Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was called a creep by strangers this weekend.

• 05-06-2012 4:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Had an odd experience this weekend.

Was going out with some friends for a good laugh and a pint.
    Along came some people i've never met before, but apparently the other friends knew them.

Among them were a few girls.
    Here's the weird part:
    I get as far as say hello, and present myself. Then i headed out for a quick smoke.

As i get back, no more than five minutes later, i get taken aside and am told to "stay off the friends... They think you are creepy"

I had no intention of anything, nor did i try to pull.
    Still... One "hello" and i was stamped as a freak. A creep. That pissed me off.

My other "friends" told me to not take notice off that and just have a great night and just ignore them.

A bit hard though, since they all seemed to friendzone me after that.

I wasn't drunk, on drugs, or running around staring at people.

Ofcurse the night ended with my friends going home with a few of them, which i can only assume was the plan. And i have no grudge against that.

Just the whole "-We have friends that don't like you, so we will follow suit and ignore you aswell. For this night only. We will be friends in the morning again."

I'll probably never (hopefully) meet these "new" friends ever again, and it would be an easy thing to brush off.

But i'm having trouble with it.
    One moment i keep thinking of all of them as a sad bunch, and i'm better than even giving it any thoughts, only to be angry and annoyed by it 2 minutes later.

I just had to vent this. Hopefully this will make me stop thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Did just one person take you aside or a group of them? It does sound like whoever said it was either intentionally f**king with you, or trying to increase their own odds. I'd think it more likely than the girls actually saying you were creepy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

first if all your Friends could have defended you and asked them why they taught you where a creep :confused:

Secondly they sound like a bunch of girls with a serious ego, shallow and are extremely up themselves. It sounds like an attention thing with them , I think the comment was made on the line that they taught they where better then you and described you as "creepy" as you weren't up to their standards :rolleyes: Jmo.

I'd ignore it op, don't beat yourself up over it, at the end of the day they are only one bunch of air heads that don't even know you but are yet quick to judge you.
    Take drink into factor to, people are even quicker to judge and make a comment without knowing a person with a few drinks on them.
    There are plenty of nice girls out there that aren't so quick to judge or use such vicious words to describe a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

As said already don't take this to heart. You did nothing wrong, perhaps you should take it as a compliment the fact that they saw you as a threat.
    I would bet that you are of above average looks and this provoked that reaction. You were probably branded a "player" by people who know nothing about you! Forget it, they're not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Perhaps they were told things to make them think you were creepy by the other guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

My guess: one of the new group made a snap judgement and said something that was inappropriate. None of the others, including the friends you had gone out with, said as much as "ah, come on now, you can't possibly know if he is a creep or not". So a stupid and unkind statement was treated as an established fact.

You are entitled to be disgruntled with your friends for not defending you, and for zoning you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

What kind of 'friend' would tell you - either passed on or made up - that someone else thinks you are creepy, especially based on a couple of minutes of contact! But why tell you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭gerryk

We're talking about kids, here, right? Like 20yo or younger? Why would you care what kids think?
    Also, your 'friends' are kinda dicks. That sort of flexible loyalty is a load of sh1te IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Partizan

Sorry to hear about that OP but it does sound like your so called mates made up the story of you being creepy so they could increase their chances of taking home those girls last Saturday night and shag them which they probably did. if I was in that situation there and then, I would demand on the spot who called me a creep. You did no wrong. It is unfortunate that you are surrounded by shallow and selfish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I reckon your mates didn't want the competition....maybe she actually said she likes you.

Or they are stuck up themselves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Johnny_BravoIII

The only plausible explanation is:
    a) Your friends blocked you from the new girls
    Your friends believed you to be competition & blocked you
    (btw I find this hard to believe)
    Or your friends they have concerns as to how you approach women in general, preemptively told you to knock of the weirdness for fear of losing them their chance with the new girls

b) The new girls made some comment that was misinterpreted as you being creepy. A misunderstanding, easily cleared up, if you decide to.

c) You come across as creepy/ or the know you as a creep from a grapevine rumor (girl-talk). You come across as creepy or did so to another girl they know.

