Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Update of WIP for Poulo6.5

• 01-06-2012 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭

Just a quick clip for Poulo, let him know I am making progress on his knives!

Usually when I make my videos I don't say who has asked me to sharpen their knives, I think maybe some lads don't want the world knowing their business, what they own etc.

Poulo has given me permission to mention him so cheers for that lad!

I am sharpening a bucket of knives for him, but with shift work etc. it's taking a while. I received these knives last week but have about half sharpened so far. The little penknives and multi-tools were quick work, and I've saved the Chef knives for this weekend. My wife is working so I may as well set up in the garden and have a high old time of it sharpening steel! :D

I hope these clips are helping lads get a better idea how to maintain their own kit, I try to do them as instructionals rather than just "look at what else I sharpened" videos.

Anyway, got a bit of time today to edit and upload the footage from early in the week. Hopefully this will hold Poulo over until I get his kit back to him. I'll be done this weekend and get these off on Tuesday if the Post Office is open.

I would also like to thank himself for sending me beer vouchers for doing the work, there really was no need lad, but much appreciated!

On with the show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Fair play desie im sure paulo will be a happy man with all the knives like new! Iv tried to sharpen a few of my iwn but it doesnt work out great, must watch more of your videos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Deise Musashi

Feel free to ask questions in thread or private or call down to me lad.
    Happy to help lads learn how to do this themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Alan 1990

That's some job lad, well done.

Thanks Alan, I will finish up tomorrow and the Ikea Slitbar Chef's will be getting a 15 degree per side edge, I'm not sure how to show online how sharp that is?

(It's bloody sharp though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Very informative thanks for that, am after loosing 2 of those leatherman waves.

.17hmr, your PM inbox is full lad!
    Have you ever heard of "shun" knives? Iv a demascus chefs knife from them too, i think they are a decent blade.

Shun are made by Kai, same company owns Kershaw and Zero Tolerance.
    They are very nice chef knives, Alton Brown likes them and has a good youtube video about maintaining them.

A damascus Shun would cost a few bob wink.gif

Eric.

Space there now lad!

Another bit of an update, going well!

Serious work desie fair play. Hope to get a few down to you in the next week or so for you to work your magic!

Happy to lad, love sharpening knives for Hunters, Fishermen and Chefs!

Never a bad thing to help lads out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

My dad gave me oul bowie knife he had in the 80s classic knife can still open rabbits but tried sharpening it not workin out great
    What's the best way to do it

My dad gave me oul bowie knife he had in the 80s classic knife can still open rabbits but tried sharpening it not workin out great
    What's the best way to do it

Have a look through this thread lad, it should help. Any specific questions after that you can PM me or start a separate thread and we can sort it out.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056296016

Any chance of a picture of the bowie, any makers mark or information on the blade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭franknrol

well desie, have a shun 8'' chefs knife, started a new job and a tit i work with broke the tip off it opening a screw when i was on lunch. :mad: just wonderin if there was anything i can do to bring it back, nearly 5mm gone from top. thanks

a tit i work with broke the tip off it opening a screw when i was on lunch. mad.gif just wonderin if there was anything i can do to bring it back, nearly 5mm gone from top. thanks
    For a broken tip repair I usually try to retain as much of the edge as possible. That mean grinding the spine down to meet the edge.
    Sometimes if not too much is missing, a good sharpening will take you most of the way there.

Could you post a picture of the damage I could better judge what needs doing? Your most likely outcome is changing the blade profile to a more Santoku type profile (if starting with a typical Chef knife).

It would involve doing something like this (not my picture or site)

1000x500px-LL-a16fc25c_Broken_Tip_Repair.jpg

You can use a file and sandpaper, sharpening stones or a grinder (don't let the blade get hot) Mark it out with a sharpie marker and see what you think would be the best profile to end up with. It really helps to see what result you are aiming for.

If you don't feel it's something you want to take on then I would be happy to take a look for you.

Desie you have pm lad!

Thanks for that Kev.!

For those that wondered about tip repair, I took out a minor "mushroom" on a knife tip last week. Not a snapped tip, more a rivet type ding!

and one for Kevin! Thanks a lot lad, much appreciated!