Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

South O'Hanlon AC 5km, Navan 4/7/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Signed up for this last week..It'll be my first time doing it, but sure its only over the road!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Signed up for this, going by last years thread its a great race, heres hoping we get some decent weather for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭mattym

Its great to see the entries coming in for the race, i suppose i'm biased when it comes to my own club race but it really is top class. All we can hope for is feedback as good as we got last year, and maybe a dry evening, even though the damp conditions didnt take away from last year. And remember, best value race in the county at €13 online entry!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

And I'm in.. Going to be making my dubut at 5k. I'll have absolutely no idea how to approach the distance. Looking forward to it.

No time to settle into a 5km race runforest run, best to go off as fast as you can for 3km, and then up it for the last 2....... Sounds easy!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Duzzie

Hmmm may give this a go. It's just up the road from my week day home. Good reviews on last years page but i will probably get left behind, some seriously quick times for last years run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

Duzzie wrote: »
    Hmmm may give this a go. It's just up the road from my week day home. Good reviews on last years page but i will probably get left behind, some seriously quick times for last years run.

From what I remember from last year there was a pretty broad standard of runners including some walkers so no fear of you being left behind.

Dont let that bother you at all Duzzie, as beeduybe said there will be all standards there on the night, from the speed merchants up the front to the walkers at the back. Plenty of room for all standards...

All signed up. Gonna have to go find the course but it looks like a decent course to set a fair time on.

The course map is available on the link at the top of this page. Not a bad course, a bit of a drag of a rise from when you leave the main road up to the church but flat then till the finish. Good to have you on board!!!

mattym wrote: »
    The course map is available on the link at the top of this page. Not a bad course, a bit of a drag of a rise from when you leave the main road up to the church but flat then till the finish. Good to have you on board!!!

A 20m climb doesn't sound too bad. The roads I usually run on are back country roads with some hilly bits but a visit will give me a better idea.

I assume my race number will be posted out or do you pick it up on the night?

Hi Duzzie, you can collect your number on the night from Seneschalstown GFC clubhouse where we are doing the registrations, it's just under a km from the start area, just far enough to be your warm up!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Ruarl Runner

Ah the Meath AC's just keep producing gems... This is a well organised race by the SOH club. Just signed up for this myself and it's great value for Eur13... No need to enter over priced events when the clubs host these sort of races....

Added bonus...... entry includes a tech T too for that price!!!

Went and had a nosey at the course this evening, looks a fair course. I only hope that it's not as wet for the race as it was tonight. I also hope that the level crossing doesn't close, that could slow me down a bit.

One question though, the route posted in the opening post does not seem to match the road on the mapping, I assume that this is a mapping glitch or is there a path by the railway that is used rather than the main road for this section of the course.

Duzzie wrote: »
    One question though, the route posted in the opening post does not seem to match the road on the mapping, I assume that this is a mapping glitch or is there a path by the railway that is used rather than the main road for this section of the course.

Last year it was all on the road. Here is my Garmin link if it helps:

http://connect.garmin.com/player/97697765

beeduybe wrote: »
    Last year it was all on the road. Here is my Garmin link if it helps:

http://connect.garmin.com/player/97697765

Thanks Beeduybe, your trace shows it following the roads. I got a bit worried that I'd need to bring my wellies to run through the fields. Seems the route has been reversed for this year.

The confusion over the course is my fault, sorry. The link at the top does seem to be part cross country!!!! I have corrected the course on the link below, its the exact same course as last years race. Thanks for clearing it up beeduybe. Hoping for a dry evening but sure a drop of rain will help keep us all cool..........

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/17782608

Only 24 hours to go, forecast looking like a wet afternoon but a dry evening. We'll take that!! If you haven't entered on-line make sure to arrive early, we're expecting a crowd!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Al0502

Is it too late for online entry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Al0502 wrote: »
    Is it too late for online entry?

