Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greasy Hair

• 15-05-2012 10:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭

Well lads, im a 28 year old chap with mad curly hair. i find it really hard to keep it clean and nearly have to wash it everyday. i understand this is really bad for my hair but it starts to smell when i dont.. can anyone recommend a good shampoo for greasy hair? im currently using tresemme and its probably making my hair worse. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Theres a huge range of shampoo for all hair types, there's specific ones for hair that tends to be greasy. Most brands will have one for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Ive tried so many but i still end up having to wash my hair everyday.

Im the same tbh, i could probably get away with every second day but i love the feeling of freshly washed hair and don't think greasy hair is a good look to be honest, plus i have to style mine every time.
    Its usually more work for women.
    If your hair us curly srely you just wash it and let it dry naturally?

As in just lightly towel dry it and let it dry out then?
    Or dont towel dry it at all?

I'd expect Tresemme to make your hair worse, aren't most of their products specifically focused on adding volume and moisture? I used to use it because I had very frizzy dry hair.

First thing to do is post in the Beauty forum, you'll probably get great responses there.

Second thing is find a shampoo specifically stating it's "for greasy hair".

Third thing is, if you're using any conditioner, ditch it.

Fourth thing is stop touching your hair. Touching your hair will make it much greasier much faster, and it's easy to be someone who touches their hair a lot without noticing, so try to keep a check on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Polloloca

1st of all, tresemme is terrible for making your hair greasy. I like dove I think its called intensive. Get one for greasy hair not fine or flyaway.

2nd of all, stop washing it every day. It's smelly and needing a wash because you're stripping the oils from it. I wash my hair about twice a week now whereas I used to need to wash it once a day. If you're finding your hair is greasy and smelly, get yourself a can or batiste dry shampoo, you can even get it in tesco. Use that every second day. So wash it today, batiste tomorrow, wash the next day ect, and you should start to see a difference. You might see that you might only need the batiste every second day. Honestly this will be better for you in the long run. It's pretty hard to do, but stick with it and I promise that you will see a difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭crossy

Use cheap shampoo. Was happening me too. All the dear shampoos add moisture. The tesco value shampoo or other cheap ones where they are shower gel in one. Dry out your hair and work a treat :)

As in just lightly towel dry it and let it dry out then?
    Or dont towel dry it at all?

what i mean is that it probably doesn't take you long to style your hair, as in you don't blow dry it etc.

blacklilly wrote: »
    what i mean is that it probably doesn't take you long to style your hair, as in you don't blow dry it etc.

I don't style it at all.. just brush it out after drying it and leave it as it is..

Well if you don't have to do much to your hair after washing it, I suppose it doesn't matter that you wash yours everyday.

I wash my hair every day adn blow dry every day, my hair is in great condition. Washing it every day does not damage your hair, its usually heat, colouring etc that can damage it

blacklilly wrote: »
    Well if you don't have to do much to your hair after washing it, I suppose it doesn't matter that you wash yours everyday.

I wash my hair every day adn blow dry every day, my hair is in great condition. Washing it every day does not damage your hair, its usually heat, colouring etc that can damage it

No signs of gray yet so im alright for another while.. thanks for your help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

if you got greasy hair, either get a tight haircut.... less hair means less grease. or eat pedigree chum dog food as it seems to give them a glossy coat :P

but my sister who is a hairdresser said treseme is awful stuff for people with greasy hair. if your hair stinks after 1 day of not washing you might wanna get checked by a doctor as you may have glandular problems resulting in increased sweating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Try using a baby shampoo and try washing it every second day to start with.

As mentioned already all these "fancy" shampoos are adding moisture/oils that you don't need and they are also feckin up the natural process of your natural body/hair functions.

Baby shampoo is usually a neutral ph which can get your hair back to normal, also try a final rinse with cold water as it closes up the (can't remember the technical term :o) cell thingys in the shaft of the hair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Woah woah woah!

