Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai producer? no insurance, tax or nct?

• 11-05-2012 2:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭

I got a knock on the door tonight from the gardai. I have recieved a summons for not producing insurance, nct, tax and my license? It says it happened on my opel corsa which was bout a year ago. It also says that I had no tax, nct and i was driving without a license? i mean I have a license 3 years and this happened last year? the car was taxed and nct'd and everything was on the window and if the car hadnt got these things would they have not taked the car from me?

I make it a point to carry all my documents with me and I have never driven without my license and insurance certificate with me. I was never even told to produce anything.

I suppose if I prove I had these thing then I should be ok? Thing is that car was stolen a week after this happened. I had to give axa the logbook, nct, drivers license summary and any other details in relation to the corsa. Does anyone know if axa would still have these on file and would i have a right to get them back as they are the only proof I have that the car was fully taxed, insured and nct'd? ect....

I would really appreciate so advice I am so annoyed over this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

You were stopped a year ago and the car was stolen the week after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

and then you were summonsed a year later? You sure the guard was legit?

You have no recollection of this happening last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭hawthorn

Unless Im reading this wrong, it seems the obvious explanation is that this happened AFTER it was stolen. Have you checked the dates?? And where it was supposed to have happened, what time etc? Was it a regular checkpoint or what? Sure they must have all these details!

h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

You still have your licence, proof or copies of the others are available, go and explain at the relevent garda station, if it goes to court a reasonable explanation to the judge should see the charges being struck out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

From what I can gather the theft has been dealt with on the insurance side of things. Did you at the time also report it to Gardai ? If you did it would be very likely if not certain that there has been an incident recorded linked to your name and vehicle at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

From the OP's post it looks like the car was stolen a week after they received the summons, not a week after they were allegedly stopped by the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

OP only received the summons last night.

OP, do you remember being stopped and told to produce your docs by a guard?

OP, you have your licence. Have you got your previous insurance cert and NCT cert? If not, these can be reproduced by the relevant organisations. If your car was taxed, the guard will need to produce a cert from the council stating it wasn't taxed. If he doesn't have this, that summons will be struck out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

OP only received the summons last night.

Missed that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

OP look at the dates...is it possible that the date the Gard says he stopped you is AFTER it was stolen? After all, your details may have been in the car if you always carry your insurance details with you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

No the car was stolen on the 28th and according to the summons i was stopped on june 22nd. I reported the theft to the local gardai on june 23rd

I wonder if i went to the gardai station and told him that the car and details were stolen could he just drop the summons?..I mean i'd have to go all over the place to get all this evidence and go to court, i could do without the hassle..

it also says i didnt have any nct, tax or insurance on the window (which i did) but if i didnt why didnt he take the car off me on the night? just doesnt make sense.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Avox

carzony wrote: »
    No the car was stolen on the 28th and according to the summons i was stopped on june 22nd. I reported the theft to the local gardai on june 23rd

I wonder if i went to the gardai station and told him that the car and details were stolen could he just drop the summons?..I mean i'd have to go all over the place to get all this evidence and go to court, i could do without the hassle..

it also says i didnt have any nct, tax or insurance on the window (which i did) but if i didnt why didnt he take the car off me on the night? just doesnt make sense.......

Erm for your story being the truth there's an awful lot of issues in it.

Also if you're doubting that he did stop you, querying why he didn't take the car, it begs the question as to why you'd ask that question unless he had actually stopped you and you just ignored the request..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

stolen on the 28th and reported on the 23rd
    you reported it stolen 5 days before it was :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

Stealthirl wrote: »
    Sounds a bit dodgy so far!

Stealthirl wrote: »

:osorry reported on the 29th..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Ah ok,could someone else have been driveing it as i seen you old thread saying you were only back from holidays when it was stolen.

TBH i doubt they would drop the case/charge unless you could provide proof at the station.
    Ring the inshurance co and they can provide you with proof of cover
    as for the NCT
    18. What will I do if I lose my NCT Certificate or NCT Report?

You can replace any of the above for a fee of €12.70. You must go to your local Garda station and obtain an RF134 form, which must be stamped and signed by the Gardaí. Send this completed form back, along with either your windscreen disc or NCT Certificate, whichever part you may still hold, and a bank draft or postal order payable to Applus Car Testing Service Ltd., to: The Test Certificate Administrator, NCTS, Lakedrive 3026, Citywest Business Campus, Naas Road, Dublin 24.

For a replacement NCT Report, simply write in with car registration number, make and model and owner details along with the €12.70 fee to the Test Certificate Administrator at the above address. These fees may be subject to change.

but since u have neather the disc or the report i dont know where you stand,id ring them and ask

dont just expect to turn up in court and tell the judge the car was stolen along with the doc's ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I would say that the guards have got the dates slightly wrong. They have counted back for the date you were due to produce and got it wrong.

Tell then that you were never stopped, had all documents at that time and that your car was stolen on whatever date. Refer them to their record of the vehicle theft and hopefully they can put 2 and 2 together and realise that they stopped the car after it was stolen.

Can anyone else answer for me... do you get a reminder in the post when you should produce documents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Athlone_Bhoy

Can anyone else answer for me... do you get a reminder in the post when you should produce documents?

No you don't.

Cheers. Bit of a waste of resources that a guard has to come out and hand you a summons when you could easily forget to produce documents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I would say that the guards have got the dates slightly wrong. They have counted back for the date you were due to produce and got it wrong.
    Sounds plausible. Or at least the most plausible post in the thread.

*Judge, I refer you to my thread on Boards where everything is explained.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Sounds plausible. Or at least the most plausible post in the thread.

*Judge, I refer you to my thread on Boards where everything is explained.

Would I get banned for charging for legal advice here? :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

Cheers. Bit of a waste of resources that a guard has to come out and hand you a summons when you could easily forget to produce documents.

You were at fault originally and now you want to blame someone else for being in the wrong for a second time.

Producing is a 'get out of jail fine free card' just being asked should be enough to get your ass in gear.

Reg'stoy wrote: »
    You were at fault originally and now you want to blame someone else for being in the wrong for a second time.

Producing is a 'get out of jail fine free card' just being asked should be enough to get your ass in gear.

Maybe its different in the republic but I was asked to product licence by the PSNI and when I went to the station they had no record of the request. The took a photocopy of my licence and said if I get and further contact about it to come back in. From how that happened I can see how through and administration error resources are being wasted.
    Also after an accident etc. it is possible that a percentage of people will forget being asked to produce given the circumstance.

Well lads, I think i'm just gonna go to the station on monday and have a chat with the guard that 'allegedly' stopped me. I will ask him to look at the records and he will see that the car was reported stolen. If he can't do anything for me then ill have to get the nct, tax, insurance ect.. I don't mind I can get all that proof i'm sure but I just find it a bit silly that I have to go through all that nonsense..

I visited axa today they have the car insurance details for me so thats that worry over with. All i need is to visit the tax office and get the nct sorted.

ill let you know what happens..

I have recieved all the details and it proves that the car was nct'd. taxed, insured and that I had a valid license at the time:D I have to go see the guard tonight and get it sorted. Thnak god it's certaintly a load off :D

Did you have to pay anything for that?

I would have paid but I was in a strange situation. As I said already, Axa took all my car details and according to them the car is theirs and no longer mine. So I had no logbook so I would not have been allowed to get the nct or tax details as I couldnt prove the vehicle was mine..

However, Axa had the tax renewal, nct cert and insurance details in the file and sent me copies of all of them :D:D cost me nothing...