Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bavaria Racing F1 Demonstration Dublin City Centre Sunday 3rd June

• 01-06-2012 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭

I didn't see any mention of this, so I'd thought I'd start a thread to see if anyone is going.

Here's a link to the web page: Bavaria City Racing Route Map

I'm not sure where would be the best place to go to get good shots. I was thinking at the outside of the turn at the junction of Pearse Street and D'Olier Street and try and get a shot of them turning into the turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭djan

I will be going with a few friends and am thinking of going near the 180 turn near college green and if that is too packed move down to Trinity/Grafton. Im guessing that the city will be absolutely jammers and just hope we get good weather :)

On another note I'm surprised how little publicity this has been getting for such a big event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

I'll be there too, thankfully lucky enough to be inside the barriers for a change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

have been told to cover this tomorrow (pass is provided) .... including press conference with Jenson Button.

Have another job at 8ish in the morning first.

If you see someone with a red backpack looking extremely lost thats me :D say hello :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭lisatiffany

@ronan - I'll say hello if I see you, I'm getting up at around 8am but am not looking forward to juggling cameras and lenses, I already did that today and I'm wrecked. I can't say I'm loving the rain coming down over the city right now, I was going to head back up to the crew for a while but its far too rainy. Anyways here is a few from earlier today. :)

7321894534_afe122e48d_z.jpg

7321919156_d2ca3b9abe_z.jpg

7321965774_4ae26c2a47_z.jpg
    Full Set on Flickr

Do Lisa! Have to get up at 5.30/6am myself, coming from the south. See you there :-)

@ronan - I don't know if you know but the city is under a lot of rainfall at the moment, I've been up since 7am so I've checked the route and had to adapt to a lot of rain wear. It's been raining all night long and the place is drenched so pack rain gear for yourself and your camera if you have it. My stuff is supposed to be weatherproof but I'd rather not put that to the test. And in the grand spirit of the rain I lost (dropped?) my pass for the day when I was checking the route earlier. Ah well something big was bound to go wrong, I'm not going to let it get me down though I'm sure I'll get some good shots outside of the paddocks anyways. :)

Go up to the kiosk at 9am theyll surely sort something!! Im only collecting mine then.

thanks for the heads up too! :)

I'd try that but I can't find the original email and I don't want them thinking I'm changing my arm. I was back out and had a look around to see if I could find it but no luck. I changed clothes again too because the wind up around custom house and the IFSC is picking up again (path around the back is a bit flooded too). Different shoes too the other ones got soaked, I look like the grim reaper now because the rain jacket is so big lol. But yeah I'm staying in again and heading back out again around 10am, there is no one around and the event repeats on itself again after 2pm so it might get busier then especially if the weather clears up.

Having a luas disaster, thrown off one for h&s reasons cause no heating, only back on now.

look like something out of emmerdale with this jacket! You wont miss me!

That happens with the luas now and then, I sent you a private message btw :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

What's the best time to go to this? I'm a bit hungover and can't make sense of their site. :o

had to stick with first job - so cant make it down to F1 thingy.

PCPhoto wrote: »
    had to stick with first job - so cant make it down to F1 thingy.

I will take ur pass :cool:

afraid no can do .... I didn't apply for it so I cant pass it on....sorry.

I'm finally finished, I started shooting at 10am and finished about 5mins ago. I never did find my pass but my mom is in the Ferrari owners club so it was no problem getting a VIP/press pass. I covered every car in the pits first (probably about 100 static shots) then did some interiors and jumped into a few cars. Saw Jenson for the 3rd time since Monaco (he was amazing on the track today even under the weather conditions). I took about 700 shots in total and surprisingly still had 67% battery left. The stands were terrible because everyone was being blown around in the wind and rain so I stayed up there maybe 2mins, I pretty much concentrated on the track itself then. It was a lot better than I thought and the drivers all put on a great show.

