Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

me new pup.. black lab "jimbo"

• 10-06-2012 12:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭

nothing really to show from him yet but he's adorable, he'll be me pet/companion/guard dog and hunting buddy... hes 8 weeks old, just got him today, im holding him here at home for next 3 weeks get him used to me, then a mate is training him (and me) for the next lock of months, he might even be ready for last month of the season, but hell be right for next year anyhow, and the time he's away gettin training will give me loads of time to build the hilton of dog runs!! and apart from the hunting, am lookin forward to havin the craic with him around the place!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 decoyer

Alittle cracker there mate ! Ive got 3 Black Labs all fully trained and wouldnt have anything else,Years of great fun (and frustration) ahead for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

flanum wrote: »
    nothing really to show from him yet but he's adorable, he'll be me pet/companion/guard dog and hunting buddy... hes 8 weeks old, just got him today, im holding him here at home for next 3 weeks get him used to me, then a mate is training him (and me) for the next lock of months, he might even be ready for last month of the season, but hell be right for next year anyhow, and the time he's away gettin training will give me loads of time to build the hilton of dog runs!! and apart from the hunting, am lookin forward to havin the craic with him around the place!

Best of luck with the pup ! If ya can at all you should keep it with you for 4 or 5 months all the training ya do in the first 4 months you could do your self easy and it gives your pup all the time it needs to know that your master !

Any idea of the background of the pup ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Best of luck with the pup ! If ya can at all you should keep it with you for 4 or 5 months all the training ya do in the first 4 months you could do your self easy and it gives your pup all the time it needs to know that your master !

Any idea of the background of the pup ?

Nice looking pup. Best of luck with him.

I'm with Trigger on this one. Without knowing your circumstances or telling you your business but holding him for 3 weeks won't make any difference only harder to hand him over & less work for your mate keeping a 8wk old.
    Would you not hold him for a couple of months & learn from your mate in the training sessions then bring him home again & reinforce the lessons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

i should have said, me mate lives fairly close, it kinda works out better for me at minute with work schedule/shiftwork etc for next 3 months, ill be with the lad for a lot of the training anyway, yer mans brother owns the father of the pup and another mate owns the bitch, both great workers, the lad im (lending) the pup to has trained several champion fields trials dogs, its a total hobby for him. he'll be training the pup and me .. and training me how to train the pup lol... dont worry lads im not "handing over" the pup, ill be seeing him every day anyway, just i cant do too much when im at work. thanks for comments.

Could I ask who training the dog for ya I know alot of the trailing boys , and still curious to the back round of pup for future reference , pm me if ya don't want to put it public

Regards paul

pm sent trigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 dclarke1977

best of luck wit new pup and maybe you could post up any hints or tips you pick up off your mate when training your pup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

nice pup:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i follow the trials and tests and what these labs can do when correctly trained is unreal .i really enjoy watching them and best of luck with him:D

i decided to do the training meself... lol at the "frustration... he's responding well to the long single whistle and sit command.. and the recall several whistles.. all is good... right now he's at my ankle chewing and going mental at the leg of the stool.. i picked up a good few tips from a few trainers.... the most of the baby pupy toys are going lost tomorrow, and a puppy dummy being got, and sticks and bones etc for him to chew, but no throwing of anything apart from the dummy . and no terrier shaking it to bits when he gets it.... am havin fierce craic trainin him, he's learnin me, and were both havin the craic.

I was always told when the dog is training you as well , your going in the right direction , never let the dog fail on a retrive. She mush understand that when you send her she knows that there something to be found .

For now bonding is the main thing . 2 or three retrives every second or third day , or ya will have a pup sick of dummys

Best of luck .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I love hearing about training stories. I'm glad to hear that you decided to train him yourself.
    Training a pup is one of those things that will have your patience tested at times but when things go well nothing will beat it. And when you are finished training and shoot your first bird over the dog it will be the best feeling knowing after the months of training that it has all paid off.

Same as Trigger just do two or three retrieves at the start of the session when the pup is fresh.

Keep us updated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

lovely pup and the best of luck to you both:D enjoy the triumphs and the frustations,when ye click its all worth it in the end:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

shouldnt start training him until hes about 8 months old .....hip problems , you could ruin your dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

any videos or pics of him now

im on my holidays for next ten days, so ill definitely get the camera for a new clip... best move i made was keepin him on myself... when he's good he's very very good... i have him now on a long whisltle he sits and stays while i throw the dummy into water/long grass, looks at me until i say go find... also comes back to me on recall whistle... this is on his good days round the lake etc, with no other distractions lol.. the first signs of other people/dogs etc he's away over to them tail wagging... he's the best lad ye could have about the place.. ye wanna see the welcome i get when i get home from work... im finishing off the pen hopefully tomorrow, ill post pics etc..... right now hes dragging the cat across the bedroom by the cats cheek and the cat loves it, they pretend fight all day long, and yet when i put on the wellies and the lead and whistle come out, my serious voice etc.. he's a different lad altogether. BEST DOG EVER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

and yet when i put on the wellies and the lead and whistle come out, my serious voice etc.. he's a different lad altogether. BEST DOG EVER!

It's amazing how they seem to know when it's doss time and when it's erious time. My lab bitch will stalk with me all day walking to heel without being told twice, stopping and staying still when I do and laying down when I do, yet as soon as I "throw my hat at it" and start walking back to the jeep she seems to know that she can have a run and a play and strech her legs! Always amazes me how intelligent they are.

yesterday.. his first retrieve on a real dead bird..... took him a few minutes and attempts up in the field .. he was a bit wary at first, didnt know what to make of the duck... a few throws later and he couldnt get enough....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Brian728

Hey Flanum, lovely dog and the very best of luck with him. I'm training my first Lab also, now 15 months old and going duck shooting for the first time this Saturday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭owelfisherman

nice pup there m8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Best of luck with jimbo lad!training me own lab at the min.learning from a dvd.harvey i think is the name of the fella.very good at it.very easy dog to train.keep us updated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

flanum

The best of luck with the pup.

Your money will be well spent with Eric's broadsheets IMO:http://www.premier-pages.co.uk/gundog/

Well he's fairly coming on... last friday he retrieved his first bird shot over him when we were out for a walk along a nearby lake.. a woody flapped out of the tree above us and i clipped it, it went into the water and flapped about, on command jimbo went in and brought it back tail waggin delighted......

Then to top the weekend off, today(sunday) i took him for a walk down to a nearby flooded drain, lo and behold a big mallard drake got up.. bang.. stone dead into the water... jimbo in like a shot and a 10/10 perfect retrieve. and on the way back he flushed 2 hen pheasents! He's only 5 months old!!!

jimboduck_zps1ac841bf.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

what a great feeling that is....