Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MG ZT 2.5 engine issue

• 10-06-2012 2:55am

Nasty noise off the ZT, sounds like a Ka :(

th_KV6rattle001.jpg

Any thoughts ? It increase with revs.

I'm au fait with internet search engines so no need for anyone to go googling for ideas....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

It sounds like top end, camshaft maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

Broken valve spring bucket if these aren't hydraulic ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Presumably you've checked the oil level first?:P

It sounds tappety so possibly a sticking tappet(s) or some blocked oil channels etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Is there a chance one of the timing belts has slipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I'd just keep driving it until it stops, cost of repairs is likely to outweigh cost of replacement minus scrap value?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Injectors can often make noises like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭pheelay

Could be a failed/failing plenum as that's often the cause of rattles on the KV6. It's very specific to the KV6 so a search on one of the MGR specialist forums would give ya better results.

Many thanks for all of the replies and for taking the time to listen folks. More than a few of ye are on the money me thinks.

That noise started towards the end of 2011 and my thoughts were very much along the lines of Colm's suggestion, that was after the initial wtf of course.

I was thinking it was valvetrain related so feared something was contacting something else. I discounted the inlet manifold as the noise seemed to be connected to engine revs, the manifold noise is very eratic and more or a clacking than a defined tap.

I posted the same video on a Rover site I'm on for a number of years, there were the manifold suggestions (even by lads who have had KV6s with clattery manifolds) but many of the views were that it was a stuck tappet and that a flush might be worth a try.

Now when I bought the car it was overdue an oil change so that made sense to a degree to me, I'm not overly keen on the idea of using engine flushes though so decided to do an oil change, except to use diesel engine oil rather than petrol engine oil, lots of folks recommend that as a gentle and slow flush as there are allegedly more detergents and shtuff like that in diesel engine oil. Over the years I have done that on 2 or 3 petrol cars that I bought which had signs of being overdue an oil change.

So back in late January I did that but the tapping continued :(
    On the silver lining side the car seemed fine otherwise and from the inside with the windows up it was barely audible.

Than on Saturday the noise was no more :)

So it looks like it was perhaps a stuck tappet that the diesel engine oil sorted after a few thousand miles. Apologies for the slightly deceptive thread but I thought it might be interesting. A lad on the Rover forum is still maintaining it's the manifold :pac:

I'm going to drain out the oil at the weekend and lash in fresh stuff for a few hundred / thousand miles before changing it again soon after just for completeness.

New video of it without the tap tap tap...

th_001-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Sneaky bastard!

Thats brilliant:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Now that's a result! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Trying to find out who hasn't a notion around here? Good one :pac:

I reckon 'twas defo a stuck tappet, considering the replies from both here and the Rover many very knowledgeable folk were all suggesting the same.

In real life it wasn't that bad to be fair but it would still annoy the feck out of you when you know it shouldn't sound like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Do we get any prizes?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭pheelay

Hilarious. I was looking for a reply from you RJ before I posted. Didn't notice you were OP! Sounds all smooth now. Glad it's sorted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

I have the same noise on mine RJ, goes away when oil gets up to temp and was significantly alleviated by changing the oil. Might try your diesel oil trick and see if it fixes it completely!

Tragedy wrote: »
    I have the same noise on mine RJ, goes away when oil gets up to temp and was significantly alleviated by changing the oil. Might try your diesel oil trick and see if it fixes it completely!

Only seeing this now.
    With hindsight I'd have used quarter to half a can of engine flush :)
    It took a few thousand miles for the diesel trick to work, not exactly a speedy fix. Although it was there for months before I did anything so that wouldn't have helped.

Some folks swear by a drop of power steering fluid but I don't have the balls to try that, 'tis meant to be a harsh enough flush.