Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gallagher reel - Help!

• 16-05-2012 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭

GearedReel500m_lg.jpg

Quick one... lads ye'I think I'm right thick!:p

OK after all my protesting about polywire/tape, I went and bought one of these gallagher geared reels this evening. How do I put the poly tape on correctly? Only had a quick look at it this evening.

Do I connect it to the wire loop and then wind on? It looks to me like this loop is insulated with the plastc drum.. so how does the current flow to the metal hook?? Am I missing something?

There has to be someone with the same reel that can set me straight :rolleyes:

Thanks in advance

Muckit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Tie it around the middle wind it on. Tie one side onto electric fence and off you go accross field putting up pigtails as you go. At other side either tie onto electric fence or use insulator with a bit of rope on it and tie electric tape/polywire on to it then lock reel tie tape onto handle and hand off wire/fence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

as said above put your handle on cord,put handle on to elec wire and walk off,the metal part of reel is not live,so i just hook it on to a branch at other side of the field or hook it on to other wire by using the hook on reel,no need for messing with other insulaters as its already insulated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Small thing - If you look on the plastic reel, there should be a small hole. Push the tape/polywire through the hole and knot. Better I think than trying to tie it tight around the plastic drum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

leg wax wrote: »
    as said above put your handle on cord,put handle on to elec wire and walk off,the metal part of reel is not live,so i just hook it on to a branch at other side of the field or hook it on to other wire by using the hook on reel,no need for messing with other insulaters as its already insulated.

Did none of ye watch the video...??

OK, the handle with the reel is plastic (like the one on the left of second pic). So there's no current on the reel until you get to the other side, well this is the way they designed it anyways. Would most lads here use the gate type handle and have power on the reel when rolling? I think this is where the confusion lies......

Pak.... it seems you hook your wire from lead onto fence first and then walk for the hedge, right?

I just found this photo online of my reel in use. I don't seem to have the red lead with the crocodile clips..... :o I could just use a gate handle instead of the full plastic handle and not be fuss pottin'....

30023_29929_Portable-Electric-Fencing.jpglargegalleryimage-race-gate.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

tie other end straight to stake or branch in hedge, or use one of those plastic handles for the end of reels

205322.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Dar isn't that wire earthing??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

May as well have no fence up if your going to earth you fence like that, especially if you have anything other than milking cows!

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Dar isn't that wire earthing??
    no, tied to wooden stake on either end, cant earth unless contact is made with ground some how

Muckit wrote: »
    Pak.... it seems you hook your wire from lead onto fence first and then walk for the hedge, right?
    What I was talking about above was the initial winding of the tape/polywire onto the bare reel.

Ya, I hook end of polywire onto hightensile wire and then walk to far off hedge with reel in hand. Easiest way really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Skiup

I worked these in nz and the plastic handle is known as a non kick handle. This enables you to safely let the wire out without fear of shock especially when doing it from a quad or bike. At the end just loop the the wire over the metal hook and the reel is live and won't fall off if its on good steel wire. The non kick handle is very handy for taking up fences cause once you have the reel off you know it's no longer electric and you can remove the posts easily.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

jeez dar31 thats looking rough, it will earth on a wet day anyway. I use an insulator with a baler twine on the end of all my string fences, wouldn't like a gate handle with the wire live while I'm putting it up.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    jeez dar31 thats looking rough, it will earth on a wet day anyway. I use an insulator with a baler twine on the end of all my string fences, wouldn't like a gate handle with the wire live while I'm putting it up.

should have took a pic in a paddock with a nice tidy wire, but thats where the cows are today, and the fence is there this 30 years, and still another 20 left in the oak stakes.

what it earths on a wet day, is very minimal even coming out of the winter there is very little earth, fault finder on fence tester never registers any reading for faults on the line running to stake, dont understand the bit about gate handle.

i find it the best and easiest way, as you can pull a nice tight pull on polly wire and then tie it off, lap around hook end, and put power into wire

dar31 wrote: »
    tie other end straight to stake or branch in hedge, or use one of those plastic handles for the end of reels

Dar31, I appreciate you going to the effort of taking the pic. Wrapping the wire around the hook sounds like a plan.

