Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BEGINNER

• 21-05-2012 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭

Hey everyone, I have recently taken up golfing and I'm just wondering what are the essential pieces of kit that help a beginner! (please save the obvious "golf clubs" etc. to yourselves)
    Cheers!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Patience.

I mean that. This game is lovely when everything is going well but when it goes bad, and it will, it can be hell on earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FANTAPANTS

a good bunch of lads who play golf and give you tips and help!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Raingear and a lot of patience to stick with it. A difficult game to come in to later in life, but more than worth it if you are willing to persevere.

Kace wrote: »
    Raingear and a lot of patience to stick with it. A difficult game to come in to later in life, but more than worth it if you are willing to persevere.

took it up at 29 had good mate who plays off 9 who helps me not afraid to give tips to me to help out hit eagle on par 5 18th hole in slieve russell in my 3rd round of golf...if you have people around you that will help you and arent afraid off you getting better than them it helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭have_a_go_hero

. A difficult game to come in to later in life,
    im only 20 thank fook! i have a good few friends who play well but slagging seems to be the order of the day not encouragement hahah think patience would be helpful alright!

slagging comes with the game mate keep head up and maybe get a lesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Slagging rights will come your way eventually, you're young with time on your side !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

Buy an R11s driver and a box of Pro V1, the V1x if possible, they're better in the wind. You shall not look back (Joke).

Seriously, get a couple of lessons and then play a great course on a quiet day. You'll be hooked!

Buy an R11s driver and a box of Pro V1, the V1x if possible, they're better in the wind. You shall not look back (Joke).
    and ring me before you go out so i can walk behind you and get a few freebie pro vs :D:D

So had a round today well we came in after 11 holes! Had a terrible start but slowed down and hit 3 good ones up the fairway! Even pared one 4par! Happy enough start I suppose!!

happy days hope ya have the bug now... more practice..enjoy..and keep head down and have fun ..."ITS ONLY A GAME"

Awh yeah it's fun alright especially when ya play for free ha! Will definitely be back for more! Biggest struggle is choosing the right clubs on the fairways

dont try and kill a ball... take a 6iron and hit it nice and easy 150 yards down the fairway and get a rythem instead if trying to cream a 3iron or wood and it going no where or out of bounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Someday

Only playing a few weeks myself but I have talked to a lot of people and this This is what I recekon !

1. Lessons and Lessons and even more, you will at least 5 to start off with ! Mates are fine but sometimes the advice is incorrect and no point hitting the driving range if you standing incorrectly etc etc

2. Keep to par 3 courses for the moment ! You will only get frustrated with the tougher courses at the moment, there is one in juilanstown which is great and not that busy so no one behind you giving out ! :)

3. Get cavity back clubs and clubs with plenty of forgiveness ( good second hand) these clubs are great for people like us

4. Leave you driver at home for the moment and start with the 3 wood off the tee, I can get this now to 200 with the lessons I got, only 3 so far !
    Then buy a ping G20 or simlar when comfortable with a driver !

5. Don't buy cheap new clubs, get good second hand ones ( cavity back and plenty of forgiveness)

Good luck with it

5. Proper glove, shoes and wet gear !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Someday wrote: »
    Only playing a few weeks myself but I have talked to a lot of people and this This is what I recekon !

1. Lessons and Lessons and even more, you will at least 5 to start off with ! Mates are fine but sometimes the advice is incorrect and no point hitting the driving range if you standing incorrectly etc etc

2. Keep to par 3 courses for the moment ! You will only get frustrated with the tougher courses at the moment, there is one in juilanstown which is great and not that busy so no one behind you giving out ! :)

3. Get cavity back clubs and clubs with plenty of forgiveness ( good second hand) these clubs are great for people like us

4. Leave you driver at home for the moment and start with the 3 wood off the tee, I can get this now to 200 with the lessons I got, only 3 so far !

5. Don't buy cheap new clubs, get good second hand ones ( cavity back and plenty of forgiveness)

Good luck with it

Fair play, good sum up

**** you have no ball ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Good luck with it

I'd agree with the cheap clubs shout alright , I'm only playing 2 months and hooked on the game . I went out an bought a starter Dunlop set for 150 and my friend bought a second hand set of callaways for 200 , he got the better clubs beleave me .

I started by playing a practice 7 hole course in grange castle 2 times a week for 6 or 7 weeks , and the 2 last weekends iv got on full courses and I'm out playing south county this weekend , I understand it's not going happing overnight but I'm improving and really loving a game I taught would never interest me

Balls ! Seen this today which may help also :)

http://www.secondhitgolfballs.com/economy-grade-used-golf-balls/100-mixed-golf-balls-aaa or different options on the site !

Balls ! Seen this today which may help also :)

http://www.secondhitgolfballs.com/economy-grade-used-golf-balls/100-mixed-golf-balls-aaa or different options on the site !

Great deal - when you spend over 2 euro a ball it is time to give up.

Over 3 euro a ball, just go to the pub.

How many do you use a year ?

I was loosing 5 for a 9 hole round but down to 1 now ;)

Probably need 100 for a full year ??

How many do you use a year ?

I was loosing 5 for a 9 hole round but down to 1 now ;)

Probably need 100 for a full year ??

Lol, go play Corballis or The Island and work it out then :D

Down to 1 is great going. Great laugh when you look at your ball at the end and it is the same ball.

Take your time, try relax before you hit the ball, don't listen to me, did it wrong for so long.