Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A collaborative project...?

• 13-06-2012 9:17pm
    Site Banned Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭

Just throwing this out there as it's come into my head. Would anyone else be interested in being involved in a conspiracy type blog? Involvement would be as little or as much as you wanted yourself. There are lots of interesting people here with interesting ideas and opinions with good levels of knowledge in niche areas. Run2dahills knows more about Police State-1984 type stuff than anyone that I know of for example.

I'm not exactly sure how it would work, if at all. I suppose something along the lines of Indymedia where people are free to publish whatever they want as long as it's not race-baiting, homophobic etc. but otherwise there would be no set theme or editorial policy.

Any comments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

I suppose something along the lines of Indymedia where people are free to publish whatever they want as long as it's not race-baiting, homophobic etc. but otherwise there would be no set theme or editorial policy.

Any comments?
    Does Indymedia not fit the bill already BB? I'd be surprised if there wasn't a pre-existing blog for this sort of stuff out there somewhere.

• Site Banned Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭Brown Bomber

Does Indymedia not fit the bill already BB? I'd be surprised if there wasn't a pre-existing blog for this sort of stuff out there somewhere.
    Not really. Indymedia focuses on news. This ideally would focus on conspiracy theories which involve the past, present and future & of course forum users from here if anyone is interested.

Not really. Indymedia focuses on news. This ideally would focus on conspiracy theories which involve the past, present and future.
    I'd imagine setting up a blog would be a piece of cake - attracting participants would be the tricky part.

Speak for yourself, I'm with the unabomber when it comes to technology :pac: but that's the beauty of working together, I'm sure different people have different skills that we could pool together - technology, layout, design etc. For my part I have a degree in Journalism so I should in theory be able to cobble a few words together if I put my mind to it.

I do get that it would be hard to get people involved though, but it's just as easy as opening a thread here, or posting a youtube video that you found interesting or whatever.

Speak for yourself, I'm with the unabomber when it comes to technology :pac:

You can start by following the steps here - it's really easy. Blogger seems as good a host as any, to start off with at least. If it doesn't allow you to set up the sort of blog you have in mind, I'm sure someone on Boards.ie will be able to help you find a host/system that does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Daithi 1

I think it's a groovy idea !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Hmm, a closed platform where only sanctioned people may post.... wonder what failed idea that bears resemblance to,

Yes, admittedly it is a close platform. To "people".
    where people are free to publish whatever they want
    Sorry if that's not PC enough for you.

Daithi 1 wrote: »
    I think it's a groovy idea !
    I think you're groovy :D

You can start by following the steps here - it's really easy. Blogger seems as good a host as any, to start off with at least. If it doesn't allow you to set up the sort of blog you have in mind, I'm sure someone on Boards.ie will be able to help you find a host/system that does.
    babysteps, monty...babysteps. Thanks for the tips though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Sorry if that's not PC enough for you.

Like a lot of people who use the term "PC " as a pejorative, you've no idea what you're on about.
    Sadly.

Less than surprising is that you pretend this will be some sort of amazingly free platform. Do you promise that those who disagree with the conclusions drawn by articles will be allowed to tear into those posts?
    Because this is actually the crux of the matter.

If the answer is yes, what is wrong with here (the adherence to a rule of be civil no withstanding) if not, what is the difference between that and a thousand other blogs where dissent is the hallmark of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

As the saying goes Bomber, "Build it, an they will come".

studiorat wrote: »
    As the saying goes Bomber, "Build it, an they will come".
    I suppose I could but ideally I'd like to make the decisions from the ground up as a collective.

Less than surprising is that you pretend this will be some sort of amazingly free platform. Do you promise that those who disagree with the conclusions drawn by articles will be allowed to tear into those posts?
    Because this is actually the crux of the matter.
    Ideally yes, provided it doesn't become the focal point.

