Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2012: English Paper 1 & OL/FL

• 06-06-2012 10:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭

Wednesday, June 6th
    9.30am - 12.00pm

All discussion and questions about English Paper 1 or Ordinary Level English or Foundation Level English goes here!

Good luck everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,482 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

The paper was good.

Didn't like the choices for Section 2 although the mistaken identity one caught my eye.

Overall, I got through it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭I hate school

I found the comprehension pretty difficult.
    Everything else was ok :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭iliketwixbars

Lovely Paper :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Yeah Higher level wasn't too bad, loved the essay question (speech) even though I made a mess of it, overall not too bad , had to rush media studies though :/

Anyway, time to cram for paper 2 lol,...I need to revise Romeo & Juliet in 45 mins haha!

Dreading having to study for Irish this evening, I'm wrecked already! :/

Once I get Irish outta the way, I'll be able to relax, as all the other subjects are grand ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Recoil12

I thought it was ok...but I think I did really bad on the functional writing section,you had to write about your experience of a school(Kildeasy?),anyway I never looked at "for publication in the schools prospectus",so halfway through a "relaxed" piece I see this,cue me crossing out everything and rushing to finish:rolleyes:
    I only took 30 mins to do the personal writing though:o:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Bazinga_N

Recoil12 wrote: »
    I thought it was ok...but I think I did really bad on the functional writing section,you had to write about your experience of a school(Kildeasy?),anyway I never looked at "for publication in the schools prospectus",so halfway through a "relaxed" piece I see this,cue me crossing out everything and rushing to finish:rolleyes:
    I only took 30 mins to do the personal writing though:o:cool:
    Oh Jesus!! I'd have a breakdown if I did that.. :/ I'm sure you did great anyways! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭paddyzk

First time I enjoyed paper 1 ever.Media studies was a bit too easy :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Recoil12

Bazinga_N wrote: »
    Oh Jesus!! I'd have a breakdown if I did that.. :/ I'm sure you did great anyways! :)

I hope so.Paper 2 done too,which wasn't bad at all just very long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 621 ✭✭✭if832uspx4eogt

Is this the topic for Higher as well since there is no topic for higher?

I thought Reading was handy enough - most of the answers was in the text. I had a story for Personal Writing learned off and it fitted perfectly with the "Mistaken Identity" option.

Functional was grand, for me. I did the one about Kildeasy, pretty straight forward. I'm good at making up stuff so I am hoping for high marks.

Media Studies was...alright. We never studied product placement in class in first year because it's a new topic so that was one topic out. The next one didn't suit me either but I had to do it.

Pretty miffed nothing came up on advertising techniques like copy, visuals, slogan etc. since I studied well for it.

Oh well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 TheoremOreo

Paper 1 went horible for me :/. I messed up the essay. But the rest went alright!!! But still pretty angry I messed up the damn essay :(. Paper 2 was way to easy!!

Is this the topic for Higher as well since there is no topic for higher?

I thought Reading was handy enough - most of the answers was in the text. I had a story for Personal Writing learned off and it fitted perfectly with the "Mistaken Identity" option.

Functional was grand, for me. I did the one about Kildeasy, pretty straight forward. I'm good at making up stuff so I am hoping for high marks.

Media Studies was...alright. We never studied product placement in class in first year because it's a new topic so that was one topic out. The next one didn't suit me either but I had to do it.

Pretty miffed nothing came up on advertising techniques like copy, visuals, slogan etc. since I studied well for it.

Oh well!
    There's only one paper for OL/FL so I said I'd stick them in with Higher Level Paper One :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭lynchy101

Essay of Mistaken Identity fitted perfectly for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭OwlYouNeed

Wasn't too painful :P Finished about half an hour early. I did the school prospectus, realised when I had finished that I had no idea if the layout was correct, then decided to do the magazine report thing. The media studies was easy enough. And the personal writing was great, I got to recycle one of my old essays that got an A. All in all, not too bad. Should get a B at least. Hopefully. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Junokevv

Two questions:

Did nobody else think that the comprehension was a bit hard?

Is there any proper layout for an magazine article?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭dalta5billion

lynchy101 wrote: »
    Essay of Mistaken Identity fitted perfectly for me.
    I wanted to do it but it was a short story so eff that.

^^ The reading bit? I don't think it was that hard.

What is the layout for a prospectus? I hope I didn't mess it up.

Junokevv wrote: »
    Did nobody else think that the comprehension was a bit hard
    Yes. Knowing too much about the subject of new media/old media was my problem. Plus I think the questions completely misinterpreted the main aim of his extract.

