Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two Poetry Questions

• 05-06-2012 4:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭

Hi. I'm a little bit worried about if I've covered enough poems for the poetry section in English. I've done:
    Dulce et decorum est
    Base Details
    Wild Swans at Coole
    Lake Isle of Inisfree
    On Raglan Road
    Mid-term break.

and number 2, what other techniques are used in On Raglan road, other than imagery?

Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

No 2 by the same poet?

Other than that you should be fine. In fact you dont need it really but the poet questions tend to be rather easy.

Nevermind, you should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Bazinga_N

OwlYouNeed wrote: »
    Hi. I'm a little bit worried about if I've covered enough poems for the poetry section in English. I've done:
    Dulce et decorum est
    Base Details
    Wild Swans at Coole
    Lake Isle of Inisfree
    On Raglan Road
    Mid-term break.

and number 2, what other techniques are used in On Raglan road, other than imagery?

Thanks in advance.
    Haven't done On Renglen Road, but to answer your first question. Yea, I reckon you've done plenty as long as you know them well and can answer a question on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭OwlYouNeed

decisions wrote: »
    No 2 by the same poet?

Wild Swans at Coole and Lake Isle of Inisfree are both by W.B. Yeats. :)

Bazinga_N wrote: »
    Haven't done On Renglen Road, but to answer your first question. Yea, I reckon you've done plenty as long as you know them well and can answer a question on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

OwlYouNeed wrote: »
    Wild Swans at Coole and Lake Isle of Inisfree are both by W.B. Yeats. :)

Copped just before you posted :o.

decisions wrote: »
    Copped just before you posted :o.

Thanks anyway. :D You had me worried there for a bit. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭ohsurelook

How many poems do you NEED?

I have Kavanagh's (Ininskeen Road,Raglan Road,Epic - all different themes)
    The Daffodils
    The Road Not Taken
    Conquerers

Enough? If not,suggest one I could learn for tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭paddyzk

ohsurelook wrote: »

The Daffodils
    The Road Not Taken
    Conquerers

Nah,you're sound with those.

ohsurelook wrote: »

The Daffodils
    The Road Not Taken
    Conquerers

Seems grand too me. Are any of thoose a love poem though? If not you might want to have a go at a love poem tonight.

Nah,you're sound with those.

*MWAH* chanks bbz

Seems grand too me. Are any of thoose a love poem though? If not you might want to have a go at a love poem tonight.

Ya Raglan Road is but it's an "unconventional" one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Anyone know if it'd be possible to use love for Mid-Term Break?

Okay bare with me, I know it's a death poem, BUT

Could you talk about how the family stick together, even when tragedy has struck?
    "as my mother held my hand in hers and coughed out angry tearless sighs."

Could you talk about how much the family loved Heaney's brother?

Maybe about how the father loved him so much, and how he was so shook up after he died?

"In the porch I met my father crying--
    He had always taken funerals in his stride"--

Is it possible? what do yas think?

Jamez735 wrote: »
    Anyone know if it'd be possible to use love for Mid-Term Break?

Okay bare with me, I know it's a death poem, BUT

Could you talk about how the family stick together, even when tragedy has struck?
    "as my mother held my hand in hers and coughed out angry tearless sighs."

Could you talk about how much the family loved Heaney's brother?

Maybe about how the father loved him so much, and how he was so shook up after he died?

"In the porch I met my father crying--
    He had always taken funerals in his stride"--

Is it possible? what do yas think?
    It's a bit risky. I suppose you could go for it.

Okay 50 quid to anyone who can write a poem about love in the first stanza, nature in the second and death in the third.

let me see....

roses are red,.... like red autumn leaves, ....that eventually die.

Yup, I'm screwed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭TheZestyLemon

I'm only doing Base Details and Midterm Break. I've them fairly well covered, I know all the techniques and usually the second option on studied poetry is very general while option one
    normally deals with a theme.

I'm only doing Base Details and Midterm Break. I've them fairly well covered, I know all the techniques and usually the second option on studied poetry is very general while option one
    normally deals with a theme.

Yah I'd say we'll be grand with war & death, I'd be surprised if 2 questions came up that we couldn't answer.

Although if Love & Compare 3 poems by an author comes up...I'm Fecked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭lynchy101

I am making up my poems on the day.

Be grand.

lynchy101 wrote: »

Be grand.

That would be great, but are ya allowed?

Be grand.
    Sure Why Not? :)

Lol seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭lynchy101

Jamez735 wrote: »
    Lol seriously?

How would the corrector know you made them up?

Don't they have to be well known or something?

Lol that would be AMAZING if I could make my own!
    I like nature
    Nature is cool
    there's lots of trees
    and leaves

But sometimes these
    little trees
    die.
    like a pie
    in an 2000 degrees oven

Or like Romeo and Juliet
    They loved each other
    but their families were at war
    and Romeo had a friend
    His name was Mercutio
    He was like a brother
    From another mother

He died also.

Nature, Love, Friendship, Death, War.....SORTED! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭The House Of Wolves

Oh jesus. Ye have all got me frightened out of my wits now - the ONLY poem I've studied is Dulce et Decorum est! (and I know that there is Disabled.)

That's it! I have no other notes on anything else because my teacher said it'll be enough.

Will it!?

Oh jesus. Ye have all got me frightened out of my wits now - the ONLY poem I've studied is Dulce et Decorum est! (and I know that there is Disabled.)

That's it! I have no other notes on anything else because my teacher said it'll be enough.

Will it!?

relax, you'll be grand, I've went through every exam paper and dulce will fit in, just make sure you know it really really well.....one question is always open ended, although it may not be ideal, ;)