But as regards tying off polywire, if I put a fence up like that I'd find a ball of wire and bent stakes strewn all over the shop next time I'd be herding :o

You want a fistful of these in your pockets and use them instead of tying wire directly to the wood posts at the end ;)

11zz6rPSgzL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭cjpm

should have took a pic in a paddock with a nice tidy wire, but thats where the cows are today, and the fence is there this 30 years, and still another 20 left in the oak stakes.

what it earths on a wet day, is very minimal even coming out of the winter there is very little earth, fault finder on fence tester never registers any reading for faults on the line running to stake, dont understand the bit about gate handle.

i find it the best and easiest way, as you can pull a nice tight pull on polly wire and then tie it off, lap around hook end, and put power into wire

That's exactly how we do it too.

The current loss is minimal even on a wet day, you'd never ever hear it short.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I use an insulator with a baler twine on the end of all my string fences, wouldn't like a gate handle with the wire live while I'm putting it up.

The oul lad used to always just use baler twine at the end of the line, no insulator! :rolleyes: It would be grand on a fine day, but it had to be earthing like hell when it rained. I never knew what egg was back then, so 'monkey see, monkey do' until I found out different :)

Yes I don't like the idea of using a live polywire reel either.

Thanks lads to everyone that posted, it really has been helpful. As always, it appears there's more than one way to skin a cat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Why do we bother with insulators at all then?

....the fence is there this 30 years, and still another 20 left in the oak stakes....
    Those oak stakes are something else, aren't they. We have a few still around the place. I remember trying to drive staples in them about 20 yrs ago, like concrete they were. Can they still be got?
    They will last 30 years, no problem. Those regular ones in the COOP only last about 5 years.

I think the electrical conductivity (o000hhhhhhhhhh! :p) of oak might be poor. This could be why dar is gettin away with tying directly to his oak stakes. It could be a different story for a softwood stake.

I think there is/was a timber stake out, perhaps not in this country, and you didn't have to use insulators with it..... 'insultimber' or something, I must google... I don't think they were oak though.

It's not always the material that you have to worry about either. Water will carry a certain amount, so when it rains and a drip forms, it can carry current along and leak it to ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

I think there is/was a timber stake out, perhaps not in this country, and you didn't have to use insulators with it..... 'insultimber' or something, I must google... I don't think they were oak though.
    They're a Gallagher product, same as the reel in the OP!:
    http://www.gallagherireland.com/fence_component.aspx?mktprodid=4728

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

We have a bit of contract fencing from years back, 3 strands of high tensile wire through these insultimber stakes. They were calling them "Ironwood" at the time. To look at they're like mahogany timber. Tough stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Skiup wrote: »
    I worked these in nz and the plastic handle is known as a non kick handle. This enables you to safely let the wire out without fear of shock especially when doing it from a quad or bike. At the end just loop the the wire over the metal hook and the reel is live and won't fall off if its on good steel wire. The non kick handle is very handy for taking up fences cause once you have the reel off you know it's no longer electric and you can remove the posts easily.

This lad speaks the truth, I wouldn't try complicating it by doing it any other way. As long as the fence your hanging the reel on has a half decent tension on it ull be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭raindodger

do the same as dar current loss minimal dont forget when its wet shock is stronger as animal is earthed better so it balances out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

To highjack a little...the gears on our Gallagher reel are fooked...took it asunder and need 3 new small gears within the 'gearbox'..anyone know if they can be got?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

To hijack even further, I don't have a clue if they can be fixed but I remember looking at one of those geared reels before and thinking they looked alittle flimsy for the price, so instead I use old mig reels that my local engineering shop throw away, along with a battery powered drill, rolls them up good and quick and cost me nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

Good idea timmay.....did a bit o poking, and the Gallagher crowd in cork will supply replacement gearbox..a tenner...gramd job..
    Timmaay wrote: »
    To hijack even further, I don't have a clue if they can be fixed but I remember looking at one of those geared reels before and thinking they looked alittle flimsy for the price, so instead I use old mig reels that my local engineering shop throw away, along with a battery powered drill, rolls them up good and quick and cost me nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Turn off fence move wire turn on fence simples. I have a couple of fields set up the when you open the gap handle the current is disconnected all round the field. or most of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Anyone else use end insulators with a notch cut out of them to hook strip wire onto fences?

