Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinkin in the airport

• 12-06-2012 2:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭rodrob111

Have a flight to Gdansk via Eindhoven at half 7 on my own.

Anyone have any craic drinkin on their own in the airport?

Already checked and bars are open from 5.30am
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Its fairly dodgy if you're drinking alone. don't want to get involved in some fatal **** accident now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Just do it. It's not like you'll be getting pissed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

In some airports it's illegal to drink on your own. You have to prove you're with someone and that you've know them for at least 4 years. / bulls*it fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Don't ever do anything on your own, go to the cinema, have a pint.

People will judge you and you can't be having that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Don't get too pissed OP, they can refuse to let you on the flight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

But remember it is way more fun being the drunk bastard on the plane, instead of listening to the drunk bastard on the plane, unless they have to have you restrained, as THAT day will just keep getting worse and worse, ending in you being thankful for a bit of peace and quiet in your cell.

I'll be checking the news later OP

I expect to read about a drunk going mental on a flight and it had to be diverted

Would make a great thread :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

constantly play with your phone, that way you'll look like you're impatiently waiting for someone to turn up and that makes it ok to have a pint on yer own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I've never drank in an airport or on the plane. Both seem pointless and drinking in the airport is expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I've never drank in an airport or on the plane. Both seem pointless and drinking in the airport is expensive.
    Not overly expensive if you buy a naggin and bottle of coke or a few cans in the duty free shop :)
    Do your drinking now OP, Dublin airport isnt amazing but eindhoven airport is awful and tiny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I'll be checking the news later OP

I expect to read about a drunk going mental on a flight and it had to be diverted

Would make a great thread :cool:

Lets hope he doesn't take any aspirin :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Ms.M

Lots of people have a drink or two on their own to calm their nerves if they're scared of flying...
    Not that weird.
    Don't think it would be much craic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

i usually have to be poured on to a plane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Pints in the airport are the worst pints you will ever be served.
    Stick to gin & tonics.

(Should that be gins and tonic?)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Bell Butter

It's a bit early for a pint, you'll be very tired by the time you get to gdansk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,234 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Gave it up a long time ago, sitting on a plane, waiting to take off with seat belt on and bursting to do a pi55 is my idea of torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

No0b - Real pros bring naggins to the airport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭rgmmg

Oranage2 wrote: »
    No0b - Real pros bring naggins to the airport!

100ml is all you can bring in one bottle - think a naggin is 200ml so how'd you get it through security? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Yeah I'd leave it off for being too early. Ye'd be shattered when you arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

rgmmg wrote: »
    100ml is all you can bring in one bottle - think a naggin is 200ml so how'd you get it through security? :D
    Bring two bottles of 100ml filled with naggin juice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

OldGoat wrote: »
    Stick to gin & tonics.

G&Ts, OldGoat its G&Ts

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Stick to gin & tonics.

...'Gins and Tonics' I think is the right expression (open to be wrong). :)

If your just talking about the singular, it would be "Stick to the gin and tonic".

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Buy yourself a newspaper/magazine and enjoy your pint, fcuk what anyone else thinks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Biggins wrote: »
    ...'Gins and Tonics' I think is the right expression (open to be wrong). :)

If your just talking about the singular, it would be "Stick to the gin and tonic".
    Pfft, who drinks singular measures of gin? :cool:

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Pfft, who drinks singular measures of gin? :cool:

Yes I do ............. but two at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Jasus :rolleyes:

Great Craic.
    If you see any girls in there alone, you gotta try "So, do you come here often?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭chrismon

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Great Craic.
    If you see any girls in there alone, you gotta try "So, do you come here often?"

I always think its funny seeing fellas chatting up barmaids in airports.
    Not exactly going to bump into them unless your a frequent flier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,674 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Great Craic.

...especially if they are stewardesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

xzanti wrote: »
    Buy yourself a newspaper/magazine and enjoy your pint, fcuk what anyone else thinks..

I always do that. Fly home each year and have multiple stops for a few hours.

