Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carrick Wheelers Challenge sportive June 3rd

• 10-05-2012 2:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭

http://carrickwheelers.com/?page_id=625

Did this one last year, pretty tough, in terms of hills etc, but the likes of the Iveragh 200 gives it a definite run for its money .

realy enjoyed it in 2012,

Anyone going along this year ?

JUNE 3rd Not 6th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

michael196 wrote: »
    pretty tough

I think that's the understatement of the year !! :pac:

Actually when does the Iveragh 200 take place ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Sounds good to me, in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

I think that's the understatement of the year !! :pac:

Actually when does the Iveragh 200 take place ?

iveragh is 22 july

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Dang, gonna miss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭marcofan

hi all

just a gentle reminder that entries are closing this weekend if you want to be sure of getting a commerative dry flow t-shirt on the day.

Route will be the same as last year so be sure to pack the 25 sprocket!

John

remember this time last year, remembering Woulter Weylandt at the start of the carrick sportive

Is the strada bianca bypassable this year ?

i dont think we will be offically accomodating a bypassing of the strada but i will suggest a bit of extra signage at the next meeting, to bypass it just ride pass the entrance to the private estate and the little road will bring you out at the far side of the estate but why would you want to miss the best bit????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

you might wish to stay on the road through the estate or else that little road might bite....http://app.strava.com/segments/656150

great. bumpy ride or a wall ...........

we are not calling it ireland's thoughest sportive for nothing:D

Hi all we will be taking entries on the day
    http://carrickwheelers.com/?p=1973

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 SHAYMOF

Looking forward to this one. How many mts elevation gain ? Thanks

New bike or trainer bike........

Kyrsiums or Krysiums SL premiums......

wet gear....winter gear ... wind gear...sunny gear......thermal gear....club gear.... new gear ... old gear.......

shorts ......old..... new..... full length....shorts

shoe covers .... no shoe covers......

13 / 25..... 11/ 26 ....

compact / 53 .....

white helmet / dark helmet/ club helmet/ lights camera action helmet /

lights / no lights.....

blinking / flashing / LED's / Sigmas ..... fog lights .......

two tubes ....three tubes....

repair kit ... no repair kit...

pump ... no pump....

4 seasons ....Gator skins....

100 PSI.... 120 PSI.....

high 5........water.....

Gels.....bars.....

clean bike........as is bike............

food stops ... or not......

off the front.....sit in.......off the back.....

A1's, A2's A3's A4's....... Vets.......Scratch......

Short cuts ..... Full routes....

Strada...... or wall........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Base layer?

Gillet?

Definitely a 3/4 zip,
    maybe get up early and catch a kip after porridge and toast....

or maybe eggs and beans,
    no ill stop for a roll which means ill bring my own drink.

Coffee will do........

But maybe not ill only need the loo,

big long Q,

what should i do?

I'll forget it and work on the bike, this is the time I like, clean the chain and re apply lube, wash the frame and swap out a tube

But which bike to bring.....

trainer or bling,

damn I hate this cycling thing.......

I think ill take up jogging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

I think ill take up jogging.

Too boring, not that good for ya, makes you sweat and you won't get too far in short amount of time.

And it is boring and unexciting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

Can't find my touring block , I'll be the fool trying to get up those hills in a 39-21 .

u coming pats ?

incredible

weather looks juts like last year .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

Yep I'll be there Mick .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

sweet mother of jeasus!!!!

.....that is all i can manage to say at this time
    Congrats to all who managed all or part of that today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

cunavalos wrote: »
    sweet mother of jeasus!!!!
    Sounds good to be honest. I am quite sorry I did not attend, but few things put me off, one of which was the weather.

thanks a million to all the riders who showed up today. it was a real hard mans day today so fair play to everyone who braved the elements

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Tough weather great day out. The Carrick Wheelers know how to run a cycle, very friendly, plenty WARM TEA and food, and stewards at any junction that mattered. Take a bow, top class.

