Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

meath gp

• 07-06-2012 10:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭

anyone know the route? any climbs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Credit to Mr Sherlock: http://www.strava.com/runs/sean-nolan-meath-gp-navan-leinster-ireland-718932

The climbs seem to get smaller the more times you go over them! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭vigorelli

That's the route, same as the Cycleways Cup.

Last year the A1/A2 race was shortened by a lap due to the weather. A1/A2 should be 4 laps, so around 150km.

I'm told there will be separate A3 and A4 races if enough people turn up. There's a also a Women's national league race. Underage races from 11.

Sign-on at the Rugby Club
    http://goo.gl/maps/6lSI

It's all in Campbell's weekend roundup! :)
    MEATH GRAND PRIX/SEAN NOLAN

It's only an hour from Dublin, but the Navan/Avonmore CC can be relied on to put on a top class programme any day of the week. This Sunday they have a full programme of activities from the underage right to the seniors in all categories. Putting the icing on he cake with a round of the ladies league. The Rugby Club will be the hub where everything will start cranking up for a day of racing in the environs of the Navan town from 9.30 in the morning.

They will have a senior 1 and 2 combined race over 150 kilometres and a 3 and 4 cat race this will be separated depending on the number that turn up but is likely to be two separate races of 2 laps each, there will also be a separate women’s race as part of the national league and the finish is in the usual place.

Sign on at Navan Rugby club, Navan Co. Meath from 10.30. Main race 150km. For details contact John Nolan 087-2238873 Children's racing is on the Cannistown circuit Navan outskirts at 11am. Main races start 1pm Slane Road, using Roadstone Slane, Woodtown, Cassidy, Wilkinstown, Kilberry, Gormanlough lap. The finish is on Proudstown Rd. The main race is (150km) and the supporting events are 90kms (A3) and 70kms for A4's. Also the Womens Commission are running an event which was only confirmed in the last day or so. That event has a schedule start of 1.10 over 84kms.

After the An Post Ras many of the A1's will face their counterparts as the season heads for the Nationals which will be held in Clonmel later in the month. Thankfully, some might say a race just short of 90 miles will certainly be an appetiser for the upcoming National Championships. The Swords Grand Prix threw up an interesting result last Sunday in Ballybough with An Post's Sean Kelly teams Ronan McLoughlin getting the verdict.

But, this Sunday McLoughlin is back on the European mainland. So, on last weekends showing it would be hard to oppose the likes of Aaron Buggle, Ryan Sherlock Craig Sweetman and Shane Baker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

So does anyone know if A4 starts after or before the main event? afternoon races are PITA, so much hanging around.

I presume it'll be A1/A2 off at 1pm, A3 at 1.05pm, A4 at 1.10pm, women after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Beware of the advertised distance in the A4 race. I rode the Cycleways Cup and it was two laps, coming out at over 80km. It was advertised as being less than that (maybe so as not to run foul of the max distance for A4s). One or two trusted their computers and thought they were much closer to the finish than they actually were.

I'm not sure how the A3 race can be 20k more than the A4 race if they start and finish in the same place. The lap is a lot longer than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Beware of the finish in this one - if it's the same as the Cycleways Cup then the finish isn't part of the lap. Caught a lot off guard (including myself).

Janey, that was a hectic one again. Very rolly, A3 bunch weren't letting any breaks go. Made a jab at about the 10km mark, as we were joining the circuit. Few lads came across, but it was short-lived. Another break went around the 30km mark, but chased down again. I went up the road again at the same spot as earlier, the 50km mark, stuck a bit longer, up the climb of the course. Different riders jumped across and others dropped back, but couldn't get something solid going before the bunch were upon us again.

There was a break of four for the last 15km, but it was swallowed up a hundred metres from the line. Thanks to the The Crunch for the finish line recce, had me prepared. But couldn't get up - had legs for a bit more, but positioned badly, lads in front of weren't shifting. Maybe 15th? No prizes anyway, just a workout. Long two days in the saddle, arse is killing me.

Anyone else make it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭patrick151

Savage day in the saddle. A4 started easy enough but on the drag attacks started flying, waited for one or two, which never amounted to anything then tried my luck. Opened up about 100/200m over the bunch and it seemed to stick there forever but just before i sat up the gap opened and we were away- i think 9 or 10 of us.
    Guys in the break worked great and we opened up about a minute and it stayed at roughly that for the whole lap. Second time up the drag i could see we had a few tired legs so as we crested i gave a dig and got it down to the magical six man break. We put the power down again and got the gap to 2 minutes coming into the last 15km.
    We stayed working together right into the closing KMs when the first attack came, I managed to chase it down and tried my luck passing the 1KM to go marker but blew up about 400m to go rolling in in 4th.

