Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Review the ticket inspectors in public transport Dublin Bus, DART and Luas

• 11-05-2012 4:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭

Basically review what you think of them and your experiences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭KD345

Andremac96 wrote: »
    Basically review what you think of them and your experiences

Why don't you start the ball rolling. What have been your experiences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭liger

Luas, See them frequently. I always have a valid ticket. never pay them much attention.

DB. Rarely see them. I always have a valid ticket, never pay them much attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

IR- friendly courteous - always offer my annual ticket- some recognise me
    Luas- grand no problems
    DB- show the inspector my ticket at Hueston on I go- v friendly
    Bus Eireann- drivers grand - rarely see an inspector
    Bottom line, they do their job and are usually friendly and courtious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Andremac96

KD345 wrote: »
    Why don't you start the ball rolling. What have been your experiences?

They where a matter of interest so feck off

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

What a prick ^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭The_Wrecker

What do you think of Dublin bus, Darts to Howth and now this topic on Inspectors? Are you going for the new managers job in Donnybrook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Lapin wrote: »

What a prick ^^^
    Meh I found the 'back-seat mod' far more annoying.

Inspectors on the dart are grand, only get the bus and luas very occasionally, don't think I've ever been asked for my ticket on the luas and haven't been asked on the bus in years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Have we changed to a review site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Rock of Gibraltar

I think I've seen an inspector on a bus maybe twice in the 15 or so years using Dublin Bus, I imagine there's massive fare avoidance given that it's so easy.

In the Netherlands inspectors work in teams, so say on a 5 door double articulated bus there will be 5 or more inspectors at a stop one will get on at each door and they'd blitz the bus in a couple of minutes. It's a little easier though as because of the tag on tag off system you've either tagged on or you haven't there's no trying to argue 'yeah I swear I gave the driver the right amount, he just gave me the wrong ticket'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,280 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

DB checkers generally do checks in teams of at least two - they are out there - I've been checked several times lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭CIE

They where a matter of interest so fecque off
    Ban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I saw a bus Eireann inspector yesterday in the Naas area in a red van. He was doing great work checking tickets but could easily have caught the 5 people who got off the bus at the stop he got on because from the speed they exited the bus on seeing the inspector they had probably passed the stop on their tickets:D

He was quick checking the tickets and did not delay the bus and was as professional as one might expect from an inspector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Louche Lad

IR - Always professional
    Bus Eireann - very rarely been asked - can only think of one occasion - but professional
    Dublin Bus - never been asked, but I almost never use them
    Luas - don't remember being asked, but I don't use them much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 thepieman12345

IR - dont use them very often but usually nice professional and courtious.
    BE - never been checked
    DB - usually very friendly, recommend cheaper tickets and stuff sometimes, but i have seen them being fairly stringent with the student travel cards but thats fair enough i guess.
    Luas - been checked on the luas the most, many are professional but some are very rude, eg snapping tickets out of hands without asking. Generally good but sometimes bad as with everything but of all inspectors most bad experiences have been with the luas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mtjm

IR, Been getting dart/commuter train for best part of 6 years and only came accross an inspecter maybe 5 times, never had a problem with them

BE, while I don't use BE that much never seen an inspecter

DB, they come once in a blue moon and never had issues

Luas, have seen them now and then, I sometimes get the luas and when I'm only going 4 stops or less I don't pay, but do keep an eye on the inspecters if I see them and get off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 dogyworld1

im the same

my granda lives right beside the luas stop
    about 5-6 stops from me i never pay it , its like 1.80 to go the 60 stops which i think is robbery
    but if im going further id use the bus

i never pay the right fare :D unless im going really far ha

never got caught
    probably never will

im kind of lucky
    when ever i buy a luas ticket the inspectors get on when ever i dont, i never see them ha
    same with buses whenever i pay the right fare i see them
    whenever i dont which is 90% of the time i dont see them ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Tarabuses

dogyworld1 wrote: »
    im the same

my granda lives right beside the luas stop
    about 5-6 stops from me i never pay it , its like 1.80 to go the 60 stops which i think is robbery
    but if im going further id use the bus

i never pay the right fare :D unless im going really far ha

never got caught
    probably never will

im kind of lucky
    when ever i buy a luas ticket the inspectors get on when ever i dont, i never see them ha
    same with buses whenever i pay the right fare i see them
    whenever i dont which is 90% of the time i dont see them ha

Strange sense of humour :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Tarabuses wrote: »
    Strange sense of humour :(

......Not if you're Greek :rolleyes:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 starhillroad

.....Not if you're Greek rolleyes.gif

I've never been to Greece, and the only way I can judge the place is by visiting. A newspaper can only tell me 20% of the whole story. Visiting gets me the other 50%, and then the rest I'll figure out by living there.