You need to figure out why the above comment happened. Is there in fact some part of your behavior which is either freaking your mates or girls out. If so address it.

If not, then it was all clearly a misunderstanding so you can either address it or forget about it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Yes it sounds like your 'friends' wanted to ensure that you wouldn't encroach on their prospective 'pulls' for the night.

Think about it, you didn't do anything creepy according to you, you had very limited dialogue with them and spent little or no time in their company before being told that they found you creepy.

If it doesn't make sense, it's probably not true.

If what you have told us was exactly how it transpired, then I'd say you can rest assured that nobody thought you were creepy.

Your friends are just slithery hoors imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Are a good looking guy?
    I'd guess you are and your friends didn't want you there with the new girls

Oh they still want you as a friend and a drinking buddy but they didn't want you for that night

Bunch of weasels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Sounds like you need to ditch your friends,even if one of the girls said anything ,your friends did nothing to even question their opinion on the person who they met two minutes ago.
    Was it me id would of had a pint and headed somewhere else alone,and next day when asked what happened just ignore them.As these lads dont sound like your real friends.Just my oppinion and respect for sticking the night out without drama ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Your friends didn't want your competition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Im going to go from a different angle here. Im just going on the brief information that you provided.

You are what could be described as "collateral damage" in this instance, to make a point.

Sometimes girls will like to assert power around males and other females in a group. It actually exudes confidence-but not in a real way (for someone to do this means they actually have low self worth themselves). The best and most effective way to do this is by cutting another member of the group down, i.e. you. Tone set, power established, bobs your uncle and fanny is your aunt.

It is to do with establishing a social standing within the group. And to be perfectly honest, people like this are not worth knowing, because they will always cut someone down, could be anyone, and unfortunately it was you.

Now, I dont know what ages ye are, but that was your friends' queue to say "no he is not" and reenforce that this is "your" group/friends, and this is actually what would concern me - that they did not do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

at younger age i had groups of friends,and wasn't very lucky with girls but when chances came up all of them moved out of the way to let me score ;) same i did for them ,but was never excluded from group to face such bizarre situations where you get called by one of mates and basically told that someone thinks you are a creep,and have a nice evening :D if they dont stick for you whats the point in calling them friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

If some girl started slagging off one of my friends who had only said hello I'd be fairly quick to tell her to fcuk off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

On a superficial reading of this without extra information your own "friends" sound like a right pack of arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Honestly OP,

It wouldn't bother me so much about what some girl may or may not have said. I'd be cracking how your friends turned on you for a ride. First off they should have defended you but they definitely shouldn't have blanked you. I'd be pissed.

Write it off lad, but if it happens again with your mates I'd be having words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

I'm going WAY off to the other side here, not just for fun, but because I have plenty of experience of 'creepy' guys.

In fact, a good friend of mine is one. It's very difficult to describe what makes him 'creepy', and he would certainly be shocked and appalled to find that I (and other female friends) have described him in that way. He regularly makes strange and/or inappropriate comments and generally lacks social graces and etiquette.

It's gotten to the point where I try to avoid introducing him to new female friends, because even if he's not trying it on with them, it's invariably going to end up them thinking he is due to his behaviour. He is overly attentive and tries too hard to impress people ALL the time, he tends to stare (not in a leery was, but definitely in a socially awkward/uncomfortable way) and various other very minor behaviours which all add up. He is difficult to talk to about these kinds of things, and probably simply wouldn't 'get' it. He's not 'being' creepy intentionally, hence in his mind, he's not. Even though he is.

Maybe this is all a bunch of bull**** from some stuck up girls who didn't like you, or maybe your friends made it up to keep you away.

Fact is OP, your friends didn't defend you, which means 1 of 2 things

1) You have ****ty friends
    2) You can be a bit creepy sometimes

Neither is a good option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

I really don't think that guys would be that petty either, example: if a guy has a drop dead gorgeous girlfriend the lads reaction is usually fair play to ya orlucky b*****d Perhaps a bit envious but nothing nasty.
    I think the girls decided he was a "player" and took an instant dislike to him.
    A very astute post sashafierce if I may say so.