So that's 5 points in two weeks from 2 breaks so I'm happy. Massive respect for the guys in the bunch. They worked so well together. Thanks to Navan CC for a great race, were i not in a break for most of it I'd thank you for the longer A4 race(~82km).
    Great day of racing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭jimbo28

Ya that was a tough one...........not as tough as the race here in march, but tough goin all the same.Didnt know how i was gonna go today but was talkin to one of the swords lads at the start of the race and we were commenting on upgrade points,told him what i needed and he says "you'll be at the front so watching things?" Should have paid more heed to him!Was at the back of the race when i saw the very man attack, Thought about for a second and said i better cover this............or I wont see these boys for the day.Closed it down and then not long after we got very organised, everybody contributed well to the group and the gap just grew and grew.Was hard going at times and the hills on the second lap seemed to shed the group of the tired legs.We remained 6 strong all the way to the finish with no attacks until the last 1.5 km.Last outing here, I caught myself out terrible on that little hill to the finish line and ended up getting swamped and finishing bout 10th or 11th..............Not today........sat in and waited for the lads to start running out of steam and then kicked with about 100-150m to go, held off for first win of the season and secured my upgrade at last.Good safe days racing and fair play to the boys in the group.Cheers to the marshalls and organisers also.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Well done jimbo - looks like scratch for you in the Swords League on Wednesday;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭jimbo28

In tuam we have a saying beasty Ya.....steam!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Well done jimbo well over due,im grate at giving advice i wish some one would give me some,i started the attacks on the hilly bit but when the split came i was at the wrong end i seen jimbo going across tried to go with him but after my earlier efforts i blew 30m short,brake gone with me not in it
    Back in the bunch after the the panic settled a few of us got together and got the chase organised and in fairness to the 10 or so of us left we rode our nuts off i never missed a turn for 60k i dont think i ever rode my bike so hard,we lost sight of the brake we were just not driving hard enough
    A really good track well marshaled thanks to all i enjoyed my day im sure it will stand to me in the next few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

Well i decided i would venture up to Navan for the A3 race and i have to say what a negivtive day of racing very few attacks people just waiting for the sprint. only 4 attacks in the first 20k. Back to racing in Cork next week should make for a good weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭patrick151

How close was the A3? My dad snapped this just after the finish

7173789693_89ef065c81.jpg
    IMG_7417 by padddy151, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

Thanks to all in Navan today for a good well marshalled course. Junior races from 10am leading into senior races till 4.30pm (and the same thanks to Bray Wheelers yesterday) - it's a long day for volunteers.

Bigger bunch then yesterday with lots of very attentive riders making it very hard for any break to stick and so fair play and very hard luck to the 4 lads who had a chance in the last 10km - I tried to get away once or twice but hadn't a hope today - the lessons keep coming, road racing is a tough game and fair play to the lads who won that sprint, it ramped right up in the last km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭capnsantini

After a slow start to the A4 season looks like another break sticking in this one as well. Some familiar names in there to last week. Nice to see some consistently aggressive riding in the bunch. Hopefully you'll bring some of that style to the A3's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Great showing by Eoin Morton to win the A4 race in the Cycleways Cup and come back a few months later to (jointly) win the A3 race over the same course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 pmurp141

Well done jimbo well over due,im grate at giving advice i wish some one would give me some,i started the attacks on the hilly bit but when the split came i was at the wrong end i seen jimbo going across tried to go with him but after my earlier efforts i blew 30m short,brake gone with me not in it
    Back in the bunch after the the panic settled a few of us got together and got the chase organised and in fairness to the 10 or so of us left we rode our nuts off i never missed a turn for 60k i dont think i ever rode my bike so hard,we lost sight of the brake we were just not driving hard enough
    A really good track well marshaled thanks to all i enjoyed my day im sure it will stand to me in the next few weeks

was that the group with 2 swords guys, south dublin cc, i was the guy in the FDJ jersey and 101 planet x wheel, lost ye on to a cramp on one of those hills nearly got back on, did ye 3 stick together all the way home? sorry again for cutting you off that iem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pbull69

Peterx wrote: »
    Thanks to all in Navan today for a good well marshalled course. it's a long day for volunteers.

Bigger bunch then yesterday with lots of very attentive riders making it very hard for any break to stick and so fair play and very hard luck to the 4 lads who had a chance in the last 10km - I tried to get away once or twice but hadn't a hope today - the lessons keep coming, road racing is a tough game and fair play to the lads who won that sprint, it ramped right up in the last km.

So dissapointed on sun :(.... thought that breakaway was the one.... until the 400m mark when some dude in an unknown jersey landed at my shoulder, then suddenly we were swamped... Game up. Better luck nxt wk :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

pmurp141 wrote: »
    was that the group with 2 swords guys, south dublin cc, i was the guy in the FDJ jersey and 101 planet x wheel, lost ye on to a cramp on one of those hills nearly got back on, did ye 3 stick together all the way home? sorry again for cutting you off that iem
    well come to boards mate.it only looked like their was 2 of me with the amount of ridein i was doin i was in what was left of the a4 bunch about 15 of up with the lakeland boys sit in on the back what ever all that was about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 pmurp141

whoopsie, maybe i've the wrong group, sounds familiar to our chase group, only 5-6 of us willing to do the work to chase then on the start of the second lap, it was down to 4, think it was 2 swords guys, maybe buddies of yours, anyhow i cramped out, working hard and wasn't staying hydrated!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭sheepfield

well come to boards mate.it only looked like their was 2 of me with the amount of ridein i was doin i was in what was left of the a4 bunch about 15 of up with the lakeland boys sit in on the back what ever all that was about

It will be interesting in the Mullingar 2-day who the "protected rider" from Lakeside is: when he goes up the road will the other 23 team mates just sit around watching him ride away to glory???? There is absolutely nothing wrong with sitting in when you have a team mate up the road of course..... :D

sheepfield wrote: »
    It will be interesting in the Mullingar 2-day who the "protected rider" from Lakeside is: when he goes up the road will the other 23 team mates just sit around watching him ride away to glory???? There is absolutely nothing wrong with sitting in when you have a team mate up the road of course..... :D

I have nothing but respect for the club camaraderie that Lakeside have, fair dues to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pbull69

Ooh can i guess the Lakeside "protected rider" is??!!!!!