Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barcelona train to Salou?

• 24-05-2012 7:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭

We (my wife and 3 kids) are headin to Salou in a few weeks and I want to make sure of getting to Salou fairly handy..

We are taking the train Barcelona centre and from there to Salou (Cambrillis park) and I want to make sure to get the right train from Barcelona centre. I have looked at the train times and it seems grand but I want to make sure which train Am I looking for rolleyes.gif.
    I have been told to get the train to Tortosa and also the train to Tarragona (think) but to get out at Salou (not Cambrillis).

Any ideas?

Also, Any idea what platform or does that differ?

Cheers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

DOC40 wrote: »

We (my wife and 3 kids) are headin to Salou in a few weeks and I want to make sure of getting to Salou fairly handy..

We are taking the train Barcelona centre and from there to Salou (Cambrillis park) and I want to make sure to get the right train from Barcelona centre. I have looked at the train times and it seems grand but I want to make sure which train Am I looking for rolleyes.gif.
    I have been told to get the train to Tortosa and also the train to Tarragona (think) but to get out at Salou (not Cambrillis).

Any ideas?

Also, Any idea what platform or does that differ?

Cheers..

This may help, only thing I can tell you for sure is that when we stayed in Portaventura just north of Salou the next train station was Tarragona on the Barca line

http://www.cambrils-tourist-guide.com/en/transport/cambrils-to-barcelona-by-train.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭DOC40

Thanks for that link, useful site.

Think our stop is Salou on the train but just want an idea of what exact train to get from Barcelona centre (sants) coz im told there is regional trains and express trains and ye know yerself landing there with 3 kids I'd like to know exactly what I'm lookin for.

Cheers again...

ps. Just got set up on Boards.ie so excuse me if I'm not going about this biz the right way...

Thanks for that link, useful site.

Think our stop is Salou on the train but just want an idea of what exact train to get from Barcelona centre (sants) coz im told there is regional trains and express trains and ye know yerself landing there with 3 kids I'd like to know exactly what I'm lookin for.

Cheers again...

ps. Just got set up on Boards.ie so excuse me if I'm not going about this biz the right way...

You may have to search a bit more :) eitherway the regional train will only take about 1hr15mins to Salou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭kingofburt

I'm assuming you're looking at trains from Barcelona Sants station, this is a huge station with 14 platforms, everything is well signed and has English announcements but the platform may change depending on the time of day.

You could also get the train from Passeig de Gracia station, this is much smaller, two platforms, running north and south. The Tortosa train leaves from platform 1 and it will be slightly less busy so more chance of getting a group of seats together.

I suppose it depends on where in Barcelona you are coming from but if you want a bit more relaxed and stressless journey I would use Passeig de Gracia.

We also used Passeig de Gracia with no issues

kingofburt wrote: »
    I'm assuming you're looking at trains from Barcelona Sants station, this is a huge station with 14 platforms, everything is well signed and has English announcements but the platform may change depending on the time of day.

You could also get the train from Passeig de Gracia station, this is much smaller, two platforms, running north and south. The Tortosa train leaves from platform 1 and it will be slightly less busy so more chance of getting a group of seats together.

I suppose it depends on where in Barcelona you are coming from but if you want a bit more relaxed and stressless journey I would use Passeig de Gracia.

Prob gonna go from Barcelona Sants alright. Is it safe to say the train I'm lookin for is the 'Tortosa' train? Can I pay my return trip from the train at the airport or does the train from the airport in to Barcelona sants have to be paid seperate to the one from Sants to Salou?

Thanks for help in this..

Yes, the Tortosa train is the one you want, as you know there are two types, the express is much more expensive than the regional train.

I'm not 100% sure but I'd imagine you should be able to get your tickets for Salou at the airport, there are ticket machines and a ticket office, the staff are really helpful and should get you sorted. All you would do in Sants then is change platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭newtothis2011

Im doing the same trip myself in a few weeks with my husband and 4 boys, anyone know if its a long walk from the train station at salou to the cambrils camping park??

kingofburt wrote: »
    Yes, the Tortosa train is the one you want, as you know there are two types, the express is much more expensive than the regional train.

I'm not 100% sure but I'd imagine you should be able to get your tickets for Salou at the airport, there are ticket machines and a ticket office, the staff are really helpful and should get you sorted. All you would do in Sants then is change platform.

Thanks for your help...prob should manage ok. Just with few kids with you dont want to be unsure of where we're headin ..

Oh, and we're playing Italy that eveing in the Euros so dont wanna be late..:)

Im doing the same trip myself in a few weeks with my husband and 4 boys, anyone know if its a long walk from the train station at salou to the cambrils camping park??

