Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moira Gamefair

• 24-05-2012 9:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭

Anyone heading to Moira this week, thinking of heading up for the day never been, any ideas what its like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭quicko

Alchemist2 wrote: »
    Anyone heading to Moira this week, thinking of heading up for the day never been, any ideas what its like?
    It is one of the better shows in Ireland but don't expect the cla or midland. Easy to get to as it is off the m1. Hope it is worth your trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Considering it. Wont decide for sure until I see how the head is that morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭minktrapper

When is Birr on this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Saturday and Sunday, 27th and 28th August

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Moira is Probally the best one in Ireland great mix of working dogs , stands and stalls , clay pigeon shooting , everything for everyone and gud for kids too

Il be at moira , also they have moved the ballinlough game fair to borris in Carlow !

Our gun club will be running the retriver working test on both days .

Anyone looking to run a dog can send entrys or looking for info to mohillgundog@yahoo.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

where is moira? and what day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭yog1

garyc007 wrote: »

http://www.gamefairireland.com/ all the info you'll ever need on it,:D

garyc007 wrote: »
    It on sat and Sunday mate , head for enniskillin from you and then on for Belfast and it just out side Belfast , good day out !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Just in time to stock up for the first. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

27th and 28th Aug is a Monday and tuesday:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Birr is on the 25th and 26th of August.

http://www.irishgameandcountryfair.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

i go every year and find it a great show compared to others and would ceretainly prefer it to birr cant go this year well worth the trip though imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

Am gonna head up in the morn and bring the young lad, should be a good day

Went up yesterday and have to say it was the most enjoyable fair ive ever been at on this island, small,but laid out well, you can see that some thought had been put into it and it was extremely well run.One minus not enough stalls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

Have to say, I really enjoyed it too. I'd dare say if there was something shooting, gamekeeping or dog related, you could have picked it up there. My shooting buddy also had a stall selling his art, mostly wild duck, woodcock and pheasant related and he seemed to be doing well which is good. As with the rest of the island the weather was first class and helped draw in a good crowd. Also made the beer all the sweeter in the beer tent ;)

IMAG0014.jpg

2012-03-18143610.jpg

IMAG0013.jpg

Mallards

Have to say mallards i did spend alot of time checking out his paintings but didnt spend any money:o as the kids have me bled dry new skull caps and body armour this week, but i do intend to purchase a couple at the next fair in Borris should he be there;) he had a couple of crackers of cocks breakin cover and a pair of teal coming in to feed.... wonder if her indoors would notice the kids pics replaced in the sitting room:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Will def be adding few of these to the man cave when it's done.
    Great work in fairness.
    Does he customize or replicate scenes from photos or other paintings Mallards or is it all his own work?
    (I realize your not an agent for him but you might know :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Longfellow

Was at that Birr fair one year. I never saw so many feckin' toffs in one place in me life. Never again......

Will def be adding few of these to the man cave when it's done.
    Great work in fairness.
    Does he customize or replicate scenes from photos or other paintings Mallards or is it all his own work?
    (I realize your not an agent for him but you might know :) )
    He lives beside lough neagh, so all of the scenes are from places he shoots.some of the woodcock ones are from days out with me on my ground. He carves decoys and all sorts, very talented guy. I can really picture that goldeneye coming in with the paddles down!!

Mallards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Longfellow

mallards wrote: »
    He lives beside lough neagh, so all of the scenes are from places he shoots.some of the woodcock ones are from days out with me on my ground. He carves decoys and all sorts, very talented guy. I can really picture that goldeneye coming in with the paddles down!!

Mallards
    I ain't be no expert but that duck in the picture ain't no Goldeneye, looks like a Scaup to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Irish Sport Fishing

It was a nice day out, and the weather was great! Here's a few snaps for anyone interested...

IMG_1450.jpg

IMG_1463-1.jpg

IMG_1471-1.jpg

IMG_1479.jpg

IMG_1483.jpg

IMG_1491.jpg

IMG_1560.jpg

IMG_1523.jpg

IMG_1517.jpg

IMG_1554-1.jpg

IMG_1555.jpg

IMG_1548.jpg

IMG_1546-2.jpg

www.IrishSportFishing.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Mallards,
    Do you have an e-mail address for him? I can't quiet make it out in the pic. I would like to see what he has.

