bomb in there if he wanted to go private.....i was offered a 2008 320d MSport last month for under 14k ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Both nice cars, and would be good prices if they checked out.
    I specifically didnt post private sales as the OP wanted dealer cars and 2 year warranties.

I can throw a bomb in there if he wanted to go private.....i was offered a 2008 320d MSport last month for under 14k ;)

What was wrong with it?

pred racer wrote: »
    What was wrong with it?

Nothing, just not what i was looking for at the time, or even this time. i had just sold my E39, and couldnt justify the loan to buy it, although i could of bought and sold a few months later but i need a 4 door for the young kceire and the coupe is just too much hassle for that if im honest.

I ended up with an E60 Msport.

He ended up selling it back into BMW as they were doing a drive for cars under 5 years ole with under 100k on them, thats why he offered it to me at that price, as thats what Duffys offered to pay him cash for it.

He's in Poland at the moment ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Your friend should go to the UK and buy one - he'd save a fortune even with the crappy exchange rate!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

He ended up selling it back into BMW as they were doing a drive for cars under 5 years ole with under 100k on them, thats why he offered it to me at that price, as thats what Duffys offered to pay him cash for it.

He's in Poland at the moment ;)

Wow, what would they have it on the sales floor for?

Hows the 520 working out. I may need to replace one of our cars soon and the 2006 models I am looking at the moment look tempting.