Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Give up ownership rights of a car.

• 15-05-2012 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭

I have sold my car to a useless so and so who will not change the ownership. I dont need to be told what i should have done. I know that now but does anyone have a link to the form i need to fill out and get signed by a solicitor or the police commisioner (I know that not the name it's something else)

Dave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Its a statutory declaration you need, on the phone here so cant link it. You could also get a replacment logbook for €12 and just fill it out and post it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270

Thanks but none of them are it. Its a letter i need signed stating that i give up all rights to the car as of date x. He has the log book.

I don't want to change ownership i just want to declare the car out of my name.

Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

im tempted to report it stolen to be honest.

Was it stolen?

Mugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Aggiem

You swear an affidavit at a commission of oaths saying that you have sold and car and go to the tax office with the affidavit. The cost of the affidavit cost around €10 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

If its still in your name, get a replacement logbook, fill in the change of ownership and send it off.

I just found it. He sold it to a garage without telling me.

I just found it. He sold it to a garage without telling me:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78698118#post78698118

It was stolen and i sold it to a dealer. He's selling it on again as you can see.

Sorry, What ?

He stole your car and has the log book.... And now he has sold it on to a garage who are trying to sell it but it's always been stolen from you so he has no right to sell it..... even though he has the log book ?

Mugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

354g9n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Connavar

Op had the car stolen, got it back, then sold it and that guy sold it on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

What ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

You cant just declare it ou of your name, it has to go somewhere - another owner, scrapped, whatever.

Don't report it stolen, it's not.

Ok from the start.

Car was stolen March 1st
    Car was recovered on March 6th
    Insurance company deemed it a CAT D write off
    I sold it to a guy for 6 grand in its damaged state on March 28th
    He never changed the name over to him
    He sold it to that dealer without telling me
    Car is still in my name
    I'm calling them tomorrow to straighten it out

Connavar wrote: »
    Op had the car stolen, got it back, then sold it and that guy sold it on ;)

In which case the theft has no relevance.

As already stated you can swear an affidavit for €10 and send it to Shannon.

Mugs

Did the dealer not check his ID off the name on the logbook, or did he claim to be you ?

Surely that isn't legal

MugMugs wrote: »
    In which case the theft has no relevance.

As already stated you can swear an affidavit for €10 and send it to Shannon.

That's what I now plan on doing unless I can get the dealer on carzone to complete a RF105 which will work too.

I wanted to see if there was a link to the affidavit that i can download to bring in to be signed. I misplaced the one i got from Shannon.

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    So the car was stolen and recovered while you owned it....you then sold it to a dealer....he never changed ownership to himself. He doesn't have to. When you sell, or trade in, a car to a Dealer you simply fill in an RF105 Form which takes the car out of your name but doesn't add an extra owner to subsequent Reg Certs.
    The Dealer you apparently sold the car to should obviously know this so he would really be at fault here.
    But, you could have checked all of this yourself before you posted here about reporting that your car car was stolen....again !!!!

I didnt say it was. I said i was tempted to report it stolen again well threaten to to make him do his part.

Now i know who has the car i can get a RF105 done. The guy i sold it to was in the trade and i already tried to get him to do a RF105. I dont blame the dealer in the add for anything. I found the car online after i started this thread by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

OP, get your story straight before people start thinking<SNIP> have something to do with stolen or written off cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

I didnt say it was. I said i was tempted to report it stolen again well threaten to to make him do his part.

I understand your frustration but reporting the car as stolen would expose you to some serious trouble - making a false report of a crime to the Gardai which is a crime in itself and if the guy was arrested by the cops for driving a stolen car, he could sue you for defamation and damages for being wrongfully arrested and locked up in a cell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Folks,
    I have a question along these lines.
    I am selling privately at the moment and have a few interested parties. The most interested i.e offering the most, says he will only buy it if I leave the logbook to him to fill out, send off, etc. He says he will leave me a copy of his ID.
    It all sounds a little too shady, but what are my worst case scenarios here? What might he be up to? He is offering way more.
    Thanks.
    F.Field

EDIT: sorry for derailing slightly here.

AltAccount wrote: »
    OP, get your story straight before people start thinking <<SNIP>> motors have something to do with stolen or written off cars.

I've tidied up what i said and i dont believe that they have done anything wrong. Its the guy in the middle i blame for messing me around not them.

You might remove their name from your post too.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Funkfield wrote: »
    Folks,
    I am selling privately at the moment and have a few interested parties. The most interested i.e offering the most, says he will only buy it if I leave the logbook to him to fill out, send off, etc. He says he will leave me a copy of his ID.
    It all sounds a little too shady, but what are my worst case scenarios here? What might he be up to? He is offering way more.

You are allowed to hand over the cert to a dealer but if he really is a dealer, he should be offering you the lowest price so I'd refuse his request.

You don't have to sign your name at the end of a post.

Folks,
    Thanks.
    F.Field

DONT DO THIS.

If he gets a speeding ticket, toll fine etc. you are liable.

Folks,
    Thanks.
    F.Field

Never sell a car and hand over the logbook, anything done by that car is in your name, unless you like the cops calling at 4am asking you why you did a hit and run or the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Folks,
    Thanks.
    F.Field

Unless he's exporting it, you are going to get a lot of parking, toll and speeding fines. If your lucky.

Always post off the VLC, the only compromise would be to both bring it to a post box at 17:25 and watch him post it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

coylemj wrote: »
    You are allowed to hand over the cert to a dealer but if he really is a dealer, he should be offering you the lowest price so I'd refuse his request.

RF105 if selling to a dealer

edit: and OP Post no.14 should probably have been Post no.1

And @ Mr. F. Field, has this buyer mentioned how he will be paying for your car ? i.e. Cash, Cheque or Bank Draft....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Del2005 wrote: »
    Unless he's exporting it, you are going to get a lot of parking, toll and speeding fines. If your lucky.

He had said about exporting it but I have always sent off the log book myself. No one has ever asked me could they do it.
    Thanks for the answers. I didn't want to do it, but I am fully convinced now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

OP has asked me to close this up, the current dealer isn't at fault. If the OP has any more to add then I'll re-open.