[/QUOTE]
    I ain't be no expert but that duck in the picture ain't no Goldeneye, looks like a Scaup to me.[/Quote]
    Whoops you're dead right, blue bill and lack of the cheek patch is a dead giveaway!

dev110 wrote: »
    Mallards,
    Do you have an e-mail address for him? I can't quiet make it out in the pic. I would like to see what he has.
    adrian mc guckin amcguckin20@googlemail.com

Mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭LOUTHSHOOTER

Longfellow wrote: »
    Was at that Birr fair one year. I never saw so many feckin' toffs in one place in me life. Never again......
    Have to say Moira was very good.To many toffs at birr i found it to be the exact opposite it was full of the travelling community with their lurchers and terriers, i fecked off early it was that bad.Sorry if i offended anyone just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fallow01

I agree one of the best I have seen on this side of the pond in a while. While you'd still fit it into a small corner of the CLA fair, it's still a big improvement. Really liked the layout with two arena's and the eating/drinking area with the big music stage - this one is marked in the diary for next year!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Can ya give us a rough breakdown of what stalls were there, lads selling firearms etc.

There were 4 gun dealers if i remember, i may stand to be corected though, twas definitely more than you would see at Birr

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 decoyer

There were 4 gun dealers if i remember, i may stand to be corected though, twas definitely more than you would see at Birr

Think you are about right there they all seemed to be up the top end of the showground some nice guns on show too
    Only found 1 stall holder who was prepared to do a bit of dealing though
    we all like a good deal :D so stocked up with some new Rabbit nets and a new pigeon magnet
    The majority of them were dour feckers who i think the sun had got to ;)
    definetly be back again as i found it a great layout and very much a great day out for all the family

just something i copped earlier, there is a 5 quid charge for kids 5-15 into Birr and yet under 16's go free into Moira and Borris:confused:.... i know im a tight git before anyone points it out but when ye have a troop of monkies in tow it all adds up

All kids should be free to Bring the next generation on,the same goes for the stalls they should all be charged the same rate at a low cost to bring in more stalls in to birr....they have tons of room but yet there is sweet F all there,the same goes for the prices as well,each stall should be told that they have to do at least 1 bargin such as a fox call for a few quid

Birr game fair has nothing to do with borris or moira .

just something i copped earlier, there is a 5 quid charge for kids 5-15 into Birr and yet under 16's go free into Moira and Borris:confused:.... i know im a tight git before anyone points it out but when ye have a troop of monkies in tow it all adds up

Definetly a fair point there ,when we should be encouraging youngsters into fieldsports not charging them ,Gamefairs is the first time some youngsters get to see what its all about

Tbh i thought all the fairs here were run by the same 4 people, but as was mentioned we are trying to draw young people into our way of life and number two we are in a recession

My agruments always been if yer charging traders for their pitches let the punters in free or say 5 quid max under 16 free they must be makin a fair few quid
    An example being the CLA ive a mate whos does that show and for a 20ft pitch he is charged £2100 :eek: (sterling) now to me that seems ridiculous then they charge punters approx £20-£25 to get in
    He is going to Birr And Borris this year as they only charge 250 euros for the same pitch, But please if any show organisers are reading this think of the public and the recession we are in and give us all a fair deal :)

I got a a fiver off into birr chancing my arm going in saying do i get a student discount. she handed me a 5er back :D

One of the lads asked the person he went to and got nothing but a dirty look.

garv123 wrote: »
    I got a a fiver off into birr chancing my arm going in saying do i get a student discount. she handed me a 5er back :D

One of the lads asked the person he went to and got nothing but a dirty look.
    Must be your school boy face garv lol I really don't understand why they charge for kids,bloody ridiculous. They would make there money back on the kids fair at the back of the place to cover themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

brought a group of kids from work up to moira last year some into hunting some not but they all said it was the best day out they ever had and they would not have been able to go had it not been free they well make their money no need to be charging kids it puts people off going really hope this one in borris takes off looking forward to bringing me own kids there

Must be your good looking face garv lol I really don't understand why they charge for kids,bloody ridiculous. They would make there money back on the kids fair at the back of the place to cover themselves
    fyp :D
    snipe02 wrote: »
    brought a group of kids from work up to moira last year some into hunting some not but they all said it was the best day out they ever had and they would not have been able to go had it not been free they well make their money no need to be charging kids it puts people off going really hope this one in borris takes off looking forward to bringing me own kids there

when is the borris one?