Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I had a bit of a scrape....

• 14-05-2012 11:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭

I scratched some dude's Audi A4 the other day... Left a note, been in contact, he's getting a quote and getting back to me. How much dya reckon I'm looking at paying out here? Pretty bad scratches to one of the doors but no dents or anything. Fml.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Most people would have just driven off, good to see there are still some people out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Fair play to ya. It could be a couple of hundred, hard to say really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

Remember, this is Ireland. Not much for him to earn on car so expect a massive personal injuries claim comming your way. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

you needed to take a pic of it m8, get a qoute in some garage too, just to be on a safe side. now fella can say to his workshop that it was the whole side scratched, so you will get a qoute for all side m8.

still, fair play to you m8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Well there is 3 ways this can go.

1. Wants the whole door resprayed. Few hundred euro.
    2. Will alow paint doctor or chips away etc. Not sure, 100 euro? 150? Never got done.
    3. He says " Ah your grand, don't worry about it"

If number 3 happens, rule is you owe him a steak dinner :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Thanks guys. I've a sinking feeling I'm looking at ~€800. He's supposed to call me today but I'm just trying to mentally prepare myself for it. I took pics of it myself anyway but I don't think he's gonna try shaft me. He did, however, report me to the Guards, despite me leaving my name, number and my own car reg for his peace of mind. *sigh*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Thanks guys. I've a sinking feeling I'm looking at ~€800. He's supposed to call me today but I'm just trying to mentally prepare myself for it. I took pics of it myself anyway but I don't think he's gonna try shaft me. He did, however, report me to the Guards, despite me leaving my name, number and my own car reg for his peace of mind. *sigh*

he has to report it to the guards incase you have a change of heart and he has to claim through his or your insurance.

post a pic up and people can give a better quote.

kceire wrote: »
    he has to report it to the guards incase you have a change of heart and he has to claim through his or your insurance.

post a pic up and people can give a better quote.

True enough!

Pics here and here. Pretty bad, as you can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Its good to be honest, however your honesty is gonna cost ya a fair few quid here I bet. If the whole side of the car had to be painted inorder to get a good color match its going to cost a small fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I can't advise you re cost but I'd just like to say kudos for leaving your details. You're a better man than most :)

That is a nasty scrape. It's not just a door, it's body too. If he will want a quality job it might cost you a small fortune m8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Kevvv

pcardin wrote: »
    Remember, this is Ireland. Not much for him to earn on car so expect a massive personal injuries claim comming your way. :pac:

For some reason I dont think that he could get injured whilst not in the car..

When ye say "small fortune"..... How big is small? We talking over a grand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

I'm confused - will your insurance not cover whatever he asks you to pay? Respect for leaving your name etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

Kevvv wrote: »
    For some reason I dont think that he could get injured whilst not in the car..
    You'd be surprised...the only reason for my sarcasm is that my missus scratched car like OP did but there were 2 persons in the car. My insurance company has since received 3 claims. One from car owner for a damages to car + two personal injuries claims. Shocking when you think what a country we live in and what is possible here. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

I made a right mess of the side of my car last year when ?I wiped the side of it along a pillar in an underground car park.
    Moral of the story - don't be looking at the Blackberry when parking.

The two doors needed a bit of work because they had to get a few deep dents out of them and then the whole side of the car was resprayed.
    Cost me €1000.
    I'd say it'll cost about €800-€1000, depending on whether they need to just spray it or work out a few dents as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Can't believe he reported you to the guards! If you had the decency to leave your details its not like you're going to do a runner now. You may as well put it through insurance now because you have to declare it now anyway.

As said above it's the done thing so you are covered, i got 2 nasty scrapes on the side of my first car in the first week of ownership, since then i have been so careful of scratches it's unreal, cheap lesson to learn on first car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭cgc5483

pcardin wrote: »
    You'd be surprised...the only reason for my sarcasm is that my missus scratched car like OP did but there were 2 persons in the car. My insurance company has since received 3 claims. One from car owner for a damages to car + two personal injuries claims. Shocking when you think what a country we live in and what is possible here. :eek:

They can try and claim for the personal injuries but doesn't mean they will get anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    As said above it's the done thing so you are covered

In my case I would prefer to pay out of my own pocket since I'm a named driver so me any my mother would lose our no claims. When I get to age 25 I want to have 7 years NCB as a named driver and no accidents or points on my record so I can get my own insurance. Someone reporting me to the guards would cost me hundreds per year for the next few years and my mum would be down a hundred or two as well.
    IMO if someone owns up and agrees to pay you should honour that and not report them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Theoffalyman

NW - fair play to you for leaving your details. Dont know where you are based but I know a guy who could fix it, he's down the country but a lot cheaper than garages ect!
    PM me if you want details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

I recently got a full door respray (large door from a coupe with pearlescent paint), excellent job too, for 250 euro. It depends on who you know. Go to a shop from the phone book and they will screw you. If the guy mentions it's an insurance job you can expect a shock too !