The only problems were the rain making me wipe my lens every few minutes/focusing on the F1 cars as they shot passed (it was hard at Monaco and was just as hard today)/there was a fair bit of smoke kicked up by the pro-drifters and I got sprayed a bit from the F1 cars but I reckon I must have gotten some good shots. I didn't need the 300mm after either because the cars were only a few feet away. I saw there were a lot of tips and bumps further down track around College Green but I didn't see how bad until they came back up towards The Point, bonus for people in the poublic right there because we didn't see stuff like that up at the pits. @ronan - I looked around for yourself and asked a few people with red backpacks if they were you but no luck, I changed outfits again so if you saw someone with a black beret/black and cream coat/boots and a big camera that was me. I hope the luas didn't hold you up too long and I'm looking forward to seeing what people got. It will be a few days until I've processed them all, I'll probably even have a cold from the rain but labor of love. :)

Glad you got sorted Lisa :-) There was some unbelievable metal there and the sound off Jenson's McLaren was amazing!!

I have to say I was extremely disappointed with the event organisers management of the media. all photographers were told we had certain reserved photographer areas, unfortunately these didnt really exist.

At the beginning a group of us took position near the F1 paddock performance zone at what appeared to be our area as per the map only to be screamed at and I mean screamed at by marshals that werent allowed inside the railings and that we had to go outside the railings with the spectators. This level of screaming/abuse continued in various different areas we should have been allowed to.

Eventually I was getting fed up so I asked a nice staff member, she rang the office and brought us to an area outside Custom House. Perfect.

Then about an hour later Im in the middle of taking a pic of a passing F1 car when i get dragged backwards through the steel barriers. 2 security guards literally dragged me backwards by the backpack and started screaming that I wasnt allowed there. One guy was particularly aggressive. showed him my media passes, he said "i dont give a **** who you are". told him staff had put me there he said "i dont give a f*ck im telling you move". At this stage it nearly came to blows, they dragged me with no warning backwards, could have destroyed all my equipment and also i was mortified as it was in front of the grandstand. not to mind the fact that if i had tried to resist as a reaction i could have ended up on the track in front of an f1 car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Splinters

Wow thats pretty shocking, and certainly worth putting in a complaint with the organisers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

ronanc15 wrote: »
    Glad you got sorted Lisa :-)
    Then about an hour later Im in the middle of taking a pic of a passing F1 car when i get dragged backwards through the steel barriers. 2 security guards literally dragged me backwards by the backpack and started screaming that I wasnt allowed there. One guy was particularly aggressive. showed him my media passes, he said "i dont give a **** who you are". told him staff had put me there he said "i dont give a f*ck im telling you move". At this stage it nearly came to blows, they dragged me with no warning backwards, could have destroyed all my equipment and also i was mortified as it was in front of the grandstand. not to mind the fact that if i had tried to resist as a reaction i could have ended up on the track in front of an f1 car

Sorry to hear about how you were treated but maybe in the light of what happened in the Cavan Rally security was tight. It appears from your report that you were very close to the fast moving cars.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/pair-killed-in-cavan-rally-crash-named-553128.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Heres a few of mine from the day. ( No Media Pass)

7336237032_730b8b7a88_z.jpg

7336253588_93f62a7c3b_c.jpg

7336246060_e5d6390e83_c.jpg

Rest of sthe set here..
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/1867swfc/sets/72157630046570774/

pixbyjohn wrote: »
    Sorry to hear about how you were treated but maybe in the light of what happened in the Cavan Rally security was tight. It appears from your report that you were very close to the fast moving cars.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/pair-killed-in-cavan-rally-crash-named-553128.html

It was very sad to hear about that but that doesnt excuse the behaviour in this case. It sounds as if the staff who allowed him into that area and security were given conflicting information about where photographers were allowed, however that kind of physical manhandling is completely uncalled for. As already mentioned that could have easily have resulted in very expensive equipment damage. Obviously safety has to come above all else but (and I could be mistaken) it didnt sound as if he was in immediate danger, or in a situation that needed such a heavy handed response. I wouldnt hesitate to put in a formal complaint in this situation.