But ......if the boyos at the top are doing it, and have plundered and blundered, then by God, I'm at the bottom, I'll happily give two fingers to the system and say eff you.

And .....I won't be alone.

And......I think its only a matter of time before Irish people cop on and start doing it.

Unfortunately, that means that linked people from the golf clubs, Opus Dei, Knights of Malta, Knights of Columbanus need to be prosecuted and jailed. Nothing extreme, I mean in the likes of the Bertie Ahern money won on horses, Father Ted style excuse, four years is enough to cool their heels and set an example. The Garlic smuggling case got six, and I think that set a precedent. Fingleton should get the same sentence as the idiot who brought down Iceland. 4-6 years. And as for the guff about him being vulnerable, old and a pensioner.....

If its good enough for a kiddy fiddler at 75, its good enough for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

.....Not if you're Greek rolleyes.gif

I've never been to Greece, and the only way I can judge the place is by visiting. A newspaper can only tell me 20% of the whole story. Visiting gets me the other 50%, and then the rest I'll figure out by living there.

But ......if the boyos at the top are doing it, and have plundered and blundered, then by God, I'm at the bottom, I'll happily give two fingers to the system and say eff you.

And .....I won't be alone.

And......I think its only a matter of time before Irish people cop on and start doing it.

Unfortunately, that means that linked people from the golf clubs, Opus Dei, Knights of Malta, Knights of Columbanus need to be prosecuted and jailed. Nothing extreme, I mean in the likes of the Bertie Ahern money won on horses, Father Ted style excuse, four years is enough to cool their heels and set an example. The Garlic smuggling case got six, and I think that set a precedent. Fingleton should get the same sentence as the idiot who brought down Iceland. 4-6 years. And as for the guff about him being vulnerable, old and a pensioner.....

If its good enough for a kiddy fiddler at 75, its good enough for him.

:confused::confused::confused: And this is to do with the Luas because?:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Let's stick to Luas please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Always found the Luas guys grand. Not so long ago there was this asian student who didn't have a student card or something. The inspector was ridiculously nice to her, explaining in detail what to send off where in order to have the fine cancelled. May have been flirting with her on second thought, but still.

Can't remember the last time I was checked on DB. Checked several times as a teenager, and they were always gruff. Hopefully they've changed since.

Rarely take the Dart; never been checked. The guys standing at the railings on exit (Pearse or Tara, can't remember) though were a bit surly.

IR have always been grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭McG

DB: I've been using DB to commute to work for years now and have never once seen a ticket inspector.

Luas: Haven't used the Luas much in last 2 years but before that used it extensively from launch and noticed that Inspectors were fine though they really did seem to ignore those who (admittedly judging book by cover here) looked least likely to have a valid ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭pclive

Got checked yesterday on Dublin Bus three inspectors got on the bus, very nice and friendly.

Luas: I find that the inspectors on the red line do not want the hassle of confronting 'certain people' and would rather let them get off the tram than ask them for a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

pclive wrote: »
    Got checked yesterday on Dublin Bus three inspectors got on the bus, very nice and friendly.

Luas: I find that the inspectors on the red line do not want the hassle of confronting 'certain people' and would rather let them get off the tram than ask them for a ticket.

My Red-Line journey today involved having to sit near a truly woefully unhealthy looking substance -abuser swigging from a can of lager whilst arguing loudly,by mobile phone, with one of his suppliers re the quality of produce.....arriving at Heuston an STT guy steps on board and tells the crátur that alcohol is not permitted on the Tram.....Our apparition then steps off,places the can on the platform and re-boards to continue his loud expletive laden conversation to James's...where he had a rendevous with his MAN.....

We all breathed a sigh of relief...short-lived as it turned out,as a young gent of the Traveller genre boarded with his woman...the pair proceeded to vent their foul-mouthed sekves on the carriage,with our gent shouting into his mobile whilst holding his cigarette lighter to9 the tram seating causing a smell of scorching to waft aloft.....

There is NO answer to this stuff except enough security staff with the power to exclude and keep excluding these savages until they get it into their thick dullards heads that they cannot inmpose their mores on everybody else....OFF and Stay Off until they accept the will of civilization ?

Dublin Bus staff and customers in so many parts of the capital paid a very heavy price over the past two decades due to the authorities downplaying and ignoring the ever worsening situation on the routes....do we want,or can we afford to see new expensive infrastructure go the same way...? :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 double jeopardy

Was heading up north last summer. A bus eireann inspector got on the bus around Aughnacloy and was very pleasant and courteous to all except some dude who must have commited some serious offence as the PSNI were awaiting his arrival at the coach station where he was duly arrested. Im pretty sure ive seen this same inspector in Tralee also checking buses. Is that possible that they would cover such area?he knew his stuff and his questioning regarding tickets and passes was so precise that one could definitely not attempt to bluff...not that one would even think of doing so.......