Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

suspiciously behaving lads - report or not?

• 13-06-2012 10:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭

Hi All,

I was walking down to the Square in Tallaght this morning when I saw a grey Transit van stop at the car park of Tallaght stadium.
    A young lad jumped out of the van and over a fence where he pulled what looked like a kids bike from the bushes. So far this was a bit odd but there a plenty of trashed and discarded kids bikes lying around in parks.
    He handed the bike to the driver who got out of the van as well and went back to pick up another kids bike. Now that would be a coincidence finding two bike conveniently stashed in the bushes for the picking.
    It was at 6.15 in the morning and the guys did not seem to look for the bikes but to know exactly where to get them which makes me believe they could well have been nicked the night before and stashed there for later pickup.
    Should I report this to the guards? I have the van's license plate but would they even bother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Report it, if the van gets reported a few times they will know something is up and they may do something about it. It won't do any harm to report it anyways, if they're not guilty nothing will happen and if they are there's a chance they will get what they deserve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yeah definitley report it. Its unlikely to be innocent behaviour at that time of the morning and we all know what members of the community are most likely to be driving vans at that time of the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

morninwood wrote: »
    Hi All,

I was walking down to the Square in Tallaght this morning when I saw a grey Transit van stop at the car park of Tallaght stadium.
    A young lad jumped out of the van and over a fence where he pulled what looked like a kids bike from the bushes. So far this was a bit odd but there a plenty of trashed and discarded kids bikes lying around in parks.
    He handed the bike to the driver who got out of the van as well and went back to pick up another kids bike. Now that would be a coincidence finding two bike conveniently stashed in the bushes for the picking.
    It was at 6.15 in the morning and the guys did not seem to look for the bikes but to know exactly where to get them which makes me believe they could well have been nicked the night before and stashed there for later pickup.
    Should I report this to the guards? I have the van's license plate but would they even bother?

Report it. Some kids might get their bikes back if you do.

What i find more worrying than a probable theft, is the fact that you have to ask us what you should do.
    Even if it was just 2 lads who prefer to get up at 6 in the morning and collect discarded bikes and help make Tallaght a better place, instead of lying in bed waiting for the Dole call, what harm would it do to report it to the Gardai.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

the bikes could very easily have been storage for drugs (although very unlikely)

is there much of a market for secondhand kids bikes ? ...suppose €30-50quid each one ....if you can "find" a good number of them - might be worth it for some criminal.

Report it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

CJC999 wrote: »
    we all know what members of the community are most likely to be driving vans at that time of the morning.

Builders? Tradesmen? County council workers? Gardeners? Delivery men? Grocers? These are all examples of people in your neighbourhood/community (who may drive vans).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭spacecookie555

morninwood wrote: »
    Hi All,

Id say report it if theyre not doing anything wrong they have nothing to worry about and most people would just laugh it off if theyre genuine.
    Someone reported me once, I used to work in customer care and couldnt find a house so I kept driving up and down a road and someone got scared and rang the guards, I found it all very funny as I am a 5foot 7 small enough girl and I was driving a micra at the time, I also had plaits in my hair that day so how I looked that scary is beyond me but I didnt mind at all, like I said if youve done nothing wrong you wont mind. Better safe than sorry!

Id say report it if theyre not doing anything wrong they have nothing to worry about and most people would just laugh it off if theyre genuine.
    Someone reported me once, I used to work in customer care and couldnt find a house so I kept driving up and down a road and someone got scared and rang the guards, I found it all very funny as I am a 5foot 7 small enough girl and I was driving a micra at the time, I also had plaits in my hair that day so how I looked that scary is beyond me but I didnt mind at all, like I said if youve done nothing wrong you wont mind. Better safe than sorry!

Now that is odd, maybe they thought you were a new breed of call girl.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Definitely report it, if you're not prepared to give your name you can call the Garda Confidential line : 1 800 666 111

This is just a voice mail box where you can leave anonymous information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭farmerval

Those bikes were almostb certainly stolen. Anything stolen nowadays is stashed somewhere "neutral" and however purchases it collects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

What :confused:

Thats BS. If you saw something you thought was suspicious, report it. The guards may pull it over. If they have stolen bikes, they may still be in the van, no harm in letting the guards check that out.

Edit: The poster I was replying to, deleted their post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

If people don't report stuff like this, the Gardaí can't follow up on it and nothing gets done.

It's always worth reporting it, even if it turns out to be totally innocent, at least they get a chance to check. There's probably some CCTV around there or traffic cams they can check and ID the van quite easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭droidus

PCPhoto wrote: »
    the bikes could very easily have been storage for drugs (although very unlikely)

Pffsstt! Everyone knows they use mandrills these days.