Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overtime windfall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Bosh

The non-story a few weeks ago about the Gaeltacht allowance and now this one.

Expect to see more of this type of story being seeded in the press over the next while as Howlin lays the foundation for public support for more cuts to allowances. :rolleyes:

The strategy of divide & conquer with public/private sector is working as well for FG as it did for FF :(

Anyway it's all horse****...

I earned ONE HUNDRED MILLION DOLLARS!!!

dr-evil.jpg

:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

AFAIK the queen is building a residence in Kerry, all AGS members will as part of their careers be stationed at this residence at some stage. Each member will be paid € 500,000 for their 6 week shift at this house, being paid for by the tax payer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious

indo/w@nkers... until recently parking at a well known city centre station has been well documented in their paper... a man stuck outside now checking parking and hey presto... staff from the indo stopped parking there and no there's no issue with parking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

i made so much overtime out of it, im now going to buy a country mansion and retire :rolleyes:

clowns!

audidiesel wrote: »
    i made so much overtime out of it, im now going to buy a country mansion and retire :rolleyes:

clowns!

Here ya go me auld flower, just the job :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

audidiesel wrote: »

clowns!

Well with the million euro pension every garda gets, the €3,500 can be taken and blown on hats!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

source wrote: »
    Well with the million euro pension every garda gets, the €3,500 can be taken and blown on hats!!!!

Gardai pensions a worth significantly more than a million euro each.

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    Gardai pensions a worth significantly more than a million euro each.

Sure I've used my Queens OT as a downpayment on a super yacht. The pension will pay the rest! :rolleyes:

foreign wrote: »
    Sure I've used my Queens OT as a downpayment on a super yacht. The pension will pay the rest! :rolleyes:

Do you not believe that it would cost me over a million euro to have the same pension as a gardai?

Here ya go lad,

Now away back under your bridge.

Do you not believe that it would cost me over a million euro to have the same pension as a gardai?

I don't really care. I picked my job based on security for my family in the long run. If a decent pension is part of it then so be it. It wasn't long ago that most companies had similar pensions for their staff as the public sector. Just because they are money grabbing bastards who want more profit for owners and shareholders is no reason to have a go at the Public Sector.

Now, go feed off that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Don't drag me down to your level, instead try to drag yourself up to mine.

foreign wrote: »
    I don't really care. I picked my job based on security for my family in the long run. If a decent pension is part of it then so be it. It wasn't long ago that most companies had similar pensions for their staff as the public sector. Just because they are money grabbing bastards who want more profit for owners and shareholders is no reason to have a go at the Public Sector.

Now, go feed off that.

Well they aren't really money grabbing, the fact is that people are living longer and longer so it is costing more. It looks really bad on the balance sheet If your employer is bankrupt (which yours is) they need to look at all there costs, the majority of gardai pension will cost at least a million more than other sections of the ps because of the earlier age you retire. So if you take 10,000 gardai x 1,000,000= €10 Billion.

I don't mind that it will cost that much, because the job you do deserves those rewards. Finally my thesis was on a phenomenon called seige mentality judging by the last three responses I'm glad it is still alive and well in AGS.

Well perhaps had you phrased your first two posts differently it may have elicited a different response.

Have a trawl through a few of the threads here and the reason for a 'seige mentality' may become clearer.

HTH

Fair enough, but perhaps had you phrased your first two posts more carefully it may have elicited a different response.

Have a trawl through some of the threads here and some possible reasons for a 'siege mentality' may become clear.

HTH :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Well they aren't really money grabbing, the fact is that people are living longer and longer so it is costing more. It looks really bad on the balance sheet If your employer is bankrupt (which yours is) they need to look at all there costs, the majority of gardai pension will cost at least a million more than other sections of the ps because of the earlier age you retire. So if you take 10,000 gardai x 1,000,000= €10 Billion.

Then how can you explain that financial institutions have developped so called "products" that can be best compared with placing a bet in 35 horse race. Not only that, they then also started to buy and sell the betting slips.

If an individual behaved in that manner with his pension savings all the so called financial experts would be pontificating and lecturing about responsibility and unjustifiable risk taking.

On a side note, I used these lads "..." with the word product because to produce something you have to create something tangible like folks on farms and in factories do. To the best of my knowledge pushing a heap of disconnected from reality figures through a heap of computers every so often only eats electricity and bandwith and generates trouble...

Rant over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Well lads, ye can buy your own GPS units with all that lolly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

ectoraige wrote: »
    Well lads, ye can buy your own GPS units with all that lolly.

off topic, but if you were a pilot would you be expected to buy a plane?

most of us already have bought some form of gps. but we shouldnt have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Actually, I think that's an excellent analogy. Ye should also provide your own low mileage, well maintained squad cars, comfortable and practical uniform including proper stab vests that aren't leftovers from the UK, and pay people's traffic fines on their behalf. The deep respect and understanding of the challenges of your job that you receive from the general public on a daily basis should be reward enough for the likes of ye.