Washing your hair everyday is a bad thing?!? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Krusty, as was said, the expensive stuff is bad for your hair but so is the likes of Lynx shower gel. I know people who use this in their hair and they're always complaining of spots on the back of their head, greasy hair etc.

I think you should try Lynx Detox Shampoo. It's designed to get rid of all hair gel/wax/grease from your hair. It works very well and is about €5 for a bottle which should last a good while.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭missyb

Hey as a female who has a similar problem as regards oily hair, dont use the same shampoo every time, I have three shampoos all for my hair type that I alternate with, a residue builds up when you use the same shampoo every time time, also no conditioner near your roots ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭AnnaVanilla

Polloloca wrote: »
    1st of all, tresemme is terrible for making your hair greasy. I like dove I think its called intensive. Get one for greasy hair not fine or flyaway.

2nd of all, stop washing it every day. It's smelly and needing a wash because you're stripping the oils from it. I wash my hair about twice a week now whereas I used to need to wash it once a day. If you're finding your hair is greasy and smelly, get yourself a can or batiste dry shampoo, you can even get it in tesco. Use that every second day. So wash it today, batiste tomorrow, wash the next day ect, and you should start to see a difference. You might see that you might only need the batiste every second day. Honestly this will be better for you in the long run. It's pretty hard to do, but stick with it and I promise that you will see a difference

This is exactly what I do and I can highly recommend the Batiste dry shampoo. Don't know what I did before I started using it, you should definitely try it out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Do you wash your head properly? Like really dig your fingers into your scalp?

I have really thick hair and used to wash it every day, but a hairdresser taught me how to scrub my scalp properly and it's not nearly as bad now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I have really curly hair too OP, and my advice is look on the back of your shampoo to see the ingredients. Try and avoid ingredients like sodium laurel sulfate or silicones (they strip the hairs natural oils, which sounds good for greasy hair but by stripping the oils every day, your hair will produce more and more, hence you have greasy hair).

I find dry shampoo a lifesaver, but you will need to use a product the next day with curly hair- keep with the 'matt clay' type rather than a gel. Spray in the dry shampoo (make sure to get to the roots), leave for a minute or two then vigorously shake your head and rub your fingers through your hair. (The spray turns your hair white/grey, and usually you brush it out but you can't with curly hair). Once it's clear, take a little of the product you chose, rub it in your hands to melt it a little, and tilt your head over. Scrunch in the product all over, and then stand upright. Voila, should be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Irish_Elect_Eng

Give a "PolyTar" shampoo a try.

Some folks don't like the scent, but I use it as a once a week shampoo and it really leaves my hair squeaky clean and shining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

My ex got me salon brand stuff and I will never go back. You have to be prepared to pay top dollar for it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭fallen01angel

Just a suggeston and kind of surprised it hasn't been mentioned earlier but have you tried "batiste" dry shampoo...it basically absorbs grease etc so it reduces the amount of times you wash your hair a week, it was recommended to me by another female friend as I was washing my hair every single day and now I only wash my hair every 2nd day by using this product on the days in between. It's available in Sam McCauley chemists but I presume most chemists stock it,just check the different cans for fragrences.:)

Silly me above poster already recommended it......but she's dead right,it really works!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

+1 for dry shampoo, there's no need to be washing your hair every day. Even when I had long hair (6 inches passed shoulders), I got 3 days out of my hair.

Specifically for curly hair, I recommend ditching the hair brush, just go for a wide-tooth comb after showering, and a salt-spray for styling. Toni & Guy range in Boots does a good one. Lots of hair gels can make your hair greasy and weight it down, the spray is very light and is great for curls.

Boots also stock a "Naturals" range, that has less sulphate and silicone based ingredients, which strip and weight down the hair. They're more expensive than the average brand, but you'll often find them on special offer (3 for 2 etc). Can't think of the brand name, apologies.

You should definitely see a difference after a weeks of washing your hair less. Give it some time to recuperate :)