Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kickboxing or similar in Swords or surrounding areas

• 23-05-2012 4:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

I know there have been a few forums similar to this but alot of them are very dated, Basically im interested in finding out if there are any kickboxing classes or similar in the swords area or surrounding areas, I know about the karate classes in the school and have heard of Aikido classes too but more interested in the kickboxing style training,

Im hoping to find a class in this area becasue lets be honest if its too far away i wont train and if its all the grappling and throwing i wont fancy it too much either ..

any help would be great looking to get started up as soon as poss,
    cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MaeveD

We're just down the M1 in Clonshaugh Industrial Estate, near Northside Shopping Centre.

Mauro Sulcis is an ex Italian National Pro Kickboxing Champion and he teaches a Boxing/Kickboxing class on Wednesdays at 7pm, have a look at our website www.defendu.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Performance Martial Arts

We have kickboxing classes 6 days a week. We are 10 mins from swords too.

www.performancemartialarts.ie

www.performancemartialarts.ie/training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 fbfan78

cheers for that

are all the classes the same price? as per the website 15 euro for a hour class? thats a bit on the pricey side for me but thanks all the same
    MaeveD wrote: »
    We're just down the M1 in Clonshaugh Industrial Estate, near Northside Shopping Centre.

Mauro Sulcis is an ex Italian National Pro Kickboxing Champion and he teaches a Boxing/Kickboxing class on Wednesdays at 7pm, have a look at our website www.defendu.ie

cheers for that but ashbourne be alot more then ten mins from the gaf, looks like a good setup all the same and classes running 6 nights would provide great flexability, defo keep this one in mind,

cheers

We have kickboxing classes 6 days a week. We are 10 mins from swords too.

www.performancemartialarts.ie

www.performancemartialarts.ie/training

Theres a back road stright to Ashbourne from swords but you can also try a good friend of mine who has Kickboxing classes in swords too. His name is Jimmy Courtney and he runs Phieonix Martial Arts on the Feltrim road. Not sure of his times but he trains some great lads there and holds irish and world champs too. His number is 087 2968021.

Mick Burke

Theres a back road stright to Ashbourne from swords but you can also try a good friend of mine who has Kickboxing classes in swords too. His name is Jimmy Courtney and he runs Phieonix Martial Arts on the Feltrim road. Not sure of his times but he trains some great lads there and holds irish and world champs too. His number is 087 2968021.

Mick Burke

thanks a mill ill defo give him a bell

just seen this place http://www.xtremefitnessireland.ie/mugendo.html which is right in my neck of the woods, have you any idea or heard anything about this place?

fbfan78 wrote: »
    thanks a mill ill defo give him a bell

just seen this place http://www.xtremefitnessireland.ie/mugendo.html which is right in my neck of the woods, have you any idea or heard anything about this place?
    yeah there another good club but i wasnt aware they did kickboxing i thought they just did Thai but they are also very good club and they have mark casserly out there who is a pro K1 and thai champ too so they would be well worth checking out. best of luck with your training anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

I think Mark Casserly teachs Muay Thai out in swords. Training in Thai will either get you fit or kill you and Casserly just won a world K1 title so he knows his stuff.

[EDIT] Ah just noticed the above post, too much sun apparently. Sorry for repeating

Peetrik wrote: »
    I think Mark Casserly teachs Muay Thai out in swords. Training in Thai will either get you fit or kill you and Casserly just won a world K1 title so he knows his stuff.

[EDIT] Ah just noticed the above post, too much sun apparently. Sorry for repeating

is he based in that extreme fitness place,? have tried ringing them loads of times now but just keep gettin an answering machine where ya cant leave a message:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

I'd just go down and have a gander if I were in your postion then or better yet just drop in and try out a class. Get an idea of if its the type of training you were looking for, find out about class times etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

is he based in that extreme fitness place,? have tried ringing them loads of times now but just keep gettin an answering machine where ya cant leave a message:mad:

yeah he teaches thai there - which I do and really enjoy
    thai is on:

tues 18.30
    thurs 19:00
    sat 14:00

If you can't get through on the phone you could leave a post on FB with your questions.

http://www.facebook.com/xtremefitness.ireland

yeah he teaches thai there - which I do and really enjoy
    thai is on:

tues 18.30
    thurs 19:00
    sat 14:00

If you can't get through on the phone you could leave a post on FB with your questions.

http://www.facebook.com/xtremefitness.ireland[/QUOTE]

cheers!

i was looking into the classes they offer and was thinking about joining the Mugendo or the thai ,,, and as per the timetable the Mugendo classes are mondays and wednesday which suits me better then tues thurs so might go for that,,, how much do they charge by class or is it a yearly fee or what? im gonna pop over tonight anyway have a chat and a look at the class and see what I think,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭ants09