After I do my walk around the stores its time to hit the bar, have 3-4 pints over maybe 2hrs and some food. Relax and read.
    Always make sure I stop 30min before I head to the gate, don't want to have to p!ss before the flight or when taking off. Worst time.

i always brought a book and had a coffee and breakfast/snack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

bluewolf wrote: »
    i always brought a book and had a coffee and breakfast/snack

Boooorrrrring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I got my degree results while waiting alone for a connecting flight in Chicago. Had a shot of rum and a pint of ale to celebrate, nobody seemed to care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

There's something a bit naff about gangs of people skulling pints at the airport before they go on their holidays. Like they're all trying to prove what great craic they're having already or something. As if they won't be getting enough booze for the coming week. Single people killing the time with a book and a pint is a bit less desperate looking IMO.

I wouldn't touch booze before flying anyway. I'd prefer to keep my wits about me in case the d&mn thing fell out of the sky and I had to tread water for 36 hours before the Irish Coastguard found me. Or something. For me alcohol and confined spaces are not a good match either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I wouldn't touch booze before flying anyway. I'd prefer to keep my wits about me in case the d&mn thing fell out of the sky and I had to tread water for 36 hours before the Irish Coastguard found me. Or something. For me alcohol and confined spaces are not a good match either way.

If I was falling from 20,000-30,000ft to the ocean I'd like to have a few in me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

constantly play with your phone, that way you'll look like you're impatiently waiting for someone to turn up and that makes it ok to have a pint on yer own
    I buy a second pint and pretend I'm a raging alcoholic.

I'd prefer to keep my wits about me in case the d&mn thing fell out of the sky and I had to tread water for 36 hours before the Irish Coastguard found me. Or something. For me alcohol and confined spaces are not a good match either way.

Wasn't there a chef on the Titanic who survived the cold water as he was slugging brandy all evening.
    Alcohol meant he didn't feel the cold. Most everyone else died but he did not

So Teyla, to avoid hypothermia you want to be locked when you land in the cold water :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Rabies/mikemac - yis are ruining this for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭brokenhinge

I used to always sneer at people drinking on the plane, until some auld lad kept buying me drinks a few months ago.

I only ever fly drunk now, it's fantastic, journey ****ing shoots by. Buy a nagin in the airport and a can of coke on the plane.

I'm fairly functional when drunk, so can still find my way to the hotel. If you're useless, I'd be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Bring a copy of Finnegans Wake with you and read it with your pint. People will stare at your oblivious to the pint and think you're mad for trying to read it so early in the morning!

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Wasn't there a chef on the Titanic who survived the cold water as he was slugging brandy all evening.
    Alcohol meant he didn't feel the cold. Most everyone else died but he did not
    Not felling cold wouldn't mean your not actually getting cold. I'd find that hard to believe, a shot of brandy only helps you deal with the cold psychologically. I'm pretty sure that biologically it's not helping you at all, making things worse if anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

When you're in an airport bar you have better things to be worrying about than someone who's having a pint alone.

Like what will happen if the condoms burst.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Not felling cold wouldn't mean your not actually getting cold. I'd find that hard to believe, a shot of brandy only helps you deal with the cold psychologically. I'm pretty sure that biologically it's not helping you at all, making things worse if anything.

Being a mod of zombie survival, I bow to your superior knowledge Sir :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

ScumLord wrote: »

Linky to Titanic chef here : http://www.titanicuniverse.com/titanic-survivor-charles-joughin/1349

My hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Try not to miss the flight or get kicked off it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Rud

xzanti wrote: »

Exactly,work away and do what you want.Noone gives a crap if you drink on your own.It's noones buisness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Being drunk will make you lose heat faster. Alcohol dilates blood vessels.
    The bodies reaction to cold is to restrict blood flow to the extremities where heat would be lost. Alcohol undoes this effect. The guy was lucky. I'm not saying I'd do differently but really...

A beer in the airport is one of the nicest beers there is. Do it OP!