Oh yeah the cars were great but the organization was lacking in a lot of areas especially when it came to people being briefed on their areas and jobs. I did see some press being moved from the area when the route became a track, if you didn't have the right band on you would get moved. I didn't see anyone shouting but I did see some people being moved or nudged back into the hospitality areas and I did think it was because of the crash last week and that they were being extra careful for security reasons. The grandstands were something I avoided, I went up there for two minutes and the rain and wind quickly sent me back down. You got moved all the way down to custom house??? that doesn't sound right at all, which pass were you given?.

Security were fine with me I think because I took their photos while they stood by some of the cars/etc. I always make sure to get chatty with security and staff at events so they are more comfortable with having cameras around, I was even in the race monitoring room at one point. I'd report the guy who gave you all that grief but the problem is its next to impossible to know who he actually was, a lot were hired on from event companies and there were more than one company on the day. I heard from a few friends in the press that they didn't get as much access as they were promised, some of them were even wandering around for hours looking for the press area. Security really didn't have much to do, most of them had camera phones out every few minutes messing around but you will always get a few who think they are Robocop. = /

Thats why Id be so adamant about reporting it. Not reporting on the fact you were moved, or about lack of access etc, its the physical and aggressive nature in which it happened. Events like this should be a joy for all involved, and its very unfortunate to be talking about something like this instead of the event itself.

As mentioned it was probably some private event security company, many of which will draft in lesser experienced, lesser trained staff to cover larger events like this. It would have been priceless if you got a photo of the thug so he could be easily identified but saying that you probably would have only provoked him and risked escalating it further. Anyway, thats the last ill say on it. I dont mean to drag the issue out, I just have a pet hate for this type of carry on and dont think either the individual or the company who hired him should get away with it.

pixbyjohn wrote: »

I agree that safety should be a priority but there is an appropriate manner to deal with situations where you think someone is in a dangerous position. Dragging them backwards without alerting them is not one of them.
    Splinters wrote: »
    It was very sad to hear about that but that doesnt excuse the behaviour in this case. It sounds as if the staff who allowed him into that area and security were given conflicting information about where photographers were allowed, however that kind of physical manhandling is completely uncalled for. As already mentioned that could have easily have resulted in very expensive equipment damage. Obviously safety has to come above all else but (and I could be mistaken) it didnt sound as if he was in immediate danger, or in a situation that needed such a heavy handed response. I wouldnt hesitate to put in a formal complaint in this situation.

Agreed, if I had stumbled when they pulled me there was any amount of objects around that I could of cracked my skull on e.g. curbs, barriers etc.
    Oh yeah the cars were great but the organization was lacking in a lot of areas especially when it came to people being briefed on their areas and jobs. I did see some press being moved from the area when the route became a track, if you didn't have the right band on you would get moved. I didn't see anyone shouting but I did see some people being moved or nudged back into the hospitality areas and I did think it was because of the crash last week and that they were being extra careful for security reasons. The grandstands were something I avoided, I went up there for two minutes and the rain and wind quickly sent me back down. You got moved all the way down to custom house??? that doesn't sound right at all, which pass were you given?.

Security were fine with me I think because I took their photos while they stood by some of the cars/etc. I always make sure to get chatty with security and staff at events so they are more comfortable with having cameras around, I was even in the race monitoring room at one point. I'd report the guy who gave you all that grief but the problem is its next to impossible to know who he actually was, a lot were hired on from event companies and there were more than one company on the day. I heard from a few friends in the press that they didn't get as much access as they were promised, some of them were even wandering around for hours looking for the press area. Security really didn't have much to do, most of them had camera phones out every few minutes messing around but you will always get a few who think they are Robocop. = /

I had the full media pass and also a second photographer specific pass - same as all the others I believe.

I got moved into public areas initially at the F1 paddock performance area, wasn't happy with the viewpoint I had there so I went in search of the other "photographer areas". Spent at least an hour strolling around looking for these, nobody I asked had heard of them or knew anything about them so eventually I cornered someone who was kind enough to ring the organisers office. At this stage myself and another guy who was lost were brought to an area by custom house performance zone where we bumped into [EMAIL="Paddy@CIRL"]Paddy@CIRL[/EMAIL] looking equally lost :D

Was there happy out for an hour so before all that happened with the security. If I was in an area they thought was dangerous, fair enough, tap me on the shoulder and tell me. Don't drag me! The power of the HiViz :rolleyes:

