Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HTC One X Broken Screen!

• 30-05-2012 10:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭

Have this phone only a couple of weeks, let it fall out of my pocket and screen shattered.
    All I can say is, it didn't take much. Phone is still working fine though.
    Ordered one on ebay so I should have it soon enough.

What I'm wondering is, do any of ye folk know of any guides to putting it in?
    Had a look on youtube but nothing seems to be posted yet.
    Ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

If there isnt one already you could ask for one to be made on XDA?

Or, work it out yourself and then you make it! Would be sure to get several thousand views/mo after a while :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Did you try to see does the house insurance cover it, most of them cover cameras and stuff, this is much the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭citycentre

Unbelievable how easily this phones screen breaks - After owning it for all of three days I dropped it from my knee height whilst sitting down onto the patio outside and the glass immediately went to smithereens. This is with screen protector in place and silicone cover on also.

I know that dropping phones is inadvisable at the best of times but to me this screen just smashed too easily. Any phone I've previously owned, even the iPhone 4 or my most recent SE Xperia Arc could and did take a LOT more punishment without breaking.

Nothing to do only spend the €80 to get it fixed as im locked into an 18 month contract (thus invalidating the warranty)... Was loving the phone but well soured on it now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Were either of you using a case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

I dropped a desire from top of a ladder onto a hard floor and all that happened was the battery fell out. I wouldnt buy a One X as its unibody design means the energy will be dissapated badly when then inevitable happens.
    I have a S3 on order and I the removable battery swung it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Madsophos

Can anyone tell me where I can get a screen replaced in Dublin for the HCT one X??? having NO luck as yet!!! thanksx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

did you try the phone shop on the junction of talbot street & gardiner street?
    theyve repaired a good few phones for me and, if they dont have the parts, could easily order them for you

thanks for your quick response...will check it out!!
    it's actually the new HTC one S- the massive screen one :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭wardie101

Madsophos wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me where I can get a screen replaced in Dublin for the HCT one X??? having NO luck as yet!!! thanksx

I got my desire HD screen fixed of these lads...grand service...dont know if they do the One X but assume they do

http://www.itechrepairs.ie/#home

thanks a mil...was just on to them there- grand stuff...
    were they based out of their gaff when you got yours done?
    ta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

htc one x owners should buy a protective silicon case for the phone

http://www.case-mate.com/HTC-One-X-Cases/Case-Mate-HTC-One-X-XL-Tough-Case.asp

for other htc models look here http://www.case-mate.com/cases/HTC-Cases.asp

it helps protect the phone from shocks if u let it fall.

Madsophos wrote: »
    thanks a mil...was just on to them there- grand stuff...
    were they based out of their gaff when you got yours done?
    ta

Yeah in and out with new screen in about 30 mins

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

How much did it cost?

Was €80 for desire HD