Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which flat jockey would you get for your Group 1 horse?

• 09-05-2012 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭

If any of us owned a horse good enough to run in a classic and the following jockeys were available who in your honest opinion would you pick.JOB,Murtagh,Moore,Fallon.Spencer.If you think you would trust another jockey to win you the Guineas or Derby,who is he.My pick is Wayne Lordan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

sting60 wrote: »
    If any of us owned a horse good enough to run in a classic and the following jockeys were available who in your honest opinion would you pick.JOB,Murtagh,Moore,Fallon.Spencer.If you think you would trust another jockey to win you the Guineas or Derby,who is he.My pick is Wayne Lordan.

Jim Crowley.

I'd qualify that further by adding, if I had a horse that was capable of winning a classic then I'd be 100% confident that Crowley would get the best out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Johnny Murtagh or Jimmy Fortune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Murtagh.

Or Barzalona if it was a steering job.. for that celebration alone.

JP Magnier

UrbanSea wrote: »
    JP Magnier

League of his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Moore is by a distance the best flat jock in my opinion.

Morgans wrote: »
    Moore is by a distance the best flat jock in my opinion.

He comes across as a little bollix though! But yea, he's top class, I like william buick alot too of all the english lads.
    .. Just wiki'd buick too see he's a Norwegian born, british and danish citizenship holder! And his dad's scottish so I've embarassed myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

+1 on Wayne Lordan, very underated jockey, and the way Coolmore treat him is shocking.
    I've lost count of the number of times he's been jocked off one of their horses with Wachman in a big race, after Lordan has won on it the previous 2 or 3 times.

Heffernan & O'Donohue also deserve praise for their performances over the years, I'm surprised neither was ever considered for the stable jockey job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

I really like this young James Doyle kid. Has a promising future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

Big race Johnny is the man for me.

Special mention to Crowley & Buick.

Ryan Moore/Fallon/Dettori not what they once were in the saddle IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

What about Peslier/ Soumillon?

Either of them would do for me.

dave3004 wrote: »
    Big race Johnny is the man for me.

Special mention to Crowley & Buick.

Ryan Moore/Fallon/Dettori not what they once were in the saddle IMO.

Ryan Moore downhill from his two year peak, two years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Spencer then Fallon.

Murtagh is too much of a gambler for my taste. He seems very slow to make decisions.

To be fair if Kinnane was around you'd take him before anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Spencer and Fallon have too much baggage I try to avoid them I prefer up and coming apprentices like Amy Ryan Rosie Jessop '' Cushie'' Butterfield for the day to day punting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭BlueBaron

Group One Johnny all day long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Moved some posts from the J O'B thread to here as they're better suited in a new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Johnny, Moore or Buick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 tonymantana

Richard Hughes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Mr_Andy

murtagh all the way. jamie spencer second preference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Johnny Murtagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Slimity

Of the current crop, definitely Peslier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

barzalona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Morleystreet

Johnny murtagh. Outside those Richard Hughes.

I get the feeling Moore hasnt totally gotten over the Carlton House fiasco in the Derby.

He must CRINGE at the memory of his embarrassing post race whinge that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

what did he whinge about?

dave3004 wrote: »
    what did he whinge about?

He was like a spoilt child after the race, think he was crying. Giving out about something, I think it was that he didn't get a clear run or something, even though the video shows that Pour Moi came from further back and followed the exact route he took.

I was delighted he got beat in the Irish Derby. As I said here numerous times before the race, I couldn't believe that Treasure Beach was such a big price

UrbanSea wrote: »
    He was like a spoilt child after the race, think he was crying. Giving out about something, I think it was that he didn't get a clear run or something, even though the video shows that Pour Moi came from further back and followed the exact route he took.

I was delighted he got beat in the Irish Derby. As I said here numerous times before the race, I couldn't believe that Treasure Beach was such a big price

His issue was pacemakers dropping back through the field and causing him so called interference. Then he had a meltdown on live tv.

Although I remember Pat Eddery objecting to Christy Roche when he got beat a short head on El Gran Senor in the 84 Derby. No grounds whatsoever for the objection, the stewards werent even holding an inquiry but he did it anyway. The impression was that Eddery couldnt believe what had just happened - similar to Moore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The one, the only, Mr Kieren Fallon, the jockey with ice in his veins! If he's good enough to be John Magnier's fav jockey then he'll do for me!

After seeing Mick Kinane on American Trilogy at Aintree I'd have him as my back up even it it meant him putting up a stone overweight :P

After that it's Murtagh but he'd be warned that any of this blessing himself and acting the dick after the race when we won would result in him being jocked off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Winning Ways Racing

Depends on the type of horse. Hughes is very under-rated from the front, Spencer from the back. Peslier for his experience.

But Kinane was the safest pair of hands in Group 1s. His mistakes over the years in Group 1s can be counted on one hand which is amazing. Swinburn was the same. Terrible in some of his day to day riding, but brilliant on the big stage.

If you are only good on certain types of horses then you arnet a group 1 jockey. Full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭maalummoja

years gone by Michael Kinane , Today Richard Hughes and tomorrow it will be James Doyle