There is a mugendo club down in chanel college on Monday, Wednesdays & Saturdays and also One in Ashbourne and Glinn Road on Tuesdays & Thursdays i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭thelibertyboy

Hows it going
    I've been training now with the mugendo club in chanel since i was enquiring about it on here, my next question is where can I buy some decent foot and shin protection, i tried blitzsportts but there out of stock for the decent ones and have been for ages now, and ebay and amazon have all sorts that are cheap enough until you add on the postage costs,,
    if anyone knows anywhere in Ireland/england that supplies decent gear at a reasonable cost it would be greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

not kickboxing but I've bought most of my martial arts gear at Mullens Martial Arts on the corner of Mary Street and Campbell street

That said I'd ask your sensei/coach because they are likely to know what you need and where you can get it

Howya Ciaran

Cheers man,yeah one the coaches said to try that place on Capel street havnt had a chance to pop into him,, but just from talking to a few lads they seem to think its pricey enough, the gear the club recommend is top ten which are well pricey too was just hoping someone might of sourced some cheapish decent gear to get me started and I can pick up the better quality stuff as I progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭scottie pippen

Hey man, I train there as well. but I have been out with a injury the last few months.

Sensei Alan can order top ten gear, its is pricey but definitely worth it.

for gloves, spend a few quid if you can, but if your on a real tight budget,
    get some everlast gloves from argos, they will be under 30euro.
    top ten or top king are worth the money

get shin pads & a cup from Mullen sports on Mary st.
    cup will be a 10euro, shin pads will be 12, the brand is fite right.(cheap but ok to get started)
    the shin pads will be like a neoprene sock, these are better than the ones with straps, they don't move about to much.

head gear, I wouldn't buy cheap, best go with top ten, they are designed really well, they do a good job of keeping the sweat off your off your face, I used a cheap brand to begin with & my head was melted, and kept getting sweat in my eyes. the one pictured here is the one I use.
    Olympic_Head_Guard.jpg

Foot pads - Blitz sport have a decent pair that are very reasonably priced
    http://www.blitzsport.com/Professional-Leather-Foot?sc=8&category=6582

Hey man, I train there as well. but I have been out with a injury the last few months.

Sensei Alan can order top ten gear, its is pricey but definitely worth it.

for gloves, spend a few quid if you can, but if your on a real tight budget,
    get some everlast gloves from argos, they will be under 30euro.
    top ten or top king are worth the money

get shin pads & a cup from Mullen sports on Mary st.
    cup will be a 10euro, shin pads will be 12, the brand is fite right.(cheap but ok to get started)
    the shin pads will be like a neoprene sock, these are better than the ones with straps, they don't move about to much.

head gear, I wouldn't buy cheap, best go with top ten, they are designed really well, they do a good job of keeping the sweat off your off your face, I used a cheap brand to begin with & my head was melted, and kept getting sweat in my eyes. the one pictured here is the one I use.
    Olympic_Head_Guard.jpg

Foot pads - Blitz sport have a decent pair that are very reasonably priced
    http://www.blitzsport.com/Professional-Leather-Foot?sc=8&category=6582

Cheers man I have gloves, got my gum shield thru Alan's dentist contact, have that exact head gear and its just foot cup n shin protection I need,, I wanted to get those blitz sports ones but been sold out for ages,, ill have to pop into mullens allright see what's on offer, ill see ya up training soon hopefully I'm the newbie redser been there a few months ( cant miss me ) ha,, cheers again

no bother man, ill keep an eye out for ya. I will probably be back tomorrow or Wednesday, Ill be the short arse with tight hair who will be probably nackard after the warm up! ;).

If your in Mullen's, they have cheapish footpads by fite rite, think they are about 30euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Olympic_Head_Guard.jpg

They where 1 of the best in 1990, not these days, them stupid head guards slip off constantly and their is way better ones around now..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

@ Cowzerp, what brands of headgear are worth checking out?

I seen sap had one very similar to the top ten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

@ Cowzerp, what brands of headgear are worth checking out?

I seen sap had one very similar to the top ten

Everlast and Adidas have good ones-even the cheap brands are quite good now, better than top tens anyway-for competition i favour the adidas ones, For training due to expense i get top pro ones and they are basically the same thing without the badge that is necessary to be used in Boxing, it costs a lot of money to get tested for that-so same headgear for half the price really

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭JohnNightmare

i know this thread is a tad bit old but i was flicking tru a few different threads and this topic of head gear for kickboxing came up, i was also told top ten was the best also than i was told adidas have a better and cheaper one just wondering is this it.........
    http://indoorxtreme.co.uk/shop/brands/adidas/adidas-rookie-head-guard-ce-m-xl.html