Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda vetting

• 24-05-2012 12:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭

Hi

Is it possible for a freelance photographer to be garda vetted in their own right ?

According to Garda website, if I need to be vetted by an organisation, 2 things must be in place.
    1. The organisation must be registered with the Garda vetting office
    2. I must apply through the office of the organisation - they apply to the guards on my behalf - but only for their organisation.

So, I want to take photographs, (street, sports, everything really...and if I get a chance to do portraiture - great ) and generally speaking there is no issue there. But if I come accross a situation where minors are involved, it's impossible to get advance clearance for myself as a 'photographer' so that my 'street life' or other images can be taken.

If I'm cleared by an Garda eg. for my kids school, this does not mean I'm cleared for example a St patricks day parade.

Does anyone know of how to reconcile this ?
    Diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭hmboards

Why do you think you need Garda Vetting ? Vetting is for people who will have unsupervised access to children or vulnerable adults. Do you think you will be in this position as a photographer (where you are supervising the kids) ?

What you may need, depending on the circumstances, is a release from the parents of the children to use the photographs. But the gardai are not generally involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭kenyard

they have gone more stringent on them from what i heard.. even gardeners in schools etc now need vetting dont they?
    but its my thoughts also... shouldnt require vetting for general photography?
    If the above post holds true, then doing youth event photography shoukld be grand as its supervised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Some, very few, sporting bodies/clubs ask for Garda vetting. I know of one, offhand. Other than that, as someone who shoot a lot of sport, and do a bit of kids sport, I have never been asked about being Garda vetted.

For street photography, why would you need vetting? You're in a public area, and are entitled to take photos of almost anyone.

But, again, from what I know, Garda vetting can take a number of weeks (months) to get, and does require an organisation to make the application. Not sure how you go about it on your own, as a photographer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Diesel

Interesting,
    No - I don't envisage 'unsupervised access'. So if what you're saying is accurate - then everything should be neutral - no need for vetting.

But, if in a public place and all things above board, parents still approach (quite rightly) and ask what's up. But that's providing parents are available... remembering that teenagers are minors too.

I was looking for advance clearance to be able to put peoples mind at rest - that yes, this is photograpahy - nothing else, and yes I am Garda cleared...that sort of reply.

At present - I carry a buisness card, with full contact details and I do respond to emails etc. So if any concerns - I am accessable for a parent to at least be aware of who I am.
    But it would be good - I thought, to be able to list 'cleared' on the website/buisness card. (I'm also aware that a card can mean nothing much - fakes are simple for those so inclined)

As for image publication - that's for a different thread - but parental consent totally agreed/understood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I can only speak from experience, and in my experience (shooting some kids sports, public events involving kids, etc) I have never once been asked if I am Garda vetted.

I have, many times, asked what I am doing, who I am shooting for, etc, and I always give the information. I have never had any problems at all, and as I said, have never been asked if I am Garda vetted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Diesel wrote: »
    I was looking for advance clearance to be able to put peoples mind at rest - that yes, this is photograpahy - nothing else, and yes I am Garda cleared...that sort of reply.
    I don't know, I think if you where to bring up the fact your not a paedophile and you have the paperwork to prove it out of the blue during a quote you'd have the opposite effect from putting them at ease.

Thanks for the replies folks,
    It's exactly the last idea I want to avoid perceptions of.
    Maybe it's my naivitee that thinks being cleared, means being cleared.

And yes, I have been asked what/who am I shooting for. So my original question still stands. Thankfully, parents who do ask, are polite and accept my replies.

I'll leave thread open, see if any other photographers have experience in this.

Thanks again.
    Diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Diesel wrote: »
    And yes, I have been asked what/who am I shooting for. So my original question still stands. Thankfully, parents who do ask, are polite and accept my replies.
    Most people are very paranoid due to the media, I'd assume on any given day you'd have a camera full of photos. If anyone gets weird just let them have a look through what you've already taken and it would become clear your not specifically targeting kids for inappropriate photos.

Sound advice, and common sense should prevail.

Problem is common sense is not all that common.
    In the end, if there is no means to vet for individual purpose, then legally - that's the way it is.

I'll keep my senses, leave paranoia to others. But if anybody hears of a way... kindly post it.

Thanks again everyone.
    Diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭lisatiffany

I've been Garda vetted only twice when it came to work. Both times were for the Easter Rising commemoration, it was the only way I could get full access to the area and GPO while the ceremony was on. It took about 3 days for my papers to be processed so it was quick enough really. I know a guy in the UK who was vetted in order to shoot a children's party, when children are involved I can understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

Anybody working directly with Children are suppose to be garda vetted but the majority that have brief encounters with Children don't.

I'm coming for a sporting background and everybody that works in my building (part of a University) has been garda vetted but we work directly with children.

We also take guidelines form NGB's like Irsh Sports Council http://www.irishsportscouncil.ie/Participation/Code_of_Ethics/Garda_Vetting/
    Maybe contact the IPF they might be able to help you.

We have had photographers on site for events etc and AFAIK they are not Garda vetted as they are in the company of our staff at all times.

Its still really the case that each company looks after their own staff but that is due to change.

Not sure if that was much help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

You can access vetting as a member of Create - http://www.create-ireland.ie/

Takes a few months.

Hope that helps :)