Yes I think you have to enter tonight for €15

If theres such a thing as a bad road race in Meath i've yet to hear of it. Well done South O Hanlon, organisation, registration, course all excellent and results up on Precision Timing already. €15 entry fee is value for money and a tech t-shirt. Ran 61sec PB in 19.49 which i'm well happy with, course has few little inclines. And they sorted the weather for the evening.

Thanks Tang1, we're delighted with the evening. Even the one thing which was out of our control, the weather stayed great. Congrats on the pb, great running considering you have that climb up to the church. I have attached below the link to the full results.

http://www.precisiontiming.net/result/racetimer?v=%252Fen%252Frace%252Fshow%252F908%253Flayout%253Dprecision_timing

Just home after running this, set myself a target of 25mins, beat that with a bit to spare so i'm a happy bunny. It was a very well organised run which i thoroughly enjoyed, the sun even came out for it. Great to get a hot shower after and a few sarnies, bickies and drink to recharge the batteries. If i'm about in this neck of the woods next year, i'll definitively be back for this run. Compliments to everyone involved in organising it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Fantastic event this evening. Good course, excellent organisation, beautiful weather, nice T-shirt, very tasty sandwiches, all for €13.

I ran 18.14. First time running a 5k, so I just went as fast as I could manage and nearly collapsed across the line. I hear that's what 5k races are all about. Loved it. I'll be back for more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

I echo what everyone has said so far. A really well organised race and great value at €13. Course was "undulating" and weather played ball so an enjoyable evening (well as enjoyable as a 5km can be :)).

Thanks to all the friendly volunteers and marshalls for their encouragement and to the locals who came out to support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

First test for me since Cork Marathon (and holidays).
    First 5k since my first ever race 3 years ago.
    19:36 so at least the sub 20 box is ticked.

I found this more grueling than marathons!

Thanks for a great race - good advert for club races and Meath.

Well done to South O'Hanlon on another well organised race. Just flatten them hills for next year and it would be perfect :D

Really shows what a tricky course it was that Colin Costello was 30 seconds slower in winning last night than he was in Kilcock last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Well done to everyone last night in a very well organised race. Loads of stewards to help with parking, quick entry, technical tee-shirt as part of €15 entry fee, race starting on time, course bang on 5K and results available straight after the race.

Found the course undulating and tough in spots but enjoyed the race and atmosphere. Would hope to do the race again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭wideball

Thanks to South O'Hanlons for the great organisation and great value on a perfect evening for running.

17:53 for me, 1st time under 18 minutes so will have happy memories! Paced it slow and then faster from just before the Church thanks to a local knowledge tip I got which seemed to work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Hammer

beeduybe wrote: »
    Really shows what a tricky course it was that Colin Costello was 30 seconds slower in winning last night than he was in Kilcock last week.

It certainly was a tricky course and would give a slower time - wind in the face for the first 2km and fair hills. - I was only watching this year - but Colin Costello was only toying with the lads in the lead group [see here at 1km http://pjrphotography.zenfolio.com/p864697640/h2171df2c#h318e23a7]- and didn't actually make any significant push for the win until about Beauparc railway crossing (1km to go) - fair play to him when you have that ability :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Great event last night, everything was excellently organised and if there was a poll it definitely would be a 5* from me....

course was a great test of stamina:eek: and the sun shone for us, with a lovely cooling breeze in places. Definitely be back for this next year!!! Delighted witha PB of 27 sec on last 5k in Bohermeen a month ago!!!:D

Younganne wrote: »
    Great event last night, everything was excellently organised and if there was a poll it definitely would be a 5* from me....

course was a great test of stamina:eek: and the sun shone for us, with a lovely cooling breeze in places. Definitely be back for this next year!!! Delighted witha PB of 27 sec on last 5k in Bohermeen a month ago!!!:D

Well done on the PB Younganne, not sure what 5k course in Bohermeen is like compared to last night, but last nights time is 30 secs quicker on a flatter road i'd say. Great route to PB on.