Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is one permission enough

• 17-05-2012 6:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭

After years of hunting with my dad and now I'm livin with me moth it's well time to get me own gun and licence I have permission off one farmer the other land is too far away to drive for piece of paper
    The land I have permission for has over 180 acres is that enough for my licence I asked a gard before and he wasn't to sure but said it should be enough
    Any one able to clear it for me please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Mr.Woodcock

I think it says you have to have two farmers, every Garda I've ever asked told me 2, Along with my gun club membership, and in the application there is space for 2! So I'll assume you'll need 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Thanks for replying
    That's what I was reading on the licence application but the Gard i was talkin to said if there's enough land one should be enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

1 permission will work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

one can work. 180 acres is a decent enough amount to have down. What caliber are you going for?

You could also join the local gun club and you'll have more land with that.

It will depend on your super. Get onto the FO and ash him/her what will it be enough and not a everyday guard cos they haven't a clue to be honest.

If he wants more knocking on farmers doors another option. Worst they can say is no.

garv123 wrote: »
    one can work. 180 acres is a decent enough amount to have down. What caliber are you going for?

You could also join the local gun club and you'll have more land with that.

It will depend on your super. Get onto the FO and ash him/her what will it be enough and not a everyday guard cos they haven't a clue to be honest.

If he wants more knocking on farmers doors another option. Worst they can say is no.
    Thanks for replying mate
    Over the years hunting with my dad had some bad experience with gun clubs so won't be joining them
    I actually got some land today for hunting my Harris hawk on and he said I can shoot with rifle aswell but think it'd be cheeky to ask him for a signed piece of paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

The essential trick is to get a few ( 2 or 3 should be ample if they total well over 100 acre ) written permissions from farmers you know well in an area and once you've established yourself a bit as not being a complete gob****e you'll get the nod from others in the area as well.

Let's face it, the farming community grapevine is probably one of the best maintained information networks in this country and once your name has featured in a positive sense with a few lads doors will open.

As for how many written permission you need, as far as I know there's no cast in stone rule but a now retired rural station Sergeant told me in or around 100 acre would be considered as the minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Ziggieire

one worked for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

I have one permission (180 acres) for the Deer with a .270 and an application for a .22lr with one permission (200 acres) FO rang 2 weeks ago with a query on the application but not on the amount of permission. it was another issue so I am assumung the one is ok.

Iwebt up to Garda station today about it and girl said she wasn't sure so she took my number and said the FO will ring me after lunch but sure who knows when il get that call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭good logs...

join a gun club that should be enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Don't bother your barney mentioning the amount of acres as they don't ask that.
    Land is land big or small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

my friend got a licence for shotgun with 52 acres from laytown garda station but it different in other jurisdictional

Well I live in tallaght so it's harder for reasons unexplained :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

ye im in dublin myself and not the nice part :rolleyes: and waiting over 4 weeks now for my reply