Are you talking about the 'eggs' freedom? sounds interesting, please ellaborate...

are you using it as an insulated handle or to make the strip wire live? :confused:

Are you talking about the 'eggs' freedom? sounds interesting, please ellaborate...

are you using it as an insulated handle or to make the strip wire live? :confused:

Tie the strip wire to the egg on the opposite end to the one you would use to take the strain with plain wire. The using a hacksaw/small grinder cut through the plastic into the hole on the other end of the egg just wide enough to take a plain wire. Hey presto insulated handle that will last. The gallagher ones don't last any length. Then just hook egg onto wire put up your pigtails and loop strip wire onto the hook on the reel as you attach it to fence at the other end. Don't even bother asking for photos it ain't gonna happen sorry.

your using it as a replacement insulated handle on reel. Got ya, no need for photos ;)

I have a bookmark somewhere about posting photos onto boards but I nearly had a meltdown reading the instructions never mind to say even starting to try and upload something:eek:

I have to say I much prefer lookin a photos in posts than reading loads of text. It's easy upload once you get the hang of it. The first time is always the hardest :D:D:D

1) create an account with imageshack.com
    2) take your photos, download to desktop from camera, then drag them into imageshack upload window
    3) There is a 'forum' link on each photo
    4) cut and past this into your boards post reply

Simple! ;)

I have to say I much prefer lookin a photos in posts than reading loads of text. It's easy upload once you get the hang of it. The first time is always the hardest :D:D:D

1) create an account with imageshack.com
    2) take your photos, download to desktop from camera, then drag them into imageshack upload window
    3) There is a 'forum' link on each photo
    4) cut and past this into your boards post reply

Simple! ;)

You lost me at "the first time":eek:

And you're making a lot of assumptions starting with the bit about me owning a camera/smartphone with a reasonable camera.

You lost me at "the first time":eek:

And you're making a lot of assumptions starting with the bit about me owning a camera/smartphone with a reasonable camera.

I don't own or never will have an iphone. Would be broke in 2min. my phone is like a sod of turf and still has a half decent camera. most phones have, so no excuses. Your OH can help you if you've problems working your equipment ;)

mf240 wrote: »
    Turn off fence move wire turn on fence simples. I have a couple of fields set up the when you open the gap handle the current is disconnected all round the field. or most of it.

Do anyone on here ever catch the fence when its still live. Having good Wellingtons saves most of the shock. saves some amonut of time if strip grazing

Heard of someone recently who has a bad heart and they blame it on a bad shock they got from a fencer.
    Would rubber gloves insulate you?

pakalasa wrote: »
    Heard of someone recently who has a bad heart and they blame it on a bad shock they got from a fencer.
    Would rubber gloves insulate you?

My dad has been catching all his life. Cant its the best thing for his health, it can only be bad for you really. He coerced me into it 10 years ago, hated catching it first. Its alright now, just got used of it

I don't own or never will have an iphone. Would be broke in 2min. my phone is like a sod of turf and still has a half decent camera. most phones have, so no excuses. Your OH can help you if you've problems working your equipment ;)

She's handy that way alright but when I have problems with igear I usually refer to the kids:D

My dad has been catching all his life. Cant its the best thing for his health, it can only be bad for you really. He coerced me into it 10 years ago, hated catching it first. Its alright now, just got used of it

Ya my oul lad is the same. Rang me up the other night saying 'that gauge you have isn't worth a f**K' after he out holding it..... and it reading 5bars for me!!!!! He's a loon. I told him to take off his socks and shoes and try it.... he laughed

Remember back in the day there'd always be a guy selling fencers just inside the gate of the ploughing. They'd have a probe earthing and sparking in a spud. One of the neighbours who is immune to fence shocks caught the probe an put it into his mouth just as the salesman was about to make a sale. He throws it back to onto the table after a couple of pulses saying "this things f'n useless" and walks off. I don't think the guy made his sale somehow.:D