Hmm...thinking a bit more about this, you could have something like a page that outlines the CT claim, then subsections outlining the 'for' and 'against' case. If posters weren't directly addressing each other, then a lot of the bile that creeps in here might be avoided. A lot of the time it probably arises from people reading a tone in a post that isn't there (or isn't intended to be there).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭enno99

sounds like a good idea

could turn out to be a good resource for people on both sides of the fence who want to learn more about a subject without having to wade through a lot of bickering

enno99 wrote: »
    sounds like a good idea

could turn out to be a good resource for people on both sides of the fence who want to learn more about a subject without having to wade through a lot of bickering
    Yup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Channel Zero

Ya count me in.

sounds like a good idea

Exactly. And it could be a resource for people who are turned off by the overt hostility here regardless of it's cause and for the silent majority who read posts here but are too nervous to be involved because they don't want to leave themselves vulnerable by expressing their beliefs. I used to be one of those.

I am hoping that that you would consider being involved. I think you a great knack for researching and digging out obscure details that are interesting.

Ya count me in.

Nice one! One of the best, was hoping so!

Hmm...thinking a bit more about this, you could have something like a page that outlines the CT claim, then subsections outlining the 'for' and 'against' case. If posters weren't directly addressing each other, then a lot of the bile that creeps in here might be avoided. A lot of the time it probably arises from people reading a tone in a post that isn't there (or isn't intended to be there).
    I like this idea. Could definitely work. I mean, i would find it interesting to read the end product at least.

Exactly. And it could be a resource for people who are turned off by the overt hostility here regardless of it's cause and for the silent majority who read posts here but are too nervous to be involved because they don't want to leave themselves vulnerable by expressing their beliefs. I used to be one of those.

I am hoping that that you would consider being involved. I think you a great knack for researching and digging out obscure details that are interesting.

Thats nice of you to say BB thanks for the invite I would be delighted to be involved and contribute in any way you think might be useful

Group hug !! :D

Thats nice of you to say BB thanks for the invite I would be delighted to be involved and contribute in any way you think might be useful
    Good man enno. I've been checking it out and wordpress allows multiple users/contributors on a single account. So stay tuned...
    Group hug !!
    feck off :D it's better than arguing. So Daithi, do you wanna use your talents and throw together some kind of banner or whatever they're called?

Good man enno. I've been checking it out and wordpress allows multiple users/contributors on a single account. So stay tuned...

feck off :D it's better than arguing. So Daithi, do you wanna use your talents and throw together some kind of banner or whatever they're called?

I'd love to. Give me some specifics and dimensions and I'll throw something together.

How did you know I had talents ? :)

I'd love to. Give me some specifics and dimensions and I'll throw something together.

How did you know I had talents ? :)

Cheers! It was the invitation to Bilderberg you posted, or that event that they dance around an owl that I can't remember the name of.

I knew you didn't really get invited. You have to get up early in the morning to catch me out.

This little beauty ? :D

2aexsf7.jpg

This little beauty ? :D

Yeah that's the one. Genius like that is hard to forget.

Hurray!biggrin.gif

No more crying myself to sleep at night after being through the mill with those nasty evil sceptics. pacman.gif

But seriously, if it does get off the ground, i'll still check in here just as much, as i sort of like the place and the banter.

Hurray!biggrin.gif

No more crying myself to sleep at night after being through the mill with those nasty evil sceptics. pacman.gif

But seriously, if it does get off the ground, i'll still check in here just as much, as i sort of like the place and the banter.

would it be better if the theory was trashed out here first we all know we have posted stuff that has been a little shakey in parts at times

constructive criticism from your own side as well as the other will keep the blog a bit more honest

Then maybe some of you guys with the skills to edit out the rubbish would put it up on the page

I just think the information would be a bit more credible it went through the mill here first

Just a thought

Okay,

I've been messing around with wordpress and I've set up a test site
    http://testing1testing123.wordpress.com/

If you prefer to add comments there by all means go ahead

And I've figured out how to add new administrators to the site, who will have the same access as whomever sets it up

What ya'll need to do is set a wordpress account here:
    https://en.wordpress.com/signup/?user=1

Then PM me your new username and then I shall invite you to be an admin. All are welcome.