Was feeling sorry for myself after 1st climb, but enjoyed the punishment after that. Wind in Mahon Falls was no joke

I'll be back, would really reccommend it to lads who like to climb, it really deserves higher numbers
    marcofan wrote: »
    thanks a million to all the riders who showed up today. it was a real hard mans day today so fair play to everyone who braved the elements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Moreofthatjazz

Just a word to the organisers of the Challenge event today... Fantastic marshalling and food stops made what might have otherwise been a hellish ride, bloody brilliant (if somewhat tough)... I was down last, this and right go wrong i'll be back again next year... I cant commend ye highly enough...
    Thank you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

ford2600 wrote: »
    Tough weather great day out. The Carrick Wheelers know how to run a cycle, very friendly, plenty WARM TEA and food, and stewards at any junction that mattered. Take a bow, top class.

Agree completely well done to the organisers for braving the weather and making what could of been a helish day very enjoyable.

a top event, hard route but not impossible. hot drinks, great food spread, great hospitality as is customary from Carrick Wheelers. fair play to the stewards and marshalls for standing at posts for hours on end, well done to the organisers and crew on the day.

How could carrick make it tougher than last year ? turn extra waterworks and fog.

last week I was standing on a road at the barrow GP where the tar was sticking to the shoes.

walking into Rathgormack food station, left a pool of water after standing at the table .

again the wind favorable in one dirction on the nire loop and critically on the final section of mahon falls.

the best section of completed road surface in the whole event followed the worst section over the strada.

4 separate water falls in mahon falls, never seen that before !!

1/2 a liter of water inside the frame this evening.

as said above, the event deserves greater support, dont be put off by title.

onwards and upwards for you lads at Carrick. Wil be back next year to support you again,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭slow

michael196 wrote: »
    a top event, hard route but not impossible. hot drinks, great food spread, great hospitality as is customary from Carrick Wheelers. fair play to the stewards and marshalls for standing at posts for hours on end, well done to the organisers and crew on the day.

How could carrick make it tougher than last year ? turn extra waterworks and fog.

last week I was standing on a road at the barrow GP where the tar was sticking to the shoes.

walking into Rathgormack food station, left a pool of water after standing at the table .

again the wind favorable in one dirction on the nire loop and critically on the final section of mahon falls.

the best section of completed road surface in the whole event followed the worst section over the strada.

4 separate water falls in mahon falls, never seen that before !!

1/2 a liter of water inside the frame this evening.

as said above, the event deserves greater support, dont be put off by title.

onwards and upwards for you lads at Carrick. Wil be back next year to support you again,

Well done to all who completed the course. Also to the riders who thanked the stewards individually as they passed. It's nice to be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭henboy

I agree with all the above , A very well run event . Tough day out certainly not for the faint hearted.

I was one of the crazies who signed on to day ----Glad I did now

I don't think my gear will ever look the same ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭neilr4

Pity it clashed with tour of Louth would've loved to ride it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Tickencor

This was a great challenging route which the weather made more difficult. A big thank you to all the Carrick wheelers volunteers/marshalls who helped create a safer and most enjoyable day. Curraghmore estate was certainly a bone shaking piece of terrain which I started to enjoy once I overcame the trembling shock. A big mention to the rest of the hardy cyclists and the quality of bike handling by all. To Bobby Power, thanks for coming up with such a unique and testing route!

Just a quick post on Carrick Wheelers. By signing up online and completing challenge you get the T-shirt, sign up on the morning, no tshirt, fair enough.

Signed up on morning, did cycle, delighted with all aspects of how Carrick wheelers ran cycle, and then in the post this morning a T shirt arrived for myself.
    Happy boy now, nice gesture not part of the deal, nice touch

Tickencor wrote: »
    This was a great challenging route which the weather made more difficult. A big thank you to all the Carrick wheelers volunteers/marshalls who helped create a safer and most enjoyable day. Curraghmore estate was certainly a bone shaking piece of terrain which I started to enjoy once I overcame the trembling shock. A big mention to the rest of the hardy cyclists and the quality of bike handling by all. To Bobby Power, thanks for coming up with such a unique and testing route!

Is there a 2013 version of this event being run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭kayaksurfbum

thanks same weekend as kingdom alliance sportive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭kayaksurfbum

That one excuse for not doing it anyway!

Missed it last year did it the year before. Its a serious day, high number of non finishers.

Did it last year, tough day out, enjoyed it though.

I thought they might clash alright, pity

That one excuse for not doing it anyway!

Missed it last year did it the year before. Its a serious day, high number of non finishers.

hope to jaysus its dry this year for a change ..............

Havent heard of any route changes ............

A good one, deserving of higher numbers.......

A lot of effort put into manning every junction.........