Get a couple of prices yourself so you can compare the prices he comes back with. It looks like a flat red to me and if I were getting it done to my own car and paying for it myself I'd be expecting to pay about 400 to 500 tops.

Ken

Cheers for all the replies folks!

Big problem with getting prices myself is that I live in Dublin and the guy lives in Limerick.... so I can't really expect him to travel to Dublin to get the price I get quoted y'know....

Looking up this website, I'd apparently get it done for €340+VAT but they only have the one location in Dublin... Balls!

Received estimate. €908. Fml.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Received estimate. €908. Fml.

That sucks...

Ouch. :( that's what I was expecting to be Honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

That looks like a fairly recent A4 and probably worth a nice sum still. I wouldn't be leaving a smart repairer next or near it. €900 is certainly not beyond reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭oregano

My brother in law drove into a similarly new Merc last year. Quote was 2 grand. I could have fixed it for 500 but the guy he drove into insisted on going back to Merc. My brother in law got his insurance co to pay and lost his Ncb. I brought it up with him the other day, he has completely forgotten the accident, stress, worry and grief.
    Lesson, that's what insurance is for.

Yep, he pays more premium now than previously, but it's done, and should the paint flake off the Merc in the future my brother in law isn't liable...

Sorry OP, but you did the morally right thing, now it's time to move on I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I'd say the same as others. Relax and let the insurance sort it.
    Have to say if it were my car I would dictate whee the work was done, no way I'd let some guy who hit my car decide to get it done in the cheapest ****tiest place he could find (no offence).
    Well done on on leaving your details, I have a friend who did the same after he broke a lens on a car in a carpark, the lad screwed him and got about a grand into his pocket, very bad form.

Relax and let the insurance sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

From the wheel and bit of body work I can see, that looks like a 08 on A4 so its not some **** box that the owner will allow done cheaply. That quote doesnt appear too bad considering wheel arch and door are damaged. To match it right might need a fair bit of painting too.
    Insurance companies appear to have tightened up with what they will pay for damage in the last while and Ive seen a few cases where the prices are cut pretty tight now so Id say, if claiming off your insurance, the days of taking the piss with the price might be gone.
    Something else to consider is the innocent owner of the damaged car. Its great that the OP stopped and admitted the damage but its pretty sickening too when you perhaps have a pristine car never damaged or painted and then you end up having to paint the whole side of it because of someone elses mistake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

My wife did something similar recently in a pub carpark & went in to find the owner.
    As she was driving my car at the time we both ended up losing our no claims bonus as the cost was shared between her insurance company & mine.
    Also all the toing & froing meant there were 2 open claims on our policies at the time of renewal so nobody would look at us, had to take a rodgering from the 2 existing insurance companies.
    Next time I'm driving off, if a mother can get €11 million for disabling her own son that magic pot of money can pay that lad for his scrape.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Run it thru' yer insurance op, if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    Next time I'm driving off, if a mother can get €11 million for disabling her own son that magic pot of money can pay that lad for his scrape.

Thankfully the majority of the population dont have the same scum bag attitude.

Allowing that to happen only serves to increase all premiums.

Paying out 900 euros is madness NCB is pointless after 4-5 years anyway and do ye not have stepback NCB or NCB protection on the policy.

Think Logically

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Thankfully the majority of the population dont have the same scum bag attitude.

Allowing that to happen only serves to increase all premiums.

I'll tell you story that will let you in on where I'm coming from.
    About 2 years ago a neighbours daughter came down the hill of our estate on a bike & went straight into my passenger side door.
    One of my best mates used to be a panel beater & we got a replacement door panel in a breakers yard for €40, I didn't even pass the cost onto my neighbour as accidents will happen & our kids play together.
    About a year ago my youngest scraped the same neighbours car with a stone as if he was writing on it, he was 3 & didn't see the harm.
    The guy went mad looking for a respray even though it wasn't down to the primer, I lost the rag with him but had to capitulate as I was in the wrong.

Some scumbags are born that way, others are created cause everytime they try to do the right thing it gets thrown back in their faces.
    Next I will definitely be the scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bohsfan

OP- have a look at your policy and see what the excess is on any claim. If it isn't some ludicrous amount then you should let the insurance look after it.

Sure- your premium might cost a couple of hundred more for the next few years of years, but it will probably cost less in the long run than forking out nearly a grand now.

What's the point in paying out for insurance if it's not used in cases like this? That would be my take on things anyway.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

See if the owner will get an estimate from another place that i've used in Limerick. They are very good, and very reasonable.

http://www.goldenpages.ie/jcr-joe-s-crash-repairs-limerick-city/

There are numerous threads in the limerick forum looking for crash repair, and these guys are always mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭sf80

What's the excess on your insurance? You'll have to pay that anyway if you claim, so if your excess is like €700 you might save money by paying the 908 and not seeing an increase in your premium for the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

some policies allow you to make claims up to a certain amount think its €3-5k depending on policy and it should have little effect on your premium! lucky no personal injuries so it should be straightforward enough.