You will receive the invitation and will need to accept through the email account you setup your wordpress account with.

This is done through wordpress though. I won't have access to your email address.

would it be better if the theory was trashed out here first we all know we have posted stuff that has been a little shakey in parts at times

constructive criticism from your own side as well as the other will keep the blog a bit more honest

Then maybe some of you guys with the skills to edit out the rubbish would put it up on the page

I just think the information would be a bit more credible it went through the mill here first

Just a thought

Sounds good to me, thanks for the input. All ideas are welcomed. There's nothing off the table at the moment.

What's the craic with the blog? Any news on when it's kicking off?

Have a topic ready to go anyway. Gonna stick it on here aswell, probably later in the week when i have more time.

Hiya cz _ you.LL this msg. Might look a bit weird cost I'm writing on a poxy phone and am old. Sorry I've. Been lax lately., my little. Bro is over visiting for midsommar and I'm. Trying to take good care of him. I'm going fishing in Finland. Early in the morning and will in the middle of nowhere. There is honestly more chance of getting. Killed by a bear than getting a network. Signal. But I'm still dead keen and will be back tomorrow evening God willing and will try to sort something. Out.

Sweet. Thanks for getting back. Sure there's no hurry. Enjoy!

Right,

Sorry about all my procrastination. I've finally got my act together to cobble something together.

http://theflowerthrowers.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/madhi-al-harati-irish-rebel/

I was trying to avoid going down well trodden paths so I attempted to shine some light on the lesser known.

I was going to put it on the test site but couldn't remember my password. :o
    So I set up a new blog. The name, look etc are basically random and I'd still like to decide these things together if you's are still willing.

I know theflowerthrowers sounds a bit feminine but I had this in mind by banksy
    flower_thrower.jpg

It looks great Bomber! Fair play to ya for sorting it out.

Cool name aswell. Like the Banksy reference. There's a lot to be said for more femininity in these times. (as i like to remind my husband.:))

It looks great Bomber! Fair play to ya for sorting it out.

Cool name aswell. Like the Banksy reference. There's a lot to be said for more femininity in these times. (as i like to remind my husband.:))
    Cheers Mrs Zero! :D We'll see how it goes...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Good work. You'll find you get into the swing of things quickly enough. The important thing is to try and keep momentum and keep posting to keep people coming back. That and remembering to clear out all the spam comments from people who, even though they promise sex, only want your credit card details. :(

humanji wrote: »
    Good work. You'll find you get into the swing of things quickly enough. The important thing is to try and keep momentum and keep posting to keep people coming back. That and remembering to clear out all the spam comments from people who, even though they promise sex, only want your credit card details. :(

Cheers Humanji, appreciate the tip though it's a pain in the arse to write the posts, too much like actual work :D

I have tried to blog more but I keep writing about the same chap who I don't really have anything against for some reason.

If anyones interested it can be read here - http://theflowerthrowers.wordpress.com/

Great blog so far BB. You're a hard act to follow! Well researched, with the links and all:). Impressive.

Am thinking about putting something together at some stage anyway mate. Just plucking up the courage here.:D

Great blog so far BB. You're a hard act to follow! Well researched, with the links and all:). Impressive.

Am thinking about putting something together at some stage anyway mate. Just plucking up the courage here.:D

Cheers, it's a bit rough round the edges. should really proof read etc I suppose.

I look forward to seeing what you come up with. I'll need to add you as an administrator so i need you take pm me a wordpress

Which reminds me. Enno, sorry I haven't reinstated you. I'll send the invite now.

And CZ, just so you know and if anyone else wants in that your email address becomes visible to everyone else involved. So if you don't want anyone to know setup a new email.

That looks excellent

Great research and well put together