I wanted to do it but it was a short story so eff that.

My story was about this Jew hiding in an attic.Nazi comes in searches the room and sits down.Jew gets angry and kills Nazi.Jew then finds out Nazi was actually a Russian trying to save him.Jew Kills himself.

The End

Yes. Knowing too much about the subject of new media/old media was my problem. Plus I think the questions completely misinterpreted the main aim of his extract.

Yeah I took up way too much time on Q2 because I knew so too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Meh, I'm just glad it's over to be honest, ;)

My story was a soldier was coming home and visiting his parents who he hadn't seen in 3 years. He walks into their shop and a robber comes in a holds the place hostage cause of "mistaken identity" the father has a heart attack and the son dies trying to save the mother. All in 5 pages ;)

My story was about this Jew hiding in an attic.Nazi comes in searches the room and sits down.Jew gets angry and kills Nazi.Jew then finds out Nazi was actually a Russian trying to save him.Jew Kills himself.

The End

:O Cool story bro, needs more Nazis, Jews, Russians, dragons and s**t

Two questions:

Yes.

I just skipped a line between paragraphs and put a heading in blue ?

The importance of friends in my life, which was a complete trap for the air heads who don't have a note of creativity in their brains by the way, was somehow twisted by me into a rather weird present tense third person friendship where your parents die and that friend is with you through it all and BAM ITS A LOVE STORY.

Amazing, huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,482 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

Two questions:

Comprehension was a nightmare, had to read over it three times to understand it, just really needed to read it that's all :P

And not sure, it didn't come up? :P

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 76 ✭✭jd6920s

I did the speech , easy topic so it was :D everything went grand for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭whoopsadaisy

It went great for me, tbh! Reading I didn't find hard at all, Mistaken Identity was perfect for Personal Writing, I would have preferred a letter or some kind for the Functional but I did okay with the article, and Product Placement suited me just fineeee, delighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Junokevv

paddyzk wrote: »
    Yes.

I just skipped a line between paragraphs and put a heading in blue ?

I forgot to give my article a title. Would that matter?

It didn't say give a title....did it?

Wouldn't say so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭IrishLoriii

I am aboslutely raging about P1! I was sitting in my exam waiting for the actual exam, i had the blue paper booklet to write in. The examiner went round the wholeroom giving out the paper and i was still sitting there waiting. Im right in front of her desk too. She went and stood at the back and suddenly i was like Ehh :/ and i turned round with my hand up and she shook her head at me! She then told everyone to start and i was like :/:/ like 5-10 mins later she went to the front where I was and seen i had no paper, took me ages to catch her eye :/:/ I finally got my paper and she said to me'' Why didnt you put your haand upp?'' i was so tempted to say HmmI had it up and you shook your head! but i kept my mouth shut

Really annoyed.. I was so calm all morning I was fine till that happened then i started panicking and nearly burst out crying i just proper freaked out :/ I wasnt given 10 mins at the end either

I am aboslutely raging about P1! I was sitting in my exam waiting for the actual exam, i had the blue paper booklet to write in. The examiner went round the wholeroom giving out the paper and i was still sitting there waiting. Im right in front of her desk too. She went and stood at the back and suddenly i was like Ehh :/ and i turned round with my hand up and she shook her head at me! She then told everyone to start and i was like :/:/ like 5-10 mins later she went to the front where I was and seen i had no paper, took me ages to catch her eye :/:/ I finally got my paper and she said to me'' Why didnt you put your haand upp?'' i was so tempted to say HmmI had it up and you shook your head! but i kept my mouth shut

Really annoyed.. I was so calm all morning I was fine till that happened then i started panicking and nearly burst out crying i just proper freaked out :/ I wasnt given 10 mins at the end either
    That's serious. I'd discuss that with your parents and get them to ring in. You don't need the stress of dealing with it while you have exams. They should deal with it in your corrections.

Do you think it would make her turn against me though if I said something? Im stuck with her till the 15th ;/

Oh and a girls phone started vibrating cause someone waas ringing her and it was vibratin against her lip gloss so it was louder than it shud have been and she said nothing just took it of her and gave it too her at the end and showed her the phone rules

I agree.Say something.
    Next time put your hand up and wave it around like a mad yoke :P

I was starving during Paper 1!

The supervisor kept looking at me each time my stomach grumbled :pac:

Alot of people are telling me to go in tomorrow but is there any point :/

Im bumping this in the hope someone can help me :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Pen Rua