Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Betty D'Arcy Memorial

• 20-05-2012 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭

Anyone else in this one? Gorey Sunday stage course, very draggy, with one short, sharp climb at Craanford, 75km for the A4s.

Like a Sunday spin to begin, but the attacks started as soon as we turned left at Craanford. I rode pretty damn aggressively, hoping to get a break like Dunsany's going, but it never happened. Stayed at the head of the race the whole time, attack after attack. Nothing stuck at all at all. Kinda frustrating really. I could pick out maybe 20 guys who were making the race interesting, and trying to get things going - couple of Lakesiders, a Wexford Wheeler, SCC, Orwell, Epic, few others whose jerseys I can't place, including a red and white one.

There was a KOM prize on lap two at Craanford, the pace went through the roof for it. I think either an Usher or SCC got it. joker77 put up a good fight, but was overtaken at the top of the climb.

Came down to a bunch gallop, spread across the width of the road. Hairy bloody stuff, reminded me of the start of the season at times. If I sound bitter, it's only partially because I didn't place. :D I don't have the head or the balls to take the risks that the mass sprints require. I don't know what the general feeling is, but I don't see the point in heading out on a Sunday to race if all you're going to do is sit in the bunch and wait for the end. Unless you're a pure-blooded sprinter of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Had planned to head down to this but banjaxed my back yesterday morning. Heard the A2/A3 race came down to the gallop too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I sat a few bikes back from the front for most of the race. I'd really damaged myself going for that KOH, thought I had it but didn't see the Usher guy over my right shoulder. Was well gassed though, fair play to him for grabbing it.

From a few bikes back - it really didn't look like there were any concerted attacks - more increases of pace hoping to burn the bunch off. But as you say buffalo - there's probably 15-20 up around the front in A4 that are well able for the surges like that. I think the time to get away would have been on the 3rd lap, after Cranford, allowing no recovery time after that hill - with 4-6 guys getting clear of the bunch and putting the hammer down. I hadn't got the legs for a break like that today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭DKO

Yea, I thought that after the last gallop up Cranford there was an opportunity to get away, but the pace didn't stay up. The finish was hilarious, riders throwing themselves around the road looking for gaps, spread right across the road and a car coming the opposite direction and all, as far as I could see she lads started sprinting 3km out! They ran out of steam and others came around and the pattern went on till the finish with the bunch recycling itself. Fair play to everyone for not crashing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

Enjoyed the A4 race today, nice to have some decent weather for a change. Found the pace relatively high for most of the race. Tried a few attacks in the first 1.5 laps but it seemed that no one was getting away. I had to just sit in at that stage anyway as I was cooked. Got dropped the third time up the Craanford climb but gritted the teeth and got back on with a fella from Wexford Wheelers. Recovered in the bunch for the remainder of the final lap and managed to grab 2nd in the sprint. Delighted.

I had no garmin today so not sure of average pace/hr etc but it felt like one of the tougher races this season for me. I think everyone is getting stronger. Thought it was a good safe race bar the madness with lads going around the traffic Islands etc into on coming traffic on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Had planned to head down to this but banjaxed my back yesterday morning. Heard the A2/A3 race came down to the gallop too.
    you just chicked out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

If you don't make your A3 debut soon, we might end up making it together after all! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Any results of this online? Suppose the RAS is (deservedly) taking all the attention on Cycling Ireland.