Anyways back on topic, the sound of Button's F1 car was nothing short of sexual. Will get about processing some pics tonight hopefully, really starting to feel the limitations of my current setup so some upgrades are definitely due :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

I saw the person who does the volunteer organization for a lot of the festivals around o connell bridge on sunday. Basically most of these people are 'bodies' to be there in case any H+S is not adhered to. I dont think this relates to security directly but i think its the stem of the cheap option that basically has people as so called stewards when in practice they havent a clue.
    I was in line to get into the O connell bridge section when i realised it was the 'wristbanded' line. I asked the only blue bib volunteer kid there what the story was and he just said he didnt really know but I should join (what was now) the really really long queue.
    God knows where i was to get a wristband from beforehand but in the other queue, which i assumed the non-wristband line, there were two ppl, one scanning and one giving out a precious wristband very very slowly.
    I decided to stay in the 'wristbanded' queue as i didnt fancy going to the back of the other line and miss what id actually paid for. I walked in with 2-300 other people and not a single sole asked to check any ticket/band.

I really wish they could organise this crap better, instead of treating paying punters like cattle and letting them wander around aimlessly. Im just glad I wasnt down at Custom House, god knows how ppl got there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 RCardy

Enjoyed shooting the event over the weekend, pity the weather wasn't the greatest on Sunday. Would have liked to experiment more but never got a chance being busy and had to get the standard shots. Whilst I had several passes, almost all of the photos at the link were shot in areas the free public could access, the ones I used a pass for were inside the garage I think. Loads of photos can be viewed here: Link

VFF1-14.jpg

VFF1-21.jpg

VFF1-25.jpg

Most security are scumbags in any walk of life, difference between Ronan and Lisa is one has fluttering eyelids and the other hasn't. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Just to echo Ronan's experience, how the media were handled was a disgrace.

Lost count of the amount of 'photographer zones' I was removed from, one physically, whilst being abused by marshals & security. Like Ronan, I had all the correct passes obtained before the event and any area I accessed, I received permission from whoever was working that area, only to be removed by a co-worker shortly after.

I particularly enjoyed being told I couldn't access the paddock or the media centre as I didn't have the right pass. When I pointed out that my camera case & laptop were on the table just inside the door behind him, he told me he didn't care and to '**** off'.

The staff involved in dealing with the media were more interested in getting Button's autograph than addressing any concerns made throughout the day.

I'm lucky enough to shoot motorsport on a regular basis, in many different countries, at countless race circuits with many different organizers, and I can honestly say that I've never experienced anything even close to the level of incompetence on display yesterday.

A couple of days on and I'm still livid. I didn't get even close to 20% of the shots I had planned before the event. Disgusted.

Most security are scumbags in any walk of life, difference between Ronan and Lisa is one has fluttering eyelids and the other hasn't. :D

The moobs counteract that though!! :D
    Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    Just to echo Ronan's experience, how the media were handled was a disgrace.

Lost count of the amount of 'photographer zones' I was removed from, one physically, whilst being abused by marshals & security. Like Ronan, I had all the correct passes obtained before the event and any area I accessed, I received permission from whoever was working that area, only to be removed by a co-worker shortly after.

I particularly enjoyed being told I couldn't access the paddock or the media centre as I didn't have the right pass. When I pointed out that my camera case & laptop were on the table just inside the door behind him, he told me he didn't care and to '**** off'.

The staff involved in dealing with the media were more interested in getting Button's autograph than addressing any concerns made throughout the day.

I'm lucky enough to shoot motorsport on a regular basis, in many different countries, at countless race circuits with many different organizers, and I can honestly say that I've never experienced anything even close to the level of incompetence on display yesterday.

A couple of days on and I'm still livid. I didn't get even close to 20% of the shots I had planned before the event. Disgusted.

That's what makes it worse, neither were isolated incidents. After that I just got fed up and decided to head home, was fairly disgusted after getting up at 5.30am and travelling up from Clare. I haven't even been bothered enough to process what photos I did get, will have to have a look tonight. You nearly forgot to mention your drama getting the passes that morning :D