I have been told that its about a 15 min walk but that its handier to jump in a taxi at the train station coz wont cost much..
    We're staying at the Sanguli resort so I'am not sure if thats further away or closer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Cambrils Park is a taxi ride from Salou train station. Should cost about €10. Way too far to walk.... @ OP as stated Barcelona Sants is well signposted and there are loads of helpful english speaking guides in the station to help tourists. Buy your ticket to Salou at the airport station. Journey from Sants is about 1hr 15mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

By the time you get the bus to plaza catalunya, then a taxi to Sants,
    then a train to salou,then a bus or taxi to cambrils for five people, plus the stress of making sure you're on the right/bus/platform/train, perhaps a direct taxi mightn't be a bad option?

damian139 wrote: »
    By the time you get the bus to plaza catalunya, then a taxi to Sants,
    then a train to salou,then a bus or taxi to cambrils for five people, plus the stress of making sure you're on the right/bus/platform/train, perhaps a direct taxi mightn't be a bad option?

I contacted Cambrills park directly to get a price for a taxi pick-up at Barcelona airport and was told €180 ONE_WAY...:eek: so dont think that would be an option..

I have been told that its about a 15 min walk but that its handier to jump in a taxi at the train station coz wont cost much..
    We're staying at the Sanguli resort so I'am not sure if thats further away or closer..

AFAIK Sanguli is closer than Cambrils Park.

I dont know if a taxi will hold all 6 of us??

With regards to getting a taxi or transfer direct from Barcelona I have also priced around and it is quite expensive:(

Does anyone one if Plana bus goes direct from Barcelona Airport or is it from Barcelona City centre?? This might be a better option if goes direct from Airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

When i was in Cambrills there definitely was a Plana Bus going to the Airport via Barcelona city centre. Having done the train trip I would recommend the bus if at all possible esp with kids.

AFAIK Sanguli is closer than Cambrils Park.

I dont know if a taxi will hold all 6 of us??

With regards to getting a taxi or transfer direct from Barcelona I have also priced around and it is quite expensive:(

Does anyone one if Plana bus goes direct from Barcelona Airport or is it from Barcelona City centre?? This might be a better option if goes direct from Airport?

There is a direct bus alright from the airport @ €27 return. Here is the link
    http://www.busplana.com/en/transfers/

Hope this helps...still think the train seems to be a handy enough option. I was just lookin at google maps and Sanguli resort is only 1k from train station in Salou (think) ...hope so anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

The train station in Salou is on the Cambrils side of town, as opposed to Cap Salou/La Pineda on opposite side of town

There's usually only a handful of taxis there, but it won't cost more than €15 from train station to Cambrils.

If you're coming from Barcelona Airport I'd suggest getting the Plana bus as these will drop you at your resort (or very close to it).

Then when you have a little less time pressure you can take the (inexpensive) train into Barcelona to wander about the city

Seen as the bus goes direct from the airport I think it was be the handiest option for us, also Ive heard that the train can be very packed and you could be standing, at least on the bus your guaranteed a seat:)

When are you going DOC40? Where going June 12th, we went last year but we flew into Reus Airport the transfer is alot quicker from there.

Seen as the bus goes direct from the airport I think it was be the handiest option for us, also Ive heard that the train can be very packed and you could be standing, at least on the bus your guaranteed a seat:)

When are you going DOC40? Where going June 12th, we went last year but we flew into Reus Airport the transfer is alot quicker from there.

We're headin June 18th. Bus does seem a good option alright. R ye gonna book the bus before-hand? Think kids are 1/2 price too @€;14. Did ye look at the site?
    Mite have to think bout that :rolleyes:

We're headin June 18th. Bus does seem a good option alright. R ye gonna book the bus before-hand? Think kids are 1/2 price too @€;14. Did ye look at the site?
    Mite have to think bout that :rolleyes:

Dont think Ill book bus beforhand Id say there will be no problem getting on there and then. I didnt see that on the webiste that kids are half price?? Its says €14.95 one way thats per seat/per person and its €27 return.

Think ye mite be right there re €14.....That would be €27 x 5 in my case....
    I was lookin at our resort (Sanguli )which seems very handy for the train stop in Salou. Mite have to opt back to the train..Im told its handy so hope it works out that way...

Well!!
    Just wondrin how ye got on wit the hols?
    Our Sanguli resort was just fab.Think you were in Cambrillis itself werent you?
    Super resort, v clean,everything you want beside you. Kids didnt want to even leave the pools.
    We had no problem with the train to Salou. Got the train into Santes and the then transferred to Salou, €30 total for everyone. We then just got the busplana back to see how that was. €14.95 each which was good too.
    Already booked for next year so now no hassle no matter what way we travel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭seamus1980

Salou is a great place,i was there 4 years ago,hottest day was 44 degrees

Well!!
    Super resort, v clean,everything you want beside you. Kids didnt want to even leave the pools.
    We had no problem with the train to Salou. Got the train into Santes and the then transferred to Salou, €30 total for everyone. We then just got the busplana back to see how that was. €14.95 each which was good too.

Thats great, glad to hear you had a good holiday:) We hardly left the park, the boys spent their time in the pools and playing football, 90% of the kids there where Irish so they had great craic!
    It took us a while to find the right bus to take us from the Airport to Cambrils but we found it eventually! As check in is at 4pm we where in no rush anyway. We stayed in the Cambrils Park, we took a walk down to look around Sanguli but I thought it looked alot bigger than the Cambrils park so we have rebooked to stay in Cambrils park again as the boys know their way around it now! We booked for same time next year.
    Flights to Reus airport would work out so much handier though IMO, as its only a 15 min taxi ride away from the campistes €35. So next year Im definitely going to book flights for there. Not unless flights to BCN are ALOT cheaper!

Thats great, glad to hear you had a good holiday:) We hardly left the park, the boys spent their time in the pools and playing football, 90% of the kids there where Irish so they had great craic!
    It took us a while to find the right bus to take us from the Airport to Cambrils but we found it eventually! As check in is at 4pm we where in no rush anyway. We stayed in the Cambrils Park, we took a walk down to look around Sanguli but I thought it looked alot bigger than the Cambrils park so we have rebooked to stay in Cambrils park again as the boys know their way around it now! We booked for same time next year.
    Flights to Reus airport would work out so much handier though IMO, as its only a 15 min taxi ride away from the campistes €35. So next year Im definitely going to book flights for there. Not unless flights to BCN are ALOT cheaper!

Aye, better bookin whichever park kids are used to.. Think the reason we booked to Barcelona origanally was flights to Reus dont become available until maybe April every year, would that sound right?
    I think our total flights to Barcelona would be around €450 or so but would def go by Reus if possable.
    I think when ye have the resort for a certain date ye want to book the earliest flights to suit that so in that case it would have to be Barcelona. At the min flights from Belfast to Barcelona go as far as March 2013 so in 2 r 3 months ye could book for June 2013...

Well!!
    Aye, better bookin whichever park kids are used to.. Think the reason we booked to Barcelona origanally was flights to Reus dont become available until maybe April every year, would that sound right?
    I think our total flights to Barcelona would be around €450 or so but would def go by Reus if possable.
    I think when ye have the resort for a certain date ye want to book the earliest flights to suit that so in that case it would have to be Barcelona. At the min flights from Belfast to Barcelona go as far as March 2013 so in 2 r 3 months ye could book for June 2013...

Do you mind if I ask how much you paid for accomodation at these parks & whether you booked indepentently / travel agent etc? Thanks a mill

I think we paid about €700 for this years accomadation (Tahiti bungalow) and flights were about €600, just booked seperatley.
    Next years 2 weeks are for Tahiti suite(bit bigger+tv) for around €1600 and hoping to have flights for under €400 to Barcelona.

I think we paid about €700 for this years accomadation (Tahiti bungalow) and flights were about €600, just booked seperatley.
    Next years 2 weeks are for Tahiti suite(bit bigger+tv) for around €1600 and hoping to have flights for under €400 to Barcelona.

Thanks for that,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭anigheh

Hi im wondering if you could give me a little info re traveling to salou..am in two minds whether to go by train r bus!!! Is it a hassel for getting to train station transfering from Barcelona airport to city centre train station ...right?
    mabe bus just easier n more direct i know the bus drivers will drop you to your accomadation....
    Thanks in advance

ps we gettin into airport at half 8 in evening and traveling with a two year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭anigheh

anigheh wrote: »
    Hi im wondering if youn could give me a little info re traveling to salou..am in two minds whether to go by train r bus!!! Is it a hassel for getting to train station transfering from Barcelona airport to city centre train station ...right?
    mabe bus just easier n more direct i know the bus drivers will drop you to your accomadation....
    Thanks in advance

ps we gettin into airport at half 8 in evening and traveling with a two year old.
    Any takers???

anigheh wrote: »
    Any takers???

I don't know about the bus, but I would rule out the train. If your flight lands at 20.30 you would be under big pressure to get the train from the airport at 21.08 to Barcelona Sants. The later airport trains would get in to Sants too late. The last train to Salou leaves Sants at 22.00 so if there was a small delay anywhere you would be stuck.

If you check this site for the airport train http://www.renfe.com/viajeros/cercanias/barcelona/index.html and this site for the Salou train, http://www.renfe.com/ you can enter your dates and see what you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mitch61

hi all doing same trip next week is it possible to buy tickets at the airport to go to salou ..also the bus is another option cant see any prices for kids are they same as adults ??/

The bus price is 15 euro per person so that works Out at 90 euro for us, however we used the bus last year and i know it didnt coat 90 euro i forget exactly how much it was but i think it was around 60ish so the children must pay less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mitch61

yea found out its like train 40% of adult prices for kids u16